We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #90 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I really wanted to love this hotel but have mixed feelings
From our arrival there were a number of frustrations which when you are tired you don’t need.
We stayed on two occasions, a week apart. The location is excellent – the hotel is adjacent to the Waverley train station and there is an excellent lift system from the station up to street level. The hotel can be entered from this ‘rear’ entrance (ground floor) with lift access to Reception (4th floor). This is not as obvious as it sounds if you don't know, but easy once you have worked it out!
The 4th floor Reception entrance opens onto one of the main roads heading either to the Royal Mile or New Town, so is ideally located for wandering on either side of town and is central for all the restaurants, pubs, etc.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful and obviously proud of their hotel. When we lost hot water in the bathroom it was very quickly fixed.
The first time we stayed in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor. This was a very large room with absolutely everything you need. The second time we stayed in an Editor room on the 9th floor. This room had a very large bathroom, a small mezzanine floor with two armchairs, and a small turret room which is up a step and has windows all round which give you a wonderful view. Until 9.00 pm when you realise there is no curtain or door to block the light! So with sunrise at about 5.00am we were up early! Heavens knows what it would be like with a full moon. I am sure if we had raised the issue, the management would have found a solution but we were too tired to bother.
There is free WiFi access accessed by passwords renewable for each 24 hr period.
There are limited signs to help you find your way round the hotel. The doors have 'fire door' signs on them but no directional signage and as this is actually two adjoining buildings it is quite a rabbit warren. This is a building that was not purpose designed as a hotel and it shows.
The restaurant included a bar area and the meals were good. The staff are a bit too formal, they could relax a little.
Overall it is good value if booked on a special deal, but probably not at full price, but it does rate well because of free WiFi.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room ahead of an Editor room, especially the one on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRemy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    595
    314
    158
    108
See reviews for
303
1,269
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

The Scotsman is a very well located luxury, old world hotel just off the royal mile. You can walk to any attraction and there are many restaurants nearby. The hotel restaurant is quite nice. They do a lovely breakfast for hotel guests and nice Scottish meals at lunch and dinner. The rooms are a bit old but spacious and have mini bar, robes, nice bathrooms, and comfy beds. The fitness center is well equipped and there's an indoor pool. The staff are very attentive and helpful. Overall a nice place to stay.

Note, we had a suite with two pullout beds for our children and it worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Celebrating a special occasion we stayed at the Scotsman hotel last Saturday evening and were extremely impressed. We arrived in Edinburgh fairly early and our room was not ready yet so we decided to have something to eat in the main hotel bar/brasserie. This is a lovely room to spend some time in and have something to eat or drink. The building has a great history and the bar is quite grand. We sat at the bar to have a drink and some light lunch and the barman was very helpful and friendly. We only had time for one drink when someone from reception came into the bar to tell us our room was ready, still prior to the standard check in time. This was the only slight issue as we were shown to a room to the rear of the hotel instead of a front facing room which we had requested and paid for. To their credit this was rectified almost immediately and we were shown to a wonderful room looking over North Bridge and Princes Street. The room itself had all mod cons and it was just great to pull up a couple of chairs to the window and take in the view. The hotel's location in the heart of the city is an added bonus with the Royal Mile yards away. We had dinner elsewhere in the city but breakfast in the hotel the next morning was excellent and provided a wide choice. I would recommend the hotel and will definitely look to go back.

Room Tip: Room 713 offers great views and its very own turret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPaul77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Have wanted to stay here for a long time, but felt the experience was disappointing and the hotel just isnt 5*. The building is great, but the additional touches you expect for 5* (and even some 4*) were lacking. This hotel may tick the boxes for a tourist board or AA 5*, but there is room for improvement. Our editors room was spacious but there were finishing touches missing - the curtains weren't well fitting and the bathroom was 'tired'. Breakfast was a standard buffet, though dinner was excellent.
The spa is as you would expect & treatment (facial) was very good. Not sure what all the fuss is about with the stainless steel pool - makes the area rather masculine and dark. Perhaps that's the idea. The layout of the two buildings
The staff were excellent, apart form one rather indifferent restaurant supervisor. We had a Spanish waitress in the restaurant who was really excellent, as was the young woman who checked us in and out.

Room Tip: Higher up the better to avoid noise of facing North Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-ladies-who-dine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We chose this hotel for its central location and iconic history as the previous home of The Scotsman newspaper. It is listed as one of Edinburgh's 5 star hotels. Unfortunately, our experience there was poor and I would agree with previous reviewers on two counts.

Firstly, the level of intrusiveness of the staff was quite astonishing. Constant inappropriate questioning seemed to be the prevailing culture. Personnel are clearly local, which is something we usually value, but it is doubtful if many are aware of international 5 star expectations of staff-guest interaction. Scottish people pride themselves on friendliness, but management need to get a grip on the matey intrusiveness of all their staff. Most guests will not consider persistent questions about their activities in Edinburgh as a matter for discussion: we certainly did not and found fending off the questions not only irritating but embarassing.

Secondly, we too found the mattress soft and badly sprung - below expected standard. The mattress was cheap and old; I had a look. Our bedroom was unattractive and it seems that the conversion from the old newspaper building to a hotel has not generally been done to a high specification.

This is not a hotel I would recommend and it is very unlikely I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms vary enormously and so do the prices. The pricing structure for rooms is unclear. Before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Top_cat_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent location and amazing hotel. This 125 years old heritage 5 star hotel is outstanding. breakfast is ok but location is the best. Since its a very old building so there are no air conditioners in the room. But weather was good so we didnt feel the need of an AC. Price wise its expensive if booking not done in advance. All n all best location. Waverly station is literally outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Administration and Customer Services at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

As you point out we are very privileged to occupy such a fantastic city centre location, being close to the historical centre, fabulous shopping and very easy access to the train station.

Once again thank you for you kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is a very interesting hotel. Being an old newspaper office and printing facility it is amazing what they were able to do with it. It is only two blocks from The Royal Mile, one of the main tourist attractions that leads up to Edinburgh Castle. Numerous shops and eating places. The quaint "close" alleyways reveal shops, restaurants or other interesting places well worth getting off the Main Street for.

The hotel has no AC, so beware in the summer it can get quite warm. Lots of steps if you can't take the "lifts". Not an easy place to find your way around, but the rooms are nice. It is quite European.

Room Tip: Front rooms near the street are noisy. Rooms near the train station are noisy because windows will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Administration and Customer services at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

As you point out we are very privileged to occupy such a fantastic city centre location, being close to the historical centre, fabulous shopping and very easy access to the train station.

We are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites. The age of the building and historical protection means that we are unable to install facilities such as air conditioning, I am however sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to having the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#61 of 148 in Edinburgh
601 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing