We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #90 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here on NYE 2012/2013 for 3 nights. Fantastic hotel! it was a birthday treat for me and a treat it was! Deserves every one of its 5 stars.

A beautiful building and classic original interior matched with modern design features looks great.

The location couldn't be better, the Royal Mile on one hand for the older part of the city and Princess Street the other side of the bridge for shopping.

The hotel has a fantastic spa which we used, a cinema (which we didn't) and a number of other amenities, all top class.

We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was outstanding. Great local produce which reflected the hotel itself, old classics with modern twists. The restaurant also has a well stocked bar with a great wine menu, we had a couple of cocktails which were great.

It's worth mentioning the staff were great too, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable of the city!

The hotel is by no means cheap (especially at new year) but I would say worth every penny and worth all of its 5 stars.

I would add that the Hogmany (NYE) was great but it is incredibly crowded on Princess Street and many of the other areas. My advice would be to find somewhere away from the crowds where you can still see the fireworks at the castle. You will spend hours queueing for the toilet/drinks/food which takes away the enjoyment of the NYE celebration itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

I Am pleased to hear that your stay was an extra treat with us for your birthday!
The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites,
Our Executive Head Chef, Paul Hart prides himself on working with local Scottish suppliers to build an imaginative and modern menu that has a twist on many of your traditional Scottish favourites.

We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    595
    315
    158
    108
See reviews for
303
1,270
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this wonderful hotel.

My wife, Mrs. M is a perfectionist and for Mrs M to say how good the hotel was in every respect is certainly an excellent endorsement of any establishment as she usually finds fault with the majority of places. I must say however that Mrs M was not that impressed with the first room we were shown on arrival but after requesting and getting a transfer to a room with a view all was well with Mrs M and the room was excellent. The hotel could not be in a better location for exploring Edinburgh.

We cannot praise this hotel, the breakfast, the service and the helpful staff enough and suggest you read the other 'good' reviews on trip advisor that support my comments and give you a more eloquent résumé of a hotel that in my opinion is pure class and architecturally stunning!!!!

We hope to go there again.

Room Tip: Room 301 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMfromPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great Location, great character, friendly helpful staff, great architecture, lovely bedroom, nice comfy bed (if a touch small) good breakfast ………………..that’s all I think you need to know about the Scotsman

The only Cons were: the parking is offsite and a trek and the WiFi was a bit hit and miss but there aren’t enough to mark it down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The layers of history abound in this classy hotel. Barry and Roy were very helpful explaining how everything works and recommending restaurants, making dinner reservations and making us feel very welcome. Breakfasts were excellent as you could enjoy their buffet spread or order a la carte or both! Ivan, the welcoming doorman, has a twinkle in his eye and a ready humorous take on the city and beyond. We enjoyed a very large suite on the top floor (4th or 5th).

Room Tip: Ask for a city view on a top floor. Our suite was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Scotsman Hotel occupies the former Scotsman newspaper building and is located halfway down the Royal Mile. It's location makes for an easy walk to most of Old and New Town. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The downside to this hotel is actually its structure. As a former newspaper building it has quite a quirky hotel layout. We were upgraded to Publisher suites on the 8th. floor. Both were quite spacious and provided all expected amenities. One suite, 804 even has a sauna. A complimentary decanter of whisky and box of chocolate was provided by the staff for our enjoyment. One night housekeeping came in at nearly 10:00 pm for turn-down service and we were already in bed after a long flight. On a following night we arrived at the room to find the door ajar. Evidently housekeeping left it that way and didn't return to lock up. Both events are surprising for a supposedly 5 star hotel. All in all i think this is a very nice hotel and the location can't be beat.

Tom & Suzanne S.
Tyrone, Georgia USA

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Musickhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Fantastically located, a heritage building, serves a hearty Scottish breakfast, lovely rooms, kind and helpful staff - what more could you possibly want? I am itching to go back to Edinburgh, and to this hotel. I loved it. They have a privacy hatch in the room! Wonderful service - most definitely recommended!

Room Tip: I had a study room to myself, and it was luxurious - if you're with someone, I'd recommend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywalking_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

took my partner here for his 50th birthday and went to the Tattoo - it was great
The hotel is so central - it was a bit noisy - but the festival was on so we knew it would be buzzing -
downside is the parking situation - maybe a valet service would be a good idea.
All the staff were very helpful and we loved the quirky elements of the hotel.
we had the romance package and it was superb - dinner was excellent
Great!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,730 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#64 of 148 in Edinburgh
604 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing