We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not 5 Star”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #88 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice but not 5 Star”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at The Scotsman Hotel in October as we had tickets for Phantom of the Opera so wanted something central. They dont have a car park they just share with the train station. Wasnt too far as you could use a back door but as we have a baby wasnt great for us. The room was nice and I couldnt really fault it. We had lunch in their restaurant and I wouldnt really rate it. I ordered a drink and something was floating in it and then the food came and it wasnt really 5 star food. We booked this room without realising breakfast wasnt included but this was our own faults for not noticing. Breakfast was rather expensive at about £16.50 each.

All in all was a nice hotel but wasnt 5 star in our opinions. I wouldnt go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thundercatsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

Although we don’t provide a car park at the hotel; our guests receive a discounted rate at the local public car park which is only a 3 minute walk away from the Scotsman. I’m sorry that this was a disappointment to you; as one of the traditional Victorian buildings in the city we are unable to accommodate our own car park and for this reason have never advertised this service.

I would like to apologise for your disappointment in the evening meal that you had with us; our Executive Head Chef, Paul Hart proudly produces some of Edinburgh’s finest cuisine and as you will see from the majority of reviews on websites such as Trip Advisor we are proud to be known for the high standard of our menu and service.

I can offer you an assurance that our menu is priced competitively with all other 5 star city centre restaurants in Edinburgh; however I am sorry that we have not met with your personal expectations

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    607
    318
    159
    110
See reviews for
312
1,284
101
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Directly opposite Waverly Train station, we had just taken the overnight train from London.
Hotel is located one block off The Royal Mile, so the location was perfect! I can't say enough about the entire Staff, everyone, from Nick, whom we first encountered, to everyone after,
was most anxious to be helpful, in any way. My room was so spacious, and the bath! I took a bath every single day, so luxurious!! I cannot wait to go back and will recommend it to anyone I know considering a long overdue trip to this most gothic, magical place................

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perkymombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman in the future
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Great old building fantastic interior, breakfast and dinner good. strange place to navigate round and no parking but close to station and NCP park down road.
Staff seem to ok sometimes but a bit slow on other.
My room was on 9th floor and really nice but it was a suite.

Room Tip: can not speak for other rooms but 9th floor rooms were really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.
The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites.
I must admit to being surprised to read that you our staff did not meet your personally expectations; as you can see from the majority of reviews on this website our staff are our shining beacon and endeavour to deliver an exceptionally high standard of service throughout our guests stay. I am sorry that you feel we did not achieve this during your stay
I hope that you will perhaps return to stay with us in the future and offer the Scotsman the opportunity to redeem our good name
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for a weekend in October celebrating a "special" birthday and a retirement. The hotel is well situated just a few steps from The Waverley Station and a short walk from Princes Street and The Royal Mile.
Firstly, we were welcomed by friendly, helpful reception staff and offered a comlimentary room upgrade. Ivor showed us to our room where he offered a comprehensive introduction to our accomodation and the hotel services. He was a really lovely man and nothing appeard to be too much trouble for him.
Our room was large, comfortably furnished and well equiped. The umberella was a nice touch. Like other reviewers, we were on the side overlooking the back entrance to the station so we experienced some noise from late night revellers but never too much to prevent us from sleeping. One small gripe would be that the view from our window was just the chimney pots of the adjacent buildings but we were out exploring during the day anyway. Didn't get time to experience the spa.
We ate in The Brassiere one night and the food was exceptional. A little on the pricey side but to be expected as it is a 5* hotel.
The breakfast menu provided a good selection of hot and cold dishes and the food was very good. The staff were helpful and friendly.
On the whole, we had a fantastic weekend staying in this hotel and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that we contributed to the enjoyment of your special occasions is an added bonus.
I would like to thank you for your kind compliments regarding our staff and Ivor in particular; I have already personally passed these onto him and our Front of House Manager, Andrew Boe. We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.
I hope that, should you return to stay with us in the future you will have the opportunity to enjoy the rest of our Health Club facilities; we look forward to hopfully welcoming you back to the Scotsman
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Went here for my hen do last month and was fabulous!! The staff were amazing! Hotel was gorgeous! So well kept! The spa was amazing! Nice rooms with lovely chill out room! Lunch was lovely in a really pretty room and spa treatments were v nice! We all had an amazing time! Would most def recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
It is excellent to hear that you will be returning to stay with us if you have the chance and recommending us to friends and family; we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were told at check-in we has been upgraded complimentary and it was an amazing room indeed (614).
Jet shower, free-standing bath, huge king bed, stunning city view. Couldn't have been better.
Breakfast was delicious as well, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy one of our beautiful suites and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.
I hope that should you return to Edinburgh you will choose the Scotsman to stay in again and we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We took our children to Edinburgh for a mini break and chose the Scotsman primarily for the location. We've stayed before, although it not without its pitfalls: The rooms were nice - we were upgraded and the children had a turret room - which are impressive but these can be noisy at chucking out time, as the drunken revellers make their way to Waverley Station. Our room was on the side away fm the station so quieter, although there was thumping bass noise from a nearby nightclub on the Saturday night. Not quite loud enough to disturb our sleep, but could be bothersome for light sleepers. Pillows felt a bit cheap and breakfast a rather mixed bag. We ordered room service breakfast on the last day and it was 20mins late, the order was wrong on a few counts and the porridge tasted as if it'd been made with the milk the haddock was poached in. To be fair they did take this all off the bill, so we just went hungry til lunchtime. Staff in the lobby were charming, but overall i prefer Prestonfield House, even though the hotel is a cab ride away from town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Provincialwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.
As the Scotsman is a City Centre hotel we are, unfortunately subject to the noise pollution of a busy Capital City. Throughout the rooms and public areas of the hotel we have made every effort; such as double glazing and appropriate sound proofing to try and ensure our guests are not disturbed during their stay.
I am sorry to read that we did not meet with your expectations during our breakfast service but pleased to hear that our staff discounted this from your final bill as a gesture of goodwill; I hope that you will choose to return to stay with us in the future when we will be sure to treat to the high standard of service we are proudly known for
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing