We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #88 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So welcoming”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Our room was on 8 floor and lovely. The staff were friendly, very helpful ...easy to approach. If you are not happy about anything just ask. The staff will oblige. We were treat with respect and care. Breakfast plentiful and enjoyable. Very warm hotel. Spa great. We enjoyed our special occasion

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveNewcastleuponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I hope you will choose to return to stay with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    600
    317
    158
    109
See reviews for
309
1,277
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were awoken around midnight by heavy, base-pounding techno music permeating the very walls of our executive room. When we called reception at 1:00 am, we were told that "the club" would not close until 3:00 am. We later found out from two Edinburgh police constables that there is an independent club in the lower floors of the hotel building, over which the hotel has no apparent control. The hotel's staff, including its general manager, apparently prefer to deny the existence of this night club and simply refer to the booming techno music heard in the hotels' rooms as "city noise"! Unbelievable!

The housekeeping staff was slow and, despite an absence of over four hours, our room had not been made up. We had to leave the room and forego our planned afternoon nap. Upon escaping to the Brasserie, we were ignored by the waiting staff for a considerable time before insisting someone take our order.

An extremely disappointing stay, further exasperated by the staff's denials of the hotel's (not the city's) noise pollution problem.

Room Tip: Anything below the fourth floor is awful. I cannot comment on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman and I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments.

Since our personal correspondence following your stay with us I was pleased to read that you had confirmed that the origin of the noise disturbance was from a company out with the control of the Scotsman as we had discussed. The Scotsman hotel holds an enviable location in the very heart of Edinburgh city centre and for this reason we are subject to the noise pollution of a capital city, I would like to reassure you again that we make every effort to endeavour to ensure that our guest’s receive the relaxed and peaceful stay that expect.

We always look to deliver to offer our guest’s a 5 star standard of service and I am extremely sorry that you feel we have not met with your personal expectations during your stay; I would like to thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our stay at the Scotsman was perfect from start to finish.

We visited at a very special time of year for us. It was mine and my husband's first wedding anniversary and my father's birthday. My parents had never been to Edinburgh and always wanted to go so I bought their flights and accommodation as a gift. I contacted the hotel in advance of our stay to ask some questions about the rooms before booking.

I expressed how much I would love to book the editor suite for my parents as my Mum loves a bit of history and I wanted my parents to enjoy a bit of the history of Edinburgh as it was their first time. However, I couldn't afford it after paying for 4 flights so I went ahead with deluxe doubles which looked lovely too.

We arrived to check in and were so very touched that my parents had been allocated the editor suite at no extra cost. It meant so much to me as it was a special occasion for them and their first impression of Scotland - what a good one to have! My husband and I had also been allocated a suite on two floors that was just gorgeous and very romantic. Absolutely first class service!

The staff really do make this place. They are charming, sincere and warm. Whenever I walked through the lobby, there was somebody to wish me good morning or good evening and flash me a kind smile. For me, it's these things that warrant the 5th star. Every member of staff that I met was kind, discreet and genuine.

The breakfasts at the north bridge brasserie were consistently excellent and fairly priced. We didn't use the pool in the end but my parents did and they said it was lovely. We didn't get to use the little cinema but loved the concept and hope to use it next time we stay in Edinburgh.

Thank you so much to all of the people at the Scotsman that made us feel so special. Your efforts have gained you 4 very loyal customers who will continue to recommend you to all friends who visit Edinburgh in the future. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to an editor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mslouisebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that your parents were given the opportunity to enjoy one of our beautiful Editor rooms and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that we were able to contribute to your enjoyment of such a special occasion is an added bonus; we certainly hope to welcome you back to the Scotsman in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

For a city hotel this is a great location with all the amenities that you need. The room was perhaps a little on the small side but had everything you needed and it is nice and close to the shops and tourist attractions in Edinburgh. Breakfast was good and the service friendly and pleasant. If I came back to Scotland I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to here that you would choose to return to stay with us in the future is an added bonus; We certainly look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Edinburgh and the Scotsman.
Many Thanks
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at The Scotsman the week after Easter and had a great time. The staff were very helpful and The North Bridge Brasserie is excellent. The hotel is very central and a great base for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounding areas. We would like to go back very soon and have no hesitation in recommending it. Our room was lovely too with fab views across the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
It is wonderful to hear that you hope to return and that you will be recommending us to your friends and family; we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Scotsman in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The hotel staff couldn't be more attentive. We were made to feel very welcomed and all needs were quickly attended to. We were also upgraded to a deluxe suite with a beautiful view of the Sir Walter Scott Monument. The room was spotless (most important point to me).
Another recent reviewer was not impressed, but after reading the entire review, I think this person was more displeased with the restaurant than the hotel. I felt that, that should go into a review about the restaurant and not the hotel.
I do agree that the breakfast food was awful and I include this because it was included in the cost of our stay. We skipped breakfast the second day and ate elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check the radiator because you can adjust the heat yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I was extremely concerned to read your opinion of the breakfast that you received, unfortunately as you have not stated in detail why you did not enjoy this I am unable to comment with clarity; I would happily look into this for you should you wish to contact me directly. Our Executive Head Chef works tirelessly to ensure that our 18ft breakfast buffet and our cooked to order fresh offerings are kept at the award winning standard for which we are proudly know, I am however, sorry that we have not met with your personal expectations.
I hope that you will choose to return to Edinburgh and the Scotsman and we would like to opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here to relax after our wedding. We booked the Romance Package which cost £290 for champagne & truffles in the room, dinner in the Brasserie, bed & breakfast. We spent the next day in the spa.

The welcome at reception was frosty, altho the concierge was fantastic. The suite was lovely & the meal in the Brasserie was adequate.
Unfortunately, when we went up to our room after dinner & cocktails the bed had not been turned down or spread with rose petals-- I was really looking forward to this as a surprise for my husband & it was the main reason for booking this package-- reception did not seem particularly apologetic when I informed them.
The following morning our room service breakfast was late, this was totally inconvenient as we had treatments booked in the spa, hence our leisurely breakfast together as newly weds consisted of me eating alone while my husband had his treatment & then he had his breakfast cold. I called reception several times asking where our breakfast was but there was little in the way of apology when it did arrive.
When we checked out of the room the receptionist deducted £15 from our bill as this is what the rose petals would have cost, a totally disproportionate compensation for poor service, and I would not recommend this package to anyone.

Overall, there are much better hotels, restaurants & spas in Edinburgh and surrounding area. We could have spent 2 nights at Norton House for the same price as this package, part of me wishes that we had.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

I was concerned to hear that you considered your welcome to the Scotsman to be a “frosty” one; as you will see from the majority of reviews on websites such as this we are proudly known for delivering an exceptional level of customer service and I am sincerely sorry if you did not receive this.

I have already addressed the issues with regards to your romance package with our department managers and I am sorry that we have not delivered on the items you booked, this is certainly not the level of service at which we pride ourselves. As I do not have you personal details from this review I am sorry to say that I am unable to comment with clarity as to the reasons behind this, however please feel free to contact me directly should you wish and I will happily investigate for you.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to treat you to a true Scotsman experience in the future and I would ask that you contact me directly to allow me assist you with your reservation.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
652 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing