We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic staff”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #89 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Scotsman. My wife had booked the stay for my 40th birthday and the staff upgraded us to one of their suites on the 4th floor. The room was huge and the the wood panelling and decor adding to the history of this grand hotel.

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, with many of the cities sights and restaurants well within walking distance. The Brasserie bar is a good starting off point to explore the city with a range of well made cocktails which helped kick the night off...

Breakfast was well catered for with a range of cooked and continental plates on offer, and an endless supply of freshly made coffee..

We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but went to a few of the nearby restaurants, recommended by the doorman Ivor, who is a real credit to the hotel.

In fact, all of the staff went out of their way to makes this trip really special for us and I'd happily recommend a stay here....

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    602
    317
    158
    109
See reviews for
309
1,278
99
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just back from a two night special deal and we were not disappointed. The room was quite small but bed was comfortable and they made good use of the space.Fresh decor and a modern bathroom with White Company toiletries.Checking in was quick and we were shown to our room and informed of all the amenities we had the use of. The service the whole weekend was excellent and many hotels could learn from them. My wife loved the spa treatments and the facilities and no high pressure sales to buy products. We had afternoon tea in the drawing room and we had special requirements which were met with no fuss and again the service was excellent. The highlight for us was dinner in the Brasserie where the quality and taste was fantastic,credit to the head chef and his team on the food they produce. As it was a birthday treat for my wife we both agreed that it was not the cheapest but one of the best breaks we have had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifeWasps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your kind words detailed in your recent review, feedback is very important but when it is so positive it’s such a pleasure to read!

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

Our Executive Head Chef, Paul Hart prides himself on working with local Scottish suppliers to build an imaginative and modern menu that has a twist on many of your traditional Scottish favourites I am glad to hear you were able to experience this.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I am glad you choose the Scotsman for such a special occasion.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed for what was meant to be a romantic weekend away, only to be kier awake by the dj, spoke to reception 5 times asked for a manager to come to our room, no one arrived, my partner had to go to reception on a number of times through the night as we could not sleep from the noise, for a 5 star hotel and the mints we paid the service was terrible

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saffy1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments.

I am unaware of what date you stayed with us I cannot comment with clarity, I am very keen however to have some further information regarding this so I would ask that you please contact myself directly.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Highlands
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Just spent two nights on a special deal. Our room was disappointingly small for a five star hotel but it was clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is ideal. Just two minutes walk from Princes Street and the Royal Mile. My meal on the first night was good but my wife's was disappointing. Smoked salmon was looking a bit tired and the duck was tough. The staff couldn't have been better. Very friendly and helpful. The Spa and pool were lovely although a bit more lighting in the pool would have been good. It was like swimming in the dark. Would we go back? Only if there was another deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHighlandsCrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.

We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
I will pass your comments onto our head chef regarding the comments you have made about your wife’s meal.

I hope that you will choose to return to stay with us and ask that if you contact the hotel directly where they will be able to offer you the best rates available and advice on any future offers.

Kindest regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We visited for a spa afternoon and afternoon tea yesterday and was mildly disappointed. The staff were super friendly and helpful but the moment we entered the spa there was a damp horrid smell. It was extremely busy and almost impossible to find a locker and the changing rooms were littered with used towels, hairs all over showers and needed a good tidy. Staff must see this or should check when so busy. I thought generally the place needed a good clean and paint as scuffed, dirty marks on carpet etc and this was also the same in the disabled WC upstairs beside reception ( back of door scuffed, splash marks on wall). Not 5 star but very friendly staff. Our afternoon tea was good – not great as sandwiches a bit mean on filling and some dried at the ends but fab scones and cakes and again lovely staff. This was a gift from a discount website so at that price acceptable but I would have been unhappy if I had paid full price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

On arrival I was shown to my room (805) by a very polite man who carried my bags all the way to the eighth floor as the lift was broken. The room was incredibly clean and staff visited many times throughout the day to clean, restock the mini bar and fold clothes. Every time you enter the hotel you are welcomed warmly. Towels and robes were clean and changed daily, and samples restocked. The location was perfect as I came for a shopping trip, and when ever I had too many shopping bags I could comeback to my room and leave them. It is also in a prime location as it right next to the train station and Edinburgh dungeons! All staff could not be any more helpful. The range of cocktails in the brassier were magic and we had dinner in the hotel 1/2 nights,which was great. I highly recommend this hotel and deffo will be back! Brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paigemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay at the Scotsman hotel.
Delighted to see the wonderful doorman Ivor again,a true Scottish welcome.
Stayed over Burns weekend,we were greeted with a dram on arrival an upgrade to a Director Suite.amazing room and the views were great.
Had a fabulous dinner again.
Great hotel,we felt very welcome.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HMF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
661 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing