We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Scallops and Cocktails”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #84 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a cocktail on a sunny Sunday afternoon and were impressed by both the bar mans knowledge of cocktails (which were delicious), his professionalism and the fact that he was just so polite. We also witnessed him talking fluent French to some tourists and discussed what an asset this young man was to the hotel. So impressed that we decided to stay for something to eat.
The scallops with celeriac purée were divine and the fish in beer batter just melted in your mouth.
The Scotman Hotel is not cheap but if you want quality produce and service then it's a must.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doccraignewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the North Bridge Brasserie.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much that you stayed to enjoy some of our Executive Head Chef’s wonderful creations; I hope that you will choose to return to dine with us again and perhaps stay at the Scotsman itself in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 2,405 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

I booked this for my partners birthday as he had never been to Edinburgh and it's such a lovely city. We arrived around 10am on a Saturday morning, went to check in and were greeted by polite & helpful staff. They advised us that as the check in time was later we could leave our bags there so we could enjoy our day. As we went back later in the evening to go to our room we were advised we had been upgraded to a suite-like room I cannot remember the full description of this though. We were taken to our room and shown the facilities. We had a beautiful view looking out towards Carlton Hill. The bathroom was lovely and if you put the television on you could play the speakers into the bathroom which is nice for music. You get complimentary bathrobes and slippers which is lovely. We had a lovely sleep and had coffee making facilities for the morning as we don't tend to make breakfast reservations as you never know what you want to do. The staff said we could leave our bags until we needed to go home, which is great for going around on our second day. We visited the castle, Carlton Hill & Edinburgh dungeon (which is really funny). The train station is a stones throw away. My partner said it's the best British hotel he's ever stayed in if that's any help :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to receive such a compliment as the “best British Hotel you have stayed in” is an added bonus; I hope you will return to stay with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Claire Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent location, right in the heart of Edinburgh, you can walk to all the important tourist attractions within 15 minutes. Check in was quick and staff are very helpful and friendly. Our room 808 was very clean and comfortable. There was a small Turret room off the bedroom with a desk and chair, which was really lovely. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and a large flat screen TV and a safe. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the toiletries were of good quality and lovely thick bath-towels were a treat. However the bathroom was tiny but perfect in every way.
Two things need improving, the bed is terrible, you can feel every spring in the mattress, which made sleep uncomfortable. There's only 1 armchair in the room, so 1 person has to sit on the bed or drag the kitchen chair out of the Turret to watch TV etc. The room got very hot, even though the outside temperature was quite mild, so we had to leave the window in the Turret open which let in the traffic noise from outside, there is no air-conditioning. I don't think it warrents the 5* rating, 4* would more accurately reflect the standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
You have mentioned that there was no air conditioning in your room; indeed this is not a facility that is offered nor advertised in the hotel. The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. The age of the building and historical protection means that we are unable to install facilities such as air conditioning, I am however sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

I would like to thank you for your feedback about the mattress and assure you that our Housekeeping team are regularly checking all mattresses and beds to ensure that their upkeep is maintained; I’m sure you can appreciate that all of our guests have their own personal preferences with regards to comfort of beds and I am sorry that we did not meet yours.

Thank you for your kind compliments with regards to the style and quality of the rooms and I hope that should you choose to return to Edinburgh you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in the Scotsman for a couple of nights in May. Location was excellent, staff very helpful. We stayed in an Editor room, carpet was worn, older sofa, odd spotlights in floor in sitting area ! We were expecting one of the nice wood panelled room we saw online, guess you have to specify when you book. Disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTrvlbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
As the Scotsman, we were originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. This means that all of our rooms are individually sized and styled giving a real feeling of originality and quality to all of our rooms and suites.

Should you decide to return to stay with us again please specify your request for one of our wood panelled rooms and we will be happy to accommodate this, subject to availability. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I booked in to the Scotsman Spa for a Spa day package for my mother's birthday, which included full use of the Spa (which has a pool, jacuzzi, steam room,sauna, tropicarium, and arctic and tropical showers) on the day and a light lunch with soft drink, priced at £25 per head. We had never booked a spa day before, so did not know what to expect. The staff were friendly, changing areas spotless, and because we went during the week at one point had the whole spa area to ourselves! For lunch (changing back into your clothes is optional, however it is in the brasserie two floors above which has a cocktail lounge so the less brassnecked of you may wish to go early in order to be changed in time - we didn't really care so had our lunch in our Scotsman-supplied robes and slippers) there was a good choice on the menu but we both had the club sandwich with chips - absolutely delicious, very filling couldn't finish the chips!- and fresh orange juice. We then headed back down to the spa to relax before leaving to seek out cocktails. You can book treatments at the spa, if you book a package online you get 15% off any of their extensive range. Will defo be going back and taking a few friends next time, excellent value for money, beautiful setting, friendly staff, couldn't ask for more!

Room Tip: As we didn't stay overnight I can't comment on the rooms, sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that we were able to contribute to the enjoyment of your Mother’s birthday is an added bonus; I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Scotsman in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Having travelled extensively throughout Europe and the USA, I thought I would have a 5 star Hotel city break in Edinburgh. On arrival the Scotsman is ideally located, Reception area is relatively small.
Our room was the 8th floor, I was a little disappointed, the carpet was dirty, our feet left marks on the sheets when we climbed in bed, there was loose thread worn carpet in the bathroom doorway and stains on the floor. The room contained exactly the same aids as lower rated hotels, mini bar, trouser press,etc. The maid entered the room unannounced to turn our bed down. Shower leaked from sealant around bath, black mould evident on floor tile.
The staff were friendly and helpful, nice mix of Scottish and European staff, however I was left upon leaving why it was such an expensive room for a hotel which I would not rate as 5 star accommodation. service was faultless, accommodation not so.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747Route66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

As I do not have your reservation details to check the exact room you stayed in, I am unable to comment with any clarity on the standards you have mentioned however I would like to confirm that our maintenance team regularly check all of our rooms and suites to ensure the high standards for which we are proudly known are maintained.

We are proud to retain our 5 star status from organisations such as The AA, Visit Scotland and Preferred Hotels all of which have stringent standards and regular audits throughout the year; I am sorry that your stay has not met with your personal expectations.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I would like to thank you for your compliments on our “faultless” service.

Kind Regards
Claire Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place has it all. Starting with the staff, you won't find more friendly and helpful people anywhere, to the standard room which was large with all the fittings and extra's you would expect in a five star hotel. The room does get hot but has a fan and opening windows although can be noisy on a weekend in particular. Breakfast was great. Location is fantastic with a short walk to all the attractions.
Would we stay again? You bet!!!
Gery&Bev
Aus.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be returning to stay with us is an added bonus; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,920 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,034 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,700 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £99 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing