We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
wakefield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I booked this hotel as a treat for my 40th birthday.
The welcome was warm without being overpowering. We were shown to the room by Barry who knew everything about the hotel and local area.
The room was a classic room and was beautifully presented.
The breakfast is geeat with a good choice, both buffet and others such as eggs benedict or finnanh haddie for a different start to the day.
We came bqck to our room later in tbe day and found a bottle of prosecco bubbly and chocolates for my birthday from the hotel. This really my my stay special.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I agree it is on the more expensive side however if you can or its a special occasion, splash out. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy091273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    590
    311
    157
    108
See reviews for
300
1,261
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Fantastic Hotel. Everything perfect for a very special celebration. It couldn't have been any better.
From the moment we arrived and were shown to our upgraded room. We were treated with lovely, friendly and attentive staff. Amazing surroundings from the room, the bathroom, the built in hidden wardrobes and everything hidden in beautiful wooden panneling and to the view. I would recommend everyone to visit this magnificent hotel for any special occassion. I would stay more often if I had more Holidays from work and a little more money. The food in the restaurant was splendid and the cocktails amazing.

Room Tip: I doubt very much that this hotel has any room's that you would not be delighted with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_d18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Even though I work in Edinburgh a lot and know the city well I went a bit round the houses - (or castle!)to get find this venue! It's in a very lovely area of the city its quite understated compared to other hotels and reception is but a low desk, which does kind of reflect the feel of this hotel smart but low key! Got a cracking deal for the room as I booked quite late and was really impressed with the quality - normally you are stuck above reception (see another of my reviews) or by the lift or other annoying noisey locations as its the room they cant shift but, no, in this case a lovely room very comfy, delighted with locaton and view. I will return to enjoy what Im sure would be a very delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night as a treat to ourselves away from the children. Reception was lovely and the staff were excellent however we were a bit disapointed with our room. Large and spacious yet lacked wow factor. We have stayed in far superiour rooms in lower graded hotels. The bed was super comfy though!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to voice your views about your recent stay with us here at The Scotsman Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that the team made you feel welcome, and you enjoyed our lovely beds. Regarding your room, I am sorry to hear that you felt we lacked the ‘wow factor'. Should you decide to return to Edinburgh and the Scotsman to go someway to redeeming our good name please contact me directly to allow us to offer you our best available rate and perhaps a complimentary upgrade to one of our sumptuous suites!
Warm regards,
Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

in Edinburgh 6th December, booked the Scotsman hotel as its near to everywhere which was correct the location is great , very disappointed with the room 904, very small and in need of a makeover, not that we stay in the room but for the price not a patch on McDonald Holyrood Hotel we stayed in mid November at a quarter of the price and just 5mins walk from there. Rooms was clean enough 1 comfy chair and small table plus dressing table with hard backed chair, tea, coffee all the usual you would expect in a good hotel, bathroom nice and clean, bed comfy enough, room very cold in the afternoon no controls to adjust the heating, Plenty choice at breakfast, all very nice friendly staff, for the little bit extra it would have cost would rather have booked the Balmoral.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made. The Scotsman hotel is housed in the building that was originally the home of the famous Scotsman newspaper. We are very proud of the fact that during the conversion to the hotel as it is today a lot of the traditional and quirky rooms were kept as close to their original layout as possible. As no two rooms are the same I’m sure you can appreciate that we have many different shapes and sizes, the same as many old buildings.

I would like to thank you for adding your kind words about the staff who served you whilst you were staying with us. We pride ourselves on providing the finest Scottish hospitality, and it is always fantastic to hear feedback like this.

Thank you again for taking the time to get back to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman in the near future.

Warm regards,

Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan,England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed for three nights for my husband's birthday and had booked in advance directly with the hotel to receive a good deal. We checked in and were shown to our room to find we'd been upgraded to a Director Suite free of charge - a lovely surprise! The room itself was lovely and as it was on the 8th floor, was very quiet and soooo comfortable with complimentary Scotch, fluffy white towels and the comfiest bed ever. The staff couldn't do enough to help and every request was catered for including sending me the stuff I was stupid enough to leave in the room after we checked out.
The breakfast was good quality, fresh and plentiful, ranging from full cooked, continental and the usual fruit, cereal, breads and smoked salmon. We ate in the restaurant one evening and had drinks in the bar every evening - the food was beautiful and the ambience in the bar chilled and relaxed.
We had treatments in the spa and spent time in the pool/Jacuzzi etc and it's very much recommended. The massages and facial were so relaxing and as an infrequent partaker of treatments, I was made to feel comfortable and at ease whereas in some places I've been before I felt a bit odd and self conscious.
The hotel is located between old and new towns so perfectly located for exploring the city and the concierges are really knowledgeable, doing their best to find dinner reservations, give advice on trips and sights to see and making sure we had as a good a stay as possible.
As first time visitors to Edinburgh, we loved the city and will definitely be back and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere other than The Scotsman.

Room Tip: Upper floors are obviously quieter but as this is a city centre hotel there can be a little noise wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We checked in, for a three night stay, relatively late on the evening of Thursday November 13th. With two young children in tow, we were quite anxious to get into our rooms and the children into bed.
We had booked a Publisher suite (2 adults & 2 children) and an Editor room (2 adults) and I had requested that the rooms be alongside or near each other. We were disappointed to be told that unfortunately, although the room numbers were quite close together, the rooms were actually on opposite sides of the building. Also, the requested cot and additional single bed were not in our room upon arrival.
I have to say that we were not happy with the first impressions regarding service. However, Ross (concierge) was fantastic in dealing with our issues. He personally commandeered a cot and before long we had it + a bed set up and ready to use. He also spent some time in reception organising a complimentary upgrade of the second room to a Publisher suite located right across the hallway from us- not an easy feat since the hotel was by all accounts at or near full capacity for the weekend ahead.
Our room was a duplex suite with table/chairs + couch-bed, TV and mini-bar downstairs and a main bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The panoramic view from upstairs took in the rear of many of the historical Royal Mile buildings, Edinburgh castle, the train station, and Princes Street off to the right side as we looked out. Although not the height of luxury, the suite was nevertheless quite comfortable and very Scottish. The other suite had an additional toilet downstairs and a much larger upper floor space; yet was a little sparse in interior decor for my liking. Nevertheless, my mother and sister were delighted with the room so no complaints on that count.
We were up and away early the next morning for my graduation ceremony in Heriot Watt University. On our return, we intended to dine in the hotel but lunch finished serving at 2pm. Ross gave us a great recommendation for an Italian restaurant just a few doors away at the corner to the Royal Mile. We wanted something informal with good food but where we could relax with the kids- it was a perfect fit for us.
We were a bit stumped on what to do with the children in the evening. I asked at reception about the cinema and was later led there by Ross with the whole gang in tow. The 50 seater cinema was powered up especially for us and the kids got to enjoy Peppa Pig on the big screen for the first time. The staff later dropped in complimentary popcorn and ice cream for all of us- a really nice touch. I have to say that it made our stay- the kids (2 year old and 4 year old) were delighted and we had a very comfortable hour or so.
Another nice touch was a complimentary bottle of champagne and a congratulatory note on my graduation. As a brewing & distilling graduate, I was also delighted with the complimentary whiskey that was placed in our room each night.
For whiskey lovers, make sure to enjoy the whisky/food tasting in the bar. It was great value at under £20 and included some lovely 12 year old whiskies + accompanying nibbles like pear, fudge, chocolate, and smoked cheese.
The breakfast is fantastic. I've stayed in plenty of 5 stars and my favourite meal of the day, the Scotsman is up there with the best of them. There was the usual cereals, fruits, yoghurts, breads, cold meats, hot meats, juices etc. I'd heartily recommend the smoked salmon and the sausages- quality Scottish produce. In addition, we could order 'a-la-carte' from the kitchen and we enjoyed beautifully prepared American pancakes, poached eggs and eggs Benedict. There was also a special treat each morning: a kid-sized hot chocolate with marshmallow for our 4 year old.
The restaurant/bar is beautiful and overlooks the busy street that links the Royal Mile (Old town) with Princes Street (New town) via a bridge that crosses above the busy Waverly train station. It's a great spot to relax in comfort whilst right in front of you the crowds and traffic battle the elements and about their business. It can get quite busy at times so it is a good idea to reserve tables ahead of time.
The hotel is uniquely laid out: a mish-mash of old buildings on several levels and with two main street access points. Nonetheless, we had no problems finding our way around. The bonus of this hotel is location. Scottish weather and children do not make for a happy mix so it is great to be so close to both the Royal Mile (just a few feet one way) and the main shopping street just across the bridge the other way (5 minute walk).
The spa/pool was another great option to have and we duly obliged. The facilities were top class and we generally had the pool to ourselves on the both occasions that we used it. The pool/jacuzzi, sauna, steam room area is more modern in style to the rest of the hotel in a dark, moody style. It works really well and again, I'd recommend to include it in your itinerary.
Ross was superb and gave us great suggestions for the one night I got to hit the town with my wife. We love vintage cocktail bars and amongst others, he suggested a quirky cocktail venue called Voodoo Lounge (if memory serves me correct). It suited our taste so much that we decided to stay there all night!
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel like the only guests staying at the hotel. After initial teething problems, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The Scotsman is for you if you enjoy old style hospitality, historical buildings and a great location.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a Publisher suite. The views are fantastic and the rooms are spacious a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing