We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service and cocktails!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service and cocktails!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I were so impressed with our reception at the hotel; with the beautiful reception area and friendly service we had high expectations. We had booked the standard double and it was a well laid out room - very compact but had everything we needed. Our only issue was that the bed was very small, my husband is 6ft 4 and his ankles were dangling over the edge of the bed! The room was also very hot no matter even when we turned the radiator down.
Aside from the room we also ended our night out in the bar/restaurant downstairs and had the yummiest cocktails and would definitely recommend a visit! It is also in an excellent location!
I think we would go back but would probably ring to check that a more expensive room had a longer bed!

Room Tip: If you're tall I'd ring to check about the size of the bed in the room you've booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynseyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    581
    305
    154
    104
See reviews for
292
1,242
96
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Had a first class night here. Took a notion to stay and loved it! Very reasonable and the staff were so attentive. We will definitely be back soon. Lovely room, great selection of food and drink and we really were treated like valued customers!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KingOfEdinburgh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Chose The Scotsman for afternoon tea on a recent short break with my husband and young daughter as a treat. Phoned to pre-book and we were excited upon arrival. Unfortunately sat in the corner of the brasserie with food stained chairs (unsure why not clean!). Food arrived and the scones and tarts nicely presented however sandwiches boring with poor quality filling (salmon so chewy and fatty that had to leave as very off-putting!) Although plenty of staff around we were left until I asked for the bill. Mentioned about the sandwiches which we were told our comments would be passed on to the chef. Overall very disappointing experience (setting, service and quality) definitely not worth £39.90 paid.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ch1mp1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

we stayed here for my sister hen do last sat. The hotel is just wonderful with its open fire in the reception with its marble staircases. its very special. From start to finish the staff were amazing. nothing was to much trouble.there was always someone there to ask or show u were u needed to be. Food was excellent. we had our own dining room. and were made to feel very relax. The breakfast was great with a good selection. Rooms were very thought out. with everything u needed. extremly clean. beds were very snuggley.views were wonderful.it so deserves its 5 star rating. i can not wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmawalker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The room was a big room for me and my partner! The room had a television iron and massive cupboard space, the fridge was fully stocked and the room/bathroom was clean and tidy for us arriving. There was no noises that disturbed our nights sleep also. We had no problems with our stay at all and highly enjoyed the visit we made. Staff at reception came across welcoming also!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel for Valentines as a treat. First impressions are very good, the hotel lobby is very beautiful, and the staff were extremely helpful. We were shown up to our suite, which had a fabulous view of North Bridge and the Balmoral opposite. The suite was lovely, very tastefully decorated. My only gripe would be that there were black marks all along the wall next to the dining table-presumably from bags brushing against the wall. For a hotel of this calibre I would have not expected this.

We had booked a spa appointment for a massage, and were not disappointed. The spa area is very nice, although I do have to say that there was a bit of a smell of drains about the place. presumably this is because it is a very old building?

We went out for dinner, and later on we returned to the brasserie area. Service was very good, and the drinks reasonable. We went to bed around 1am, but were a bit disappointed to be kept awake by the loud music from the club downstairs. A call to the front desk was met with a response, but this had to be followed up at 3am when the music was still blaring. The next morning the hotel did offer us an hour later checkout because of this, but to be honest we were not able to take advantage of this as we had plans.

The hotel is in an excellent location for central Edinburgh, in particular to Waverly station. In addition there are a number of excellent eateries on the Royal Mile within a brief walk.

I really enjoyed this hotel, and the staff were excellent. However, the club noise and drain smell in the spa did detract a small amount of pleasure from our experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pimmscass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Scotsman. My wife had booked the stay for my 40th birthday and the staff upgraded us to one of their suites on the 4th floor. The room was huge and the the wood panelling and decor adding to the history of this grand hotel.

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, with many of the cities sights and restaurants well within walking distance. The Brasserie bar is a good starting off point to explore the city with a range of well made cocktails which helped kick the night off...

Breakfast was well catered for with a range of cooked and continental plates on offer, and an endless supply of freshly made coffee..

We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but went to a few of the nearby restaurants, recommended by the doorman Ivor, who is a real credit to the hotel.

In fact, all of the staff went out of their way to makes this trip really special for us and I'd happily recommend a stay here....

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing