We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in lovely hotel”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #89 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service in lovely hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were only in Edinburgh for one night but wanted to celebrate a birthday in comfort and style. On arrival we were greeted warmly and as it was a quiet Sunday evening we were offered an upgrade to a beautiful suite with great views over Princes Street. Ross at reception was very helpful and when I asked where I could buy a Sunday paper he offered to get it for us, and brought it up to our room.
The Health suite was lovely, the rooms well appointed quiet and luxurious, and breakfast the next morning - excellent.
Throughout, the staff were charming and helpful - altogether a superb overnight city break.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRG020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy one of our beautiful suites and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Scotsman in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    595
    315
    158
    108
See reviews for
303
1,270
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here with my sister and mother as a treat on our last night in Edinburgh.....WOW...I had stayed a few years ago with my husband for an anniversary weekend and I can only say it was as good as the first time....As we arrived we were met by the doorman, with an offer of help with the bags....checked in and were taken to our room, on the 9th Floor...Oh My Goodness....this room was 5*.....so after walking around the room in awe for 10 mins, we decided to had downstairs for Cocktails, very good and very reasonable for a 5* establishment....
Upstairs to freshen up before Dinner, and what a Dinner, one of the best meals in a long time, service excellent......Had a great night’s sleep and down for breakfast, Eggs Benedict which were perfect....lots of options, fruits, fresh and dried, cheeses, meats, different breads, pastries etc...and the full hot buffet options....
We got a great deal on this hotel, we were going to stay at the airport hotel for convenience, but this hotel was not much more (and we were lucky to get a complimentary room upgrade), looking forward to returning soon, with hubby, friends or family...Always check out the late deals hotel pages....

Room Tip: The higher the better I believe........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed a return visit to us and that it was to the usual high standard for which we are known; I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to enjoy our Brasserie for cocktails as well as dinner.
We look forward to welcoming you and other members of your family to the Scotsman again in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My wife and I and a friend stayed here during our trip to Scotland. We stayed three nights and four days and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were well appointed and unique in shape, design, location. the bathrooms were modern and the room had all the necessary amenities. The location of the hotel was also very convenient for touring along the Royal Mile. What made the the stay special was the outstanding service. Everyone -- front desk, door man, and concierge -- were outstanding. All were well informed and accommodating. It was a pleasure staying at the Scotsman mostly because of the friendly and very helpful service. We would definitely return to the Scotsman.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be returning to stay with us again in the future is an added bonus; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmont, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here during a trip to Edinburgh. The hotel was great. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. The room we had was just lovely. Modern bathroom, furnishings and a comfy bed. The swimming pool was also very luxurious.

The bar area is rather modern. The service was first class. I ordered a martini and the barman made sure it was made to my liking. A nice touch.

We also had breakfast- it was awesome. The sausages were sooo very tastey. I also thought the breakfast was good value considering the quality and location.

I've also stayed in the Balmoral- I think this hotel is equally as good- if not better due to the service. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_McTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I was pleased to read that you had the opportunity to experience our Spa facilities as well as dining in our Brasserie during your stay and that everything was at the high standard for which we pride ourselves.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Scotsman Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Came to stay at The Scotsman on our honeymoon. We checked in and the girl on reception said we've got a surprise you're staying in the Penthouse Suite! All I can say is my god what a room! I say room it's on 3 floors.Very central to everything in the city but parking a bit of a chore having to find you're way to Waverly station car park. Staff at hotel very very helpful. We went out for a meal and our bed had been re made bathroom tidied new towels etc amazing! Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokerpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that we were able to contribute to such a special occasion as your honeymoon, is an added bonus. We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
I hope you will return to stay with us in the future and once again enjoy a “recommended” Scotsman experience.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We loved staying there, from the minute we walked in we had the warmest of welcomes and the friendly staff couldn't do enough to make our stay thoroughly enjoyable. At first we didn't think our tiny bedroom warranted a 5* status and the breakfast was very run of the mill but we soon fell under the hotel's charm and would stay there again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank carolinestewart4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites.

It was lovely to read that you experienced the Scotsman’s “charm” as this is such a quirky and original building we do find that many of our guests enjoy the charm and elegance of the building and relax into a truly unique experience.

I hope that you will be returning to stay with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
605 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing