We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the restaurant”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #84 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

the food was excellent ,the staff very good .the only issue we had was they were changing wine suppliers ,we requested a bottle of wine of which they did not have the bar staff supplied a lesser quality wine with out our prior knowledge of which we refused to drink ,so we chose something else to drink .this was the only downside to a great stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeholland87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
I am sorry that you had a small problem with the wine that you ordered however I was pleased to hear that this was only a small downside to an otherwise “great stay.”
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
I hope that you will chose to return to us in the future and look forward to perhaps welcoming you back to the Scotsman
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Just returned from a one-night stay to celebrate my husband's birthday and to go to a rugby match. Hotel staff were very polite and helpful. On arrival were told we had been upgraded from an Editor's room to a Publisher room but what we got was a fairly cold, shabby (stains on carpets, sofas and curtains and the curtains were badly frayed) dungeon located next to the boiler room with a view of a brick wall - definitely not what was described for either an Editor or a Publisher room, not worthy of 5 stars and not worth the considerable sum I'd paid. Complained to reception and after 1 1/2 hours of to-ing and fro-ing we were able to move in to a more acceptable room with a view over the city. Although much happier with this room I would still say it only rated 4 stars (really good sized room and bed but decor and carpet stained and worn in places; some stains on bed throw, slippers and doors, all of which could easily have been cleaned). I've stayed in better 4 star hotels so where's the extra wow factor for the 5th star ?

Had been looking forward to using the spa before dinner but didn't have time due to the delay with the allocation of our room. Breakfast was very good (we were on a B&B rate) and we liked the fact you could choose anything from the cooked menus as well as helping yourelf to the continental buffet. Excellent choice and well cooked.

Overall, a good hotel with helpful and polite staff and good food but overpriced and not worth a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicksyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

I was sorry to read about your disappointment with your original room that was allocated to you but pleased that we were able to offer you a room that more suited your personal expectations.

As we are situated in the centre of Edinburgh City and hold an enviable position on the edge of North Bridge we are surrounded by the buildings of the Old Town of Edinburgh. We always endeavour to allocate our guests rooms with views across the city however I’m sure you can appreciate that due to our position this is not always possible.

I would like to apologise that you feel that we did not justify our 5 star rating to you during your stay and would like to offer you my assurance that Preferred Hotels, Visit Scotland and The AA run several audits throughout the year and we are proud to maintain our rating with them.

I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem our good name with yourselves and that we will see you back at the Scotsman in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Great location from train station, shops, bars & restaurants. Received an upgrade on arrival & got a lovely big room & huge bathroom, very comfortable bed.
Used the spa facilities, not treatments just pool area, steam & sauna. So relaxing my partner fell asleep on the poolside beds!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Embody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy one of our beautiful suites and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.
I hope that you will return to stay with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Scotsman with my daughter, we booked a 2 day spa package & it was excellent! From first walking in we were greeted by friendly welcoming staff. Andrew showed us to our room & explained the working for us, then left us to look around. The room was lovely, with views over the street to Princes street & beyond. We had evening meal on our first night as part of the package & this was a very nice meal, again staff very friendly. Breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice. We booked afternoon tea at the hotel which was fab, my daughter throughly enjoyed this as she has a wheat intolerance, but had the choice of a completely gluten free afternoon tea!! a special mention to Angela in the restaurant, she was very polite & informative & remembered about my daughter & her gluten free diet & brought gluten free toast with her breakfast without been reminded. The spa was another enjoyable part of our stay & 3 treatments were included in the package. Had a swim & jacuzzi in the lovely pool after the spa. We would definately return to this hotel & recommend to anyone thinking of staying there. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe twin looking over the bridge, lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I would like to thank you for your kind compliments in particular about Angela; I have already personally passed these onto her and our Food Services Manager, Samantha Slight
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be returning to stay with us in the future is an added bonus; we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at The Scotsman Hotel in October as we had tickets for Phantom of the Opera so wanted something central. They dont have a car park they just share with the train station. Wasnt too far as you could use a back door but as we have a baby wasnt great for us. The room was nice and I couldnt really fault it. We had lunch in their restaurant and I wouldnt really rate it. I ordered a drink and something was floating in it and then the food came and it wasnt really 5 star food. We booked this room without realising breakfast wasnt included but this was our own faults for not noticing. Breakfast was rather expensive at about £16.50 each.

All in all was a nice hotel but wasnt 5 star in our opinions. I wouldnt go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thundercatsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

Although we don’t provide a car park at the hotel; our guests receive a discounted rate at the local public car park which is only a 3 minute walk away from the Scotsman. I’m sorry that this was a disappointment to you; as one of the traditional Victorian buildings in the city we are unable to accommodate our own car park and for this reason have never advertised this service.

I would like to apologise for your disappointment in the evening meal that you had with us; our Executive Head Chef, Paul Hart proudly produces some of Edinburgh’s finest cuisine and as you will see from the majority of reviews on websites such as Trip Advisor we are proud to be known for the high standard of our menu and service.

I can offer you an assurance that our menu is priced competitively with all other 5 star city centre restaurants in Edinburgh; however I am sorry that we have not met with your personal expectations

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Directly opposite Waverly Train station, we had just taken the overnight train from London.
Hotel is located one block off The Royal Mile, so the location was perfect! I can't say enough about the entire Staff, everyone, from Nick, whom we first encountered, to everyone after,
was most anxious to be helpful, in any way. My room was so spacious, and the bath! I took a bath every single day, so luxurious!! I cannot wait to go back and will recommend it to anyone I know considering a long overdue trip to this most gothic, magical place................

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perkymombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman in the future
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
473167
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Great old building fantastic interior, breakfast and dinner good. strange place to navigate round and no parking but close to station and NCP park down road.
Staff seem to ok sometimes but a bit slow on other.
My room was on 9th floor and really nice but it was a suite.

Room Tip: can not speak for other rooms but 9th floor rooms were really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.
The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites.
I must admit to being surprised to read that you our staff did not meet your personally expectations; as you can see from the majority of reviews on this website our staff are our shining beacon and endeavour to deliver an exceptionally high standard of service throughout our guests stay. I am sorry that you feel we did not achieve this during your stay
I hope that you will perhaps return to stay with us in the future and offer the Scotsman the opportunity to redeem our good name
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £128 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing