We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #82 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We treated ourselves to a luxury weekend in Edinburgh. It was great to walk straight out of the station into the hotel. The customer service was excellent as we left our luggage at 10am. Close attention to detail throughout - lovely White Company toiletries everywhere. The room was a generous size and full of luxury features. The pull out of a cupboard TV was a bit cumbersome. We got dinner as part of our deal which was fantastic. The only drawback was the spa which was tricky to get to and rather strange when we did. The pool was very dark and unattractive. We would certainly go back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MilesGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,336)
There are newer reviews for The Scotsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,336 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here 1 night whilst on business. Beautiful, quirky, buiding with great access to Waverley train station. The room was gorgeous, fluffy towels lots of little extras, magazines, great bed, entertainment and free wifi. Room service was excellent and the service was fantastic. Not forced, very genuine. I had a meeting here the next day and used the Vermillion space downstairs which was perfect. Woud highly recommend for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary. Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor, we requested a quiet room on one of the higher floors. We were allocated room 804 (sorry, not sure what type of room this is) but WOW is all I can say. A sauna in the bathroom!! Amazing! All the staff we met were absolute professionals. We had dinner in the hotel and we both agreed it was the best meal we have had in ages. Loved the small touches like the chocolates and card from the management. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Go for a room higher up in the building
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigspender1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and weren't disappointed. Our welcome was first class, greeted at the door by the lovely Ivor, who throughout our stay was always more than happy to help with suggestions for our weekend, and maps when we needed it. The concierge gentlemen were great too from telephone contact regarding parking directions to always being on hand to open doors for us. In fact all the staff were friendly and attentive, couldn't ask for better. Our room was wonderful - we'd asked for a quiet, wood panelled room with a view, and that's exactly what we got. It was just one of the 'classic' rooms but felt like so much more. It was huge, lovely décor with the panelling and tartan style upholstery, and was in one of the corner turrets with a great city view. Breakfast was a mighty feast, and I only wish I could've done it justice...a lovely spread of continental and cooked options, constantly replenished, even later in the morning. You get discounted parking at the Waverley car park if you stay here, which is a real bonus in a city which seems to penalise drivers with extortionate overnight parking charges. We'll definitely be back to the Scotsman, absolutely loved it! H & P Cole

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - I can imagine the rooms right on the street could be a little noisy with traf...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed for one night as part of a birthday weekend for my wife, one of the worst nights sleep we've had in a hotel.
The "king size" bed was no more than a standard double at best. The mattress had seen better days.
The room it's self was stifling hot with no way of turning the heat down, we ended up with two windows open (in January) to cool the room. The down side to that was the noise which was the lesser of the two evils!
The cleanliness left a lot to be desired, the curtains had various stains as did the carpet.
We did try to complain to the receptionist in the morning however she clearly wasn't interested in anything we had to say and dismissed us with a "that's strange, it's not normally like that". Maybe needs to brush up on her customer service skills!

Won't be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity to apologise that your stay did not meet with your expectations.

As I am unaware what room you were allocated and when exactly you stayed I cannot comment with clarity with regards to the comments you have made.

However if you would like to contact me directly I would be happy to discuss this with you.

Kind regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here for a 2 night weekend break with friends. The hotel is absolutely charming and is a character in itself, we had a Publisher Suite and the Baron Suite which was split over two levels and is just amazing. All the staff are so friendly , welcoming and genuinely interested in their guests. As someone who stays in hotels all around the world for business it was a delight to visit a hotel in my home country and feel proud that the Scottish hospitality in The Scotsman is just brilliant. The location is great , very central right next to Waverley train station and yet the rooms were so quiet. The Spa is lovely, although we left it too late to book treatments ,we were able to enjoy the Spa facilities as guests of the hotel , another huge bonus. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 803 Baron Suite , split over two levels , its like having your own apartment with separate dini...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

Once again thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel from the 11th to the 13th January. What an amazing place. From the moment we walked up to the entrance to the time we left the staff were friendly, very welcoming, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Afternoon tea was fabulous! The room was a delight.
Highly recommended and we will definitely go back. Whatever 'formula' the hotel uses they have got it spot on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewforrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your kind words regarding your stay with us, its always a pleasure hear that our guests have had such an enjoyable stay.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest regards
Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,662 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £138 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing