We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Recently had some spa treatment in the Scotsman hotel a lovely hotel in Central Edinburgh. It was just simply wonderful. Products,staff and whole experience was so good I did not want to leave. This is such a good experience fabulous towels and robes. Temperature of room just right for me .Products used were so relaxing. I had back ,neck and foot massage and I felt so good afterwards. Hotel and Spa staff were so professional and yet friendly and I recommend this to anyone staying in the hotel or even try to book when in Edinburgh.
Afternoon tea which I have had before and which was also excellent and champagne for me next time as well as the spa treatment.
Look forward to my return visit to the Scotsman hotel a real 5 star experience. Despite the hotel being very close to the station and in the middle of Edinburgh inside the hotel is very quite and calm. A sea of tranquility reigns.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    586
    308
    156
    105
See reviews for
297
1,253
97
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Overall was very pleased with my stay.

Positive:

Great concierge staff. Consistently helpful, friendly, knowledgeable. I ask alot of questions, and they never made me feel that I was imposing or being annoying.
Large towels in bathroom--so many hotels--even nice ones--have skimpy towels. These were excellent.
Large gym on the premises, with classes too (though I didn't take any). It's quite a maze finding it, but worth it.
Complimentary bottle of water nightly
Location can't be beat

Negative:

No makeup mirror. This is a pet peeve of mine. I don't understand how top hotels ignore this; it's a necessity for women, and probably some men too.
Lighting in room was poor. At night, half the room was barely lit, as there is no overhead lighting. Lamps were fine for targeted lighting, but overall room was inadequate. Contrast with bathroom lighting which was excellent.
Shower. Great shower, but....the shower head is above, and the controls are at the back, so you have to get hit with water when you first turn it on. This may not be the case in all rooms, but it was in mine. Quite annoying.

Would I stay here again? 50/50. If I could get a good deal at another top hotel, I'd take it. If not, I'd probably return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aug60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at The Scotsman. Lovely old building in a great location, situated in Edinburgh's Old Town, just roubd the corner from the Royal Mile. Stayed in an Executive Room which was very spacious with a huge bed, nice decor, and lovely bathroom. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalTips42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I, tired and weary having travelled nearly six hours by rail, stumbled across the road from Waverley station and into the comfort of the Scotsman Hotel, previously the HQ of the Scotsman newspaper. Reception staff and concierges were polite, knowledgeable and friendly, and we were led through the maze like building to our room, looking straight out over Waverley station to the Balmoral Hotel.

Our room (202) was sizable, with a large bed, which was extremely cosy and comfortable. The minibar was well stocked, reasonably priced and had a good selection of drinks and nibbles to choose from. The surround sound system controlling the sound from the TV was frightfully sensitive, and one notch on the + volume button sent the noise skywards, so took some getting used to! Bathroom was a good size, with a nice hot shower and a huge mirror, a part of which was heated to prevent it from steaming up. Although in the centre of town and directly above a nightclub, the room was surprisingly quiet and relaxing, albeit a little on the hot side.

The breakfast was excellent, with plenty to choose from - continental, cooked and many other items that could be freshly cooked for you. We ate in the restaurant on one night, and chose from the pre-theatre menu, which had a narrow, but very fine selection of food to choose from.

We both had a relaxing massage after we arrived, which helped us get over our long journey. I used the steam room, tropicarium and sauna numerous times, and ventured into the arctic shower after using the sauna - character building would be one way to describe that experience! My only criticism of the sauna was that there was no egg timer to keep track of time spent in there.

After three nights, our stay came to an end, and after a hearty breakfast and having to part with a not insubstantial amount of money, we sadly said goodbye and stumbled back across the road to the station for our long trip back home.

Recommended for couples, not so much for families

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhysdavies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
362 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and stayed here one night. The converted newspaper office was wonderful. We enjoyed the classic Edwardian interiors. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Our room was a little quirky in its layout, but very comfortable. The hotel is across the street from the train station, but the hotel is quiet. We had both breakfast and lunch in the restaurant. The food and service was excellent. The hotel is centrally located and close to everything you would want to see. We would stay here again and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We are a family of 4 - kids aged 7 and 9. We were staying over half term, for 4 nights,from 28th October - 1 November. There were positives and negatives, but overall the hotel fell short of expectations. However, with a few tweaks ( all mainly staff related) it has immense potential.
Positives for a family stay:
Room - publisher suite - large spacious room ideal for family of 4. Kids had large pull out beds. Plenty of large soft towels ( possibly the most generous supply we've ever had), good entertainment system ( we brought DVDs for evening movies), comfy beds and excellent shower. Even with 2 extra beds, room had sofa, armchair and dining table for 4. Robes and towels. Umbrella for wet nights. Unpretentious and unfussy ( and not much for children to break!). Evening turndown service with fresh water.
Location - excellent - couldn't be surpassed - right in centre of town - 5 minutes to buses and tours on Princess Street, 15 minutes walk with kids to the Castle, about 20 minutes to Dynamic Earth.
Concierge: Fabulous recommendations for food - Whiski / Angels with Bagpipes and advice on transport.
Reception staff: efficient and friendly. I noticed some errors with our billing which were rectified immediately. We asked for a check out at 12pm which was no problem.
Breakfast ( see negatives also ): Kids loved the cooked breakfast selection and the pancakes and waffles. The scrambled eggs were always moist - not easy on a buffet breakfast.
Management acknowledged the fire alarm going off in a pleasant and helpful manner.

Negatives for a family stay:
Staff: the restaurant staff generally treated diners like an irritation. At breakfast, there was often no one there to meet you, so you stood, and stood, and stood. When eventually you were acknowledged you generally got pointed to a table, not taken to a table.The managers were particularly unfriendly - especially the older gentleman with the moustache who never broke into a smile, and the blonde lady who treated some diners with such disrespect I would have walked out. For example, a family of 5 ( German I think) with mum, dad and 3 teenagers arrived down for breakfast. They asked for a table for 5. She told them they couldn't have it. They asked to have 2 tables pushed together. To which she replied " Other customers might want those tables". All of this within 2 feet of our table. Shocking customer service.
Smell: there is a bad smell in the lift and lower floors - definitely sewage. Would it alone stop me from coming back - no - but surely after all the mentions on tripadvisor someone should be looking into this.
Swimming times: When choosing an hotel for a family say we always look for somewhere with a pool for a swim before or after our activities. What we were unaware of was that kids swimming hours are 9-11.30am and 3-5pm. This makes it impossible to have a swim before breakfast or after a day out. Even chain hotels have more child friendly hours than this. I do appreciate that kids shouldn't be allowed until 10 pm but an earlier start ( how many kids sleep until 9?) and a slightly later afternoon time would certainly make it more attractive to families.
Housekeeping: Room not cleaned by 3.00pm - we'd been out since 8.45am ( without using the pool!!). When I phoned to check when it would be done I was told rather abruptly that they worked until 4.30pm. Customer service? When we checked in there was a tray in our corridor which was there for 24 hours. The following the day all the glasses from our room sat in the corridor for 24 hours.
Restaurants : Average. We had much nicer meals at the concierge's recommendation. The evening menu never changed once during our 5 day stay - no specials. LImited wine menu with the Sauvignon Blanc sold out and no-one available to recommend an alternative.
Bar - As above, had run out of basic drinks, including Baileys. Reason - a big party at the weekend (??!)

In summary, the hotel didn't ruin or enhance our trip. it was average. Such a waste.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princesspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We dined in the Brasserie one damp evening in October. The welcome was warm and the service attentive without being intrusive. There are a range of menus but we chose the pretheatre menu which was excellent value for money. Although not so extensive as the dinner menu there was still a good choice for a 'veggie' and a 'carnivore'.
The food was well cooked and delicious.
The surroundings are elegant and most impressive.
We have eaten there before and look forward to doing so again soon.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here but the Ladies' loo is amazing.there are beautiful orchids and quality t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing