We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything : Great Hotel and would love to come back!”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #82 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We booked into the Scotsman for our Anniversary (back in April) this year. We wanted something "special" and The Scotsman certainly filled the bill. Everything was wonderful; the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful and the dayspa faciities were great. We booked the "Celebration" package and the bubbly was in our room on ice when we arrived, along with the chocolate dipped strawberries - it was all just wonderful.

We ate in the restaurant one night as part of our package, and once again, everything was superb.

There have been a few negative comments on TripAdvisor about this hotel, but I'm glad I read between the lines and booked anyhow! It was amazing! Sometimes I think people just like to complain......

We would happily spend more time at this hotel and hope to, if we make it back to Edinburgh (and we hope to in 2012)!!

Thanks to everyone for a very special visit!

Room Tip: If you go to the dayspa you might need a map, it's a bit of a rabbit warren in the old building...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franklin3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
All of the packages that we offer throughout the hotel are extremely popular and the Celebration package is no different, it really does, has you have mentioned, make the start of your visit when you arrive to treats such as the “bubbly and strawberries.”

I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our Spa facilities and hope you had the time to make the most of our stainless steel pool, Tropicarium, sauna and steam room as well as the fantastic treatment rooms and relaxation lounge.

I would like to thank you for “reading between the lines” of some of the reviews on sites such as Trip Advisor and it is an added bonus to know that your stay was “amazing” and that you will be returning; there is no higher compliment for us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman in the future

Kind Regards

Thomas Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,334)
There are newer reviews for The Scotsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

Super nice staff, super location midway down Royal mile, amazing spa pool area, etc. Room configurations are a little weird since its an old building, but we were upgraded to top floor so the views were great! If you are on a tight budget, this isn't the hotel for you. But if you want a special stay, you'll have plenty to love at the Scotman...

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseyjDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I am pleased to read that you were accommodated on our top floor and enjoyed the wonderful views we offer across to Princes Street, Calton Hill and on a clear day the Firth of the Forth.
I would like to offer you my assurance that our rooms are priced competitively with all other 5 star city centre hotels and we always endeavour to offer our guests the best value deal; I would recommend that if you decide to return to Edinburgh and the Scotsman you contact our reservations team directly to allow us to offer you the best available rate
Kind Regards
Thomas Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Do not bother going to the spa, YOU WILL NOT RELAX ! Loud swimming lessons for kids are on all afternoon, the pool is hardly big enough for more than a few people, the teaching lane takes a lot of the space away + the pool side is covered with plastic toys.
A quality Spa should offer peace and quiet.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank gudrungoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Unfortunately I have to report that the reservation department at The Scotsman is at best shoddy.

They have taken money from my bank account even though I cancelled my reservation for Christmas over a month ago.

I have had to call them several times to resolve thier own mistake and still to no avail.

I am really dissapointed.

So please beware.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Love2011164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent experience with the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity to respond to the points you have made.

I was saddened to see your review on Trip Advisor as I understood from your recent conversations with my Executive Assistant, Claire Thomas that we had resolved this unfortunate mistake to your satisfaction.

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that we did not, as Claire discussed with you, receive the email stating your request to cancel your Christmas reservation with us and as a result of this the full payment was taken as agreed in the terms and conditions of your reservation.

Claire has already processed a full refund of the amount debited, including the non-refundable deposit as a gesture of goodwill and I trust that you have received this in your bank.

Once again I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused but I am pleased to know that this matter is now fully resolved.

Kind Regards
Thomas Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I booked on the day I was staying, all very last minute, & the price was considerably less than the regular rate. As such I decided to upgrade to a suite & made my full payment over the phone as the trip was a surprise for my husband & I didn't want him to pay. On arrival I was told I hadn't paid & paid again. This was rectified later that day & the australian gentleman at reception was very apologetic & courteous but upon checkout I was asked again if I'd paid and had to sit for 20 minutes while my receipts were scrutinised by the lady at reception who then called her colleague over to do the same, quite embarrassing.

Our suite was in a different side to the building than we'd stayed previously. The room was very well set out on different levels but the bedroom/main window was too high to see out of, a bit of a disappointment, but not as disappointing as the smell! The room had a damp, wet laundry smell, which I did point out to the porter but he said it was the fire retardancy spray used on the tweed curtains and cushions on the bed. Surely there's a way of avoiding your rooms of smelling like this? Moreover the room we'd stayed in previously (right above the "Scotsman" sign) seemed altogether better than this room, with no smell, an amazing view, a stain free carpet and altogether less shabby.

Problems aside we did have a view of the castle from the bathroom. Also the room service we ordered was piping hot and delicious, and the breakfast ordered to the suite was also excellent.

If I were marking the Scotsman on this particular stay I'd have said it was poor or average, but I don't want to put anyone off staying, it is a great hotel but I'm really not sure if I'll stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBliss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

Unfortunately, as is the case with Trip Advisor reviews, I am not privilege to the personal details of our guest’s bookings and so I am unable to comment with clarity about the situation surrounding payment of your reservation. I would like to ask you to write to me directly so that I can take the opportunity to investigate this thoroughly for you. I was pleased to read that the receptionist you dealt with was as courteous and professional as we always aim to be however I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the “embarrassing” feeling you were left with.

With regards to your comments about the room, again, I am unfortunately not aware of the room number you stayed in so I can not offer exact comments on this room. As a general statement though I am concerned that you found there to be a “damp” smell in the room and my Head Housekeeper, Natasha Meikle has personally checked all of our rooms and suites for any evidence of this smell. You were advised right that we, as all businesses are required to, use a fire retardant spray but this should certainly not leave a smell of any description.

I am sorry to hear that on your return visit you did not enjoy your stay as much as the first time but I do hope that you will decide to return to the Scotsman to allow us the opportunity of redeeming our good name once again.

Kind Regards
Thomas Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I am currently staying in the Scotsman and want to make immediate comments.

Undoubtedly The Scotsman is a good hotel but the use of the word quirky is overused to cover a number of issues. I realise I have only been in one room, 601, but I would recommend you avoid it. I have read a number of the reviews and this room is not spacious. It is a "quirky" shape. But I would suggest there are a number of issues that do not make this a 5 star hotel. Many of these comments are made in other reviews.

1. The place is unbelievably hot. There is no air conditioning so opening the windows and running a fan just about cools the room but the noise of the north bridge intrudes

2. The decor is generally good but there is thread bare carpet edging by the bathroom.

3. The TV is placed so high in a cupboard that it is impossible to watch from the armchair and to do so at all means moving the furniture around.

4. The remote control is worn so I was unable to switch on the tv from the bed

5. I am 5 foot 7 inch and my feet were at the edge of the Bed. Any taller and your feet will be dangling off the end. The bed is also be a cosy double

6. Compared to other 5 Star rooms I have had the fortune to stay in recently this is by far the most cramped.

7. The cold tap handle fell off in my hand. I did report it but no action taken

8. The bathroom speakers did not work

9 sleep timer on tv is odd and accessed via a menu rather than on the remote so a bit or a rigmarole to set when half asleep having woken up in an pool of sweat at 0400 and then struggled to switch on tv.

10. The radio channels were intermittent and not working in the evening although we're ok the next morning

So overall a hotel with good staff and overall good quality furnishings. But the rooms are shoehorned into a "quirky" building and the furnishings, bed, seem made to fit the room, ie is small.

I feel sure that as a single i was unlucky or suffered the usual issue of being put in a less good room because couples are better. From some of the other reviews this seems to be a lovely hotel and it should be. The building is great. The position is superb so I am sorry to be negative, however I have said it as if found it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 601.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clsiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.
Unfortunately, due to the delay in your post being made public I did not receive notification of your review until now and I believe you may have checked out of the Scotsman already. You have not mentioned whether or not you have raised any of these issues with any of my team during your stay; I hope that you did give us this opportunity as I am certain we would have made every effort to resolve these points for you.
You have mentioned that there was no air conditioning in your room; indeed this is not a facility that is offered nor advertised in the hotel. The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. The age of the building and historical protection means that we are unable to install facilities such as air conditioning; at this cold time of year our Maintenance team endeavour to maintain a comfortable temperature throughout the hotel however I do appreciate that all guests have personal preferences when it comes to room temperatures and so we would have been more than happy to assist you with lowering this in your room had it been requested.

With regards to the cold tap that “fell off” I am sorry that this was not repaired when you requested and this has now been actioned. The other issues regarding the TV, carpet, bathroom speakers and radio were not, as far as I can see, reported and so we were not able to assist with these during your stay. I am pleased to report that all of these items in room 601 have now been checked to ensure that they are working as required and I am just sorry that you did not afford us the opportunity to put these right for you.

In all of our rooms and suites we have a selection of twin, double, queen and king size beds all of which are standard sizes such as can be brought from any retailer; I would like to apologise that we did not meet your personal expectations for the size of bed you reserved.

You have mentioned that you believe as a single traveller you “suffered the usual issue of being put in a less good room” and I would like to categorically confirm that at no point would we ever treat any of our guests less favourably no matter the size of their party. Our guests reserve the room or suite of their choice and we, at every stage of their visit, endeavour to deliver a 5 star standard of service and quality.

I hope that you will choose, in the future, to return to the Scotsman and enjoy the excellent service that we are so proudly known for.

Kind Regards
Thomas Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We used Fodors as our guide on much of our recent trip to Scotland and England - and they didn't steer us wrong on any accounts. We had one night to stay in Edinburgh and one of their top recommendations was The Scotsman. I looked online and they had a special offer for Sunday night guests that included a chilled bottle of champagne and a bouquet of flowers in your room upon arrival. AND it included dinner and a full Scottish breakfast in their lovely North Bridge Brasserie restaurant! I asked for a room with a view and we were on the top floor looking out over the enchanting chimneys and rooftops of the city. Every member of the staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful. We loved it and would give it our highest rating!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnneErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#61 of 150 in Edinburgh
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £140 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing