We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaming in the gloaming”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

On entering the less than imposing foyer of The Scotsman I almost felt like clocking in for a day shift on the hotstone of the once HQ of the noble tabloid, gloomy is an apt description.
The staff were personable enough and we were taken to our room ,no 609 by a very smart young man. Senior management in the shape of my wife suggested the room was dour and a tad depressing, the view of the back of the hotel was only missing some guard towers and barbed wire. Still with a light heart we set of to the brasserie for dinner, and whilst having a pre dinner beverage there decided that it was too cold to sit there for long. We decanted to the foyer where there was a fire. I would like to say that it was roaring away but the best it could manage was a gentle glow, perhaps a management meeting was required to add more coal.
And so back into the brasserie for dinner where my wife thought that the hand dived scallops would be the ideal starter, it was ordered and along it came and gave a wonderful solo performance, yes dear reader, there was only one, accompanied by a one inch square of belly pork and some stuff dabbed round the side of the plate. At nearly twelve pounds this has to be the most expensive scallop in the world. The main course was fine, the wine slightly overpriced, but then what hotel doesn't? We made up for the general air of gloom at the Scotsman by taking ourselves of to a pub round the corner for whiskies and live music. The one night stay at The Scotsman wasn;t cheap, we had paid for an upgrade to an executive suite, I don't know what kind of executives go to Edinburgh but I can't see them putting up with that. We met clients the next day for lunch at a different hotel I don't think it would be fair of me to mention it's name but by George it was splendid and we will undoubtedly stay there on our next visit. A final note from senior management about The Scotsman,,"Quite a bit up itself" she suggested

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripstar500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

So I am on a mission to find the best afternoon tea in Edinburgh. This is my 3rd place and so far the best. Best sandwiches (both in quantity and variety), very large scone, refills of tea and coffee, large glass of bubbly and the cutest selection of tiny cakes so far. It was on a deal and slightly dearer than the first 2 I tried but sometimes you do get what you pay for. The service was exceptional and very charming. Having gone in the wrong door one member of staff actually got up and physically took me to the right place. Also on booking when I couldn't get an answer from the restaurant someone actually went to book it himself and phoned me back. Already checked out their full menu and will definitely go back. This was a voucher deal but would happily pay full price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We just got back from a break away to Edinburgh as we go a few times a year and like to try out different hotels each time , we stayed last night at the Scotsman
On arriving early as we had to check out of our 1st hotel - we where greeted by some lovely front of house staff where we left our luggage and we had booked in for afternoon tea which was nice enough but not on par with some of the other hotels we have been to for afternoon tea in
After this we where taking to our room again by a very nice member of the front of house staff but I have got to say was highly disappointed as we had booked this room through last minute.com and not direct with the hotel we really felt like we where given the worst room in the hotel with no view and far too hot , we felt because we had booked it with a discount site we where classed as second class and given the bargain room they find hard to let out
Upon leaving our room we saw the house keeping cleaning the room opposite with the door open and could not believe the difference compared to our room 610
I was so looking forward to staying here with my husband but felt we should of just booked 2 nights at the hotel we stayed at previous at The Bonham Hotel where we booked again on a discount site but where not treated second class and had a lovely view from the room with a fantastic Afternoon Tea and Evening Meal
We didn't complain as we felt there would be no point because we got a slight discount on the room we felt we where given the worst room of the hotel which is a shame as we had so high expectations of this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shellpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here while in town to see the Lion King, the hotel has mixed reviews, but we had an excellent stay and our room was lovely. We had a small touret room attached that overlooked Calton Hill and Waverly. I really enjoyed the quirkiness and the fact that the hotel was different from the norm. Breakfast was excellent as well, overall an enjoyable stay. Well worth a visit...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the scotsmans for our honeymoon for 3 nights. We were upgraded into a lovely room and were given chocolates and rose petals on the bed. The room was luxurious, extremely clean and cosy. The spa was quiet and a real treat. The staff were so nice. Looking young for our ages we don't always receive the same respect as older people but here we felt as though we were being treated like royalty! The location was great and so was everything's out the hotel!would definitely stay again and recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 123456nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, customer service at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your positive comments regarding your stay with us at The Scotsman.
Knowing how important time away with your loved ones is I was very pleased to see that you were made to ‘feel like royalty’ throughout your stay. We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these.
I am glad you will stay again and ask that you contact the hotel directly where our reservations team will be happy to take care of your booking for you.

Kindest regards
Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Marti, my wife, and I returned to The Scotsman for the 3rd time in 5 years and experienced another superb time. Their location is perfect being 1/2 block from the Royal Mile and looking out to the historic clock tower. The building is historic and in great condition, the rooms are top quality. The staff is both personable and processional with the best of the best regarding service. Anderw, the general manager, and Egor who greets you at the entrance are special. The restaurant has and excellent menu and you dont want to miss the breakfast buffet. The only disappointment on this our 3rd trip is that they have discontinued offering a complimentary glass of Scotch when you check in. This was most special and emphasized their personalized service and started your stay on a joyous beginning.
We will be returning for the 4th time this June 2014 and hope they have reinstituted the complimentary Scotch welcome.

Glyn and Marti Brown
West Linn, Oregon USA

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the 4th floor or higher overlooking the old clock tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brwnglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We treated ourselves to a luxury weekend in Edinburgh. It was great to walk straight out of the station into the hotel. The customer service was excellent as we left our luggage at 10am. Close attention to detail throughout - lovely White Company toiletries everywhere. The room was a generous size and full of luxury features. The pull out of a cupboard TV was a bit cumbersome. We got dinner as part of our deal which was fantastic. The only drawback was the spa which was tricky to get to and rather strange when we did. The pool was very dark and unattractive. We would certainly go back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MilesGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,044 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,095 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £101 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing