We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb For Winter Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb For Winter Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have recently stayed here for two very comfortable nights. We stayed in room 507 which we might have preferred to be a little higher up, however the room was a great size and very well appointed. It was a little shabby round the edges which was a shame, but I just think this room is used a lot being one of the cheaper rooms within the hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful and were very discreet. Overall the hotel and spa were a great quality and we would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: If you are coming via train, there is a entrance just outside the station into the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    581
    305
    154
    104
See reviews for
292
1,242
96
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I would not hesitate to give this hotel a 5* review if it wasn't for an unfortunate and disgusting experience I had there recently - and the fact that the hotel has not followed up on this disaster.

I was taken here by my girlfriend as a surprise for my birthday. We were to have spa treatments, dinner, a wonderful relaxing night in the hotel and breakfast the following morning.
On arriving we were met by such friendly and helpful staff. concierge and reception simply could not do enough for us - very welcoming.
We were taken to our room and we decided to get into our robes and head down for a swim, sauna, Jacuzzi and all that stuff before dinner.
As we left the room and the door closed behind us we realised that we did not have the room key. We were not worried as everyone was so helpful when we arrived, we were sure this would not be an issue.
As we walked to the lift my girlfriend spotted something coming through my robe. As she examined it further from the other side, she was suddenly disgusted with what she had located. The robe had been unfortunate recipient of someones period blood and the cleaning contractor had obviously missed the rather horrific mess on my robe. Moreover, there was another yellow stain on the robe which just added to the level of disbelief I was experiencing.
As I did not want to be seen in the more public areas of the hotel wearing a period blood and pee stained robe, I asked my girlfriend to go down and have someone not only bring a fresh and clean robe but also bring a key for our room so that I didn't have to wait in the corridor.
Unfortunately I had to wait in the corridor for over 20 minutes until someone came up.
During this time my girlfriend had been to the spa to collect a fresh rob herself as reception were utterly mobbed at the time. The spa seemed rather disinterested with our situation. When she took the robe to the reception, staff were obviously disgusted too and apologised and said they would look into what has happened.
I believe my girlfriend had instructed them to take this as a official complaint as it was almost unthinkable that this could occur in such a stunning hotel.
Since then, 14 days ago, we have heard nothing from the hotel. Not even an apology let alone an explanation.
I will be writing to them also as I would hate to think that this situation could happen again.

Other than that, we had a wonderful dinner, a great breakfast with amazing sausages and we had a fantastic time in the spa.
Again, I would have given this hotel, staff, food and spa 5* if it wasn't for what happened and the lack of care being displayed from the zero contact and communication

Room Tip: We were up on the 7th or 8th floor were no external noise could be heard - I'd recommend those f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Duty Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.
Regarding your bathrobe, I sincerely apologise for this oversight we are truly baffted as to how the robe was missed, as we normally have very stringent checks of the items returning from our laundry. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper and our Rooms Division Manager and I am sorry that no one from the hotel has got back to you. We have since had a meeting with our laundry company to discuss the return of a soiled robe and have decided to use another company to both launder and supply our linen requirements moving forward. I sincerely apologise that their oversight had a negative impact on your stay with us.
I was on duty the day you checked in and I sent some prosecco up to the room for you and your girlfriend to enjoy upon your return from the Spa, following your comments at reception. I also called your room a few times through the evening but was unable to make contact with you.
In regards to your positive comments about our team members and the warm welcome you received I shall pass this on to the team. We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

Again sir, I do sincerely apologise that you have been left with such a bad impression of our hotel. Should you decide to return to Edinburgh and the Scotsman, to go someway to redeeming our good name please contact me directly on 0131 556 5565 to allow us to offer you our best available rate and perhaps a complimentary upgrade to one of our sumptuous suites.
Warm regards,
Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Recommended hotel. Service is excellent and very personable.

The location is right in the heart of Edinburgh within easy walking distance of all attractions and shops and a great many restaurants.

The rooms are lovely and a reasonable size and there are some nice touches such as umbrellas in the rooms which is very handy for British weather.

Food is of great quality and there is a luxury spa on the lower floors to make the stay even better.

Very good quality and value for money overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berkstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Scotsman and thought the hotel was lovely, staff were very pleasant and our room was very clean and a really good size. We did have one small problem with our room in that my husband went to the bathroom through the night but the handle mechanism wouldn't work to open the door so he was stuck in there until I released him at 6.10am!! We took this up with Andrew, the duty manager and he was very professional and apologised and had the door mechanism repaired immediately. The spa facilities are superb, my husband wasn't too happy that one of the gay lads that worked on spa reception took a shine to him but I don't know what he was moaning about, at least somebody fancies him!!!!! Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice but we didn't rate the food in North Street Brasserie restaurant in the evening, in fact the food was dire!! We would definitely return to The Scotsman Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rj&lj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We've stayed at the Scotsman a couple of times, a bit disappointed this time with the room. It was a furnace, we had to get the fan out in the middle of the night and got no sleep. Delightful staff moved us to another (cooler room) but little bits and pieces (phone and fridge not working, toilet blocked but not fixed, carpets looking a bit frayed) took away from the generally enjoyable, cosy and Christmassy vibe.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic Hotel - Central location with views over Princess street - staff brilliant and we would recommend the restaurant !! Service A1 From the start. Room on the seventh floor very quiet . Good breakfast in the morning - in my opinion best small hotel in Edinburgh!! 5 Star ....

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Clinky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Up from London, we recently stayed in The Scotman hotel in Edinburgh and had a marvellous rest there.
We have stayed in many international hotels of 5 star quality and think this one richly deserves its status - it must surely be the best in Scotland if not the UK! From arrival to departure we were so well looked after by everyone because the staff are friendly, caring and highly professional.The hotel was very tastefully decorated for the festive season and with marble staircases and banisters together with some wonderful wood panelling, the interior is magnificent.
Our room was excellent with spectacular views of Princes St and surrounding areas giving us some magical scenes in the evening. Despite being in the city centre the room was very quiet enablling us to have a peaceful sleep.
At Dinner the food was exquisite as was the service of the staff both then and at breakfast time. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the extremely well trained staff. The GM manages this hotel with dignity, charm and obvious success. Congratulations to all. It was a truly memorable visit and I have been extolling the virtues of this hotel to anyone within earshot! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing