We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book here. They may shift you to another hotel or cancel your booking. Don't risk it.”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #92 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
441 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Don't book here. They may shift you to another hotel or cancel your booking. Don't risk it.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked 2 rooms at the Scotsman months ago but we were informed a week before arrival that they could no longer accommodate us. Don't risk reserving this hotel as you may either have your booking cancelled, or be shifted to a hotel you never booked.

No real explanation was given, and they offered us another hotel which was a completely different style, and not that close by. They'd had our money for months and cancelled us a week out. I'd also re-confirmed the room manually a week or two before, so they had had at least 2 other opportunities to tell us but they left it until 1 week before when many other hotels were sold out, or prices had increased.

Don't risk a booking here - as even if this isn't a regular issue, why would anyone take the risk?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Assistant at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent reservation at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

As I unfortunately do not have access to your reservation details from this review I am unable to comment with any clarity and ask that you contact myself directly to enable me to fully investigate the comments you have made.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    591
    311
    157
    108
See reviews for
301
1,262
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Much has been retained of the original HQ of The Scotsman newspaper, which makes for intriguingly interesting accommodation. A pity then that the (spacious) room with comfortable bed was let down by a nondescript floor covering (wrinkled and of a somewhat dirty appearance), poor lighting and rather drab furniture). I cannot believe that this effect was an attempt to recreate The Scotsman of the past. The dining room however was an attractive work of heritage conservation which combined with good food and excellent Scottish/multicultural service is highly recommendable. Staff help with baggage was friendly willing and prompt, (the only disappointment being the failure of one of the staff to leave in our room as promised some navigational guidance to help us exit the city in a particular direction - a small oversight but judged by the highest standards a small blot on the escutcheon)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tynwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Assistant at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman; I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments.

As the Scotsman, we were originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. This means that all of our rooms are individually sized and styled giving a real feeling of originality and quality to all of our rooms and suites. I am sorry that the room you were allocated didn't meet your personal expectations and we appreciate your feedback.

I hope that in the future if you return to Edinburgh you would choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards


Kind Regards
Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Well, I've stayed at GlenEagles, and the Balmoral on previous visits, and those two locations are clearly 5 stars.

We first came to the hotel in our rental car from Inverness. We couldn't spot the entrance from the road, so we called to be told to drive to the train station to park. We did this of course, and then hauled our luggage for several blocks and up multiple flights of stairs.

Checking in to the Hotel was at first a bad experience as well. The lady at the check-in didn't have any sympathy for getting our challenges in getting in.

The bellman was very good though, and helped things out a bit. The staff at the Brassiere were also very helpful, and an adult beverage was nice while we waited for our room to be ready.

We booked through Expedia, and as American's, we must have received the short-end of the draw. We booked a superior room, and we are paying about 275 pounds per night for:

Old and dirty carpets; stained furniture, a hot room that when you open the window in wafts the smells of a very noisy pub down below us. The room is very tired and dated and this place really needs a makeover.

Did I mention that the elevator doesn't work either? We go in behind reception to get to our room, and then walk up the stairs.

Lastly, the beverages in the room and in the Brasserie do not have a single Scotch beer! This place needs some national pride.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

Although we don’t provide a car park at the hotel; our guests receive a discounted rate at the local public car park which is only a 3 minute walk away from the Scotsman. Our ground level entrance on market street is available for all of our guests to use when utilising the car park and has full lift access to all floors, I am however very sorry that this did not meet with your expectations.


We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

With regards to your comments about one of our lifts being out of service I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused; however Im sure you can appreciate that sometimes mechanical faults can occur that are out with our control but please be assured that we will always endeavour to return all services to our guests as quickly as possible.

I would like to thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Claire Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We traveled to Edinburgh mid-May and stayed at the Scotsman for four nights. We took the air link bus #100 from the airport to Waverly station. From the bus stop the hotel was visible. Just cross the street and walk in the direction of the bridge. The hotel has a lower floor door with a buzzer to request access. Then take the lift to reception on the 4th floor. We had a deluxe room with a king size bed. The room was clean, spacious and had a well appointed bathroom. I had requested a quiet room which it definitely was, the trade off, no view. I believe we were on the 5th floor. The Scotsman has a great location on North Bridge so we could easily walk to "old town" and the "royal mile". The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGL193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
I hope that should you return to Edinburgh I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Scotsman.
Kind Regards
Claire Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a cocktail on a sunny Sunday afternoon and were impressed by both the bar mans knowledge of cocktails (which were delicious), his professionalism and the fact that he was just so polite. We also witnessed him talking fluent French to some tourists and discussed what an asset this young man was to the hotel. So impressed that we decided to stay for something to eat.
The scallops with celeriac purée were divine and the fish in beer batter just melted in your mouth.
The Scotman Hotel is not cheap but if you want quality produce and service then it's a must.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doccraignewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the North Bridge Brasserie.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much that you stayed to enjoy some of our Executive Head Chef’s wonderful creations; I hope that you will choose to return to dine with us again and perhaps stay at the Scotsman itself in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I booked this for my partners birthday as he had never been to Edinburgh and it's such a lovely city. We arrived around 10am on a Saturday morning, went to check in and were greeted by polite & helpful staff. They advised us that as the check in time was later we could leave our bags there so we could enjoy our day. As we went back later in the evening to go to our room we were advised we had been upgraded to a suite-like room I cannot remember the full description of this though. We were taken to our room and shown the facilities. We had a beautiful view looking out towards Carlton Hill. The bathroom was lovely and if you put the television on you could play the speakers into the bathroom which is nice for music. You get complimentary bathrobes and slippers which is lovely. We had a lovely sleep and had coffee making facilities for the morning as we don't tend to make breakfast reservations as you never know what you want to do. The staff said we could leave our bags until we needed to go home, which is great for going around on our second day. We visited the castle, Carlton Hill & Edinburgh dungeon (which is really funny). The train station is a stones throw away. My partner said it's the best British hotel he's ever stayed in if that's any help :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to receive such a compliment as the “best British Hotel you have stayed in” is an added bonus; I hope you will return to stay with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Claire Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent location, right in the heart of Edinburgh, you can walk to all the important tourist attractions within 15 minutes. Check in was quick and staff are very helpful and friendly. Our room 808 was very clean and comfortable. There was a small Turret room off the bedroom with a desk and chair, which was really lovely. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and a large flat screen TV and a safe. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the toiletries were of good quality and lovely thick bath-towels were a treat. However the bathroom was tiny but perfect in every way.
Two things need improving, the bed is terrible, you can feel every spring in the mattress, which made sleep uncomfortable. There's only 1 armchair in the room, so 1 person has to sit on the bed or drag the kitchen chair out of the Turret to watch TV etc. The room got very hot, even though the outside temperature was quite mild, so we had to leave the window in the Turret open which let in the traffic noise from outside, there is no air-conditioning. I don't think it warrents the 5* rating, 4* would more accurately reflect the standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
You have mentioned that there was no air conditioning in your room; indeed this is not a facility that is offered nor advertised in the hotel. The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. The age of the building and historical protection means that we are unable to install facilities such as air conditioning, I am however sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

I would like to thank you for your feedback about the mattress and assure you that our Housekeeping team are regularly checking all mattresses and beds to ensure that their upkeep is maintained; I’m sure you can appreciate that all of our guests have their own personal preferences with regards to comfort of beds and I am sorry that we did not meet yours.

Thank you for your kind compliments with regards to the style and quality of the rooms and I hope that should you choose to return to Edinburgh you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing