We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Review is for the spa experience at the Scotsman”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #91 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Kinghorn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Review is for the spa experience at the Scotsman”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I enjoyed a spa day and lunch with my mother today at the Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh. Firstly, the location is excellent right next to the train station and the back entrance to the spa is even closer! When we arrived the staff seemed to be quite confused however once I explained they seemed to have found our booking. The reception area of the spa is lovely and welcoming and the changing facilities were very clean and were equipped with everything you would want. When arriving we were handed robes and slippers (nice touch) however I was a little disappointed as I was given a robe which was clearly too big for me and had belt holes missing. The spa area itself was excellent, lovely pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. In the spa an incident happened where my mother was alerted to call a member of staff, this staff member seemed very rude and not very helpful regarding the situation. When booking this voucher it was stated we would have a soft drink/smoothie in the spa area included in the price. However, no one approached us with this and it was later when returning home that we remembered about this or we would have approached a member of staff and requested them ourselves. Moving on to lunch, we had a 2 course lunch in the North Bridge Brasserie which was fabulous, we both really enjoyed the food and the attentive service. When it came to paying for the bill, the staff seemed confused and put our meals/drinks on the bill. However, I had already paid for the meal through the voucher. Again, they seemed to be confused through the use of the voucher. Overall, this is a wonderful spa and wonderful lunch but was ever so slightly let down by the confusion of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman spa and North Bridge brasserie. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

I am glad you enjoyed your spa day and lunch with us and I hope you left feeling rested and relaxed!

I am very disappointed to hear that the member of staff you approached In the spa was rude and not very helpful, please be assured our staff are trained to the highest levels and this is not the normal ‘scotsman welcome’

I hope that you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    590
    311
    157
    108
See reviews for
300
1,261
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with my wife and daughter. We stayed in a suite which offered a king size bed and a bed settee for my daughter in addition to table chairs and a dressing table. The ensuite was a terrific size and the shower was always hot and good water pressure. Both my wife and I took advantage of the spa, my wife package included high tea for two but they managed to squeeze in a little girl at no extra cost. We were very pleased over all and would most definitely return

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
I am glad you were both able to take advantage of our spa, we are very lucky to have such a wonderful spa and gym including scotland’s first ever stainless steel swimming pool.

I am glad to hear you will return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel markets itself as five star but it is far from this. Aside from a swimming pool and spa it is at best a three star and needs to take a long look at itself in its poor service and so so rooms.

We stayed here for one night with two other couples only returning yesterday after a great couple of days in the beautiful city of Edinburgh which was only slightly spoilt by the Scotsman Hotel.

On arrival at noon we were shown to our rooms passing some left out trays from room service outside other guests' rooms. These were still present many hours later making me wonder if anyone ever checks the corridors. Not a pleasant sight and small problem in the scheme of things but a sign of the things to come.

Out of our three double rooms, two rooms were only given one set of towels and one bathrobe. When I rang down for another set for our room I was told that a set would be sent up but after waiting half an hour I had to resort to using my wife's used, wet towel after a shower. When I mentioned this to the reception they said that they got the message and were going to send a set up later. How much later? Why could this not have been done when I contacted reception. I would have thought it would be obvious in the early evening that when someone rings for a towel set they are wanting it pretty soon! Once again this was irritating and a poor oversight and slightly unforgivable in view that two of the party's three double rooms were affected. Smacked of disinterest in the guest to me.

When we had booked the hotel we arranged for six massage sessions (one for each of us) and were told that we would get these at a 35% discount. After our massages in the spa we mentioned this discount and were told that it would be honoured. On check out this discount was missed off and it took for us to mention it once again. It was apparent that there is no communication between anyone in the hotel and no notes are made of conversations with guests potentially leading to misunderstandings and embarrassing situations. It is not nice to have to keep asking for a discount which we were told we were entitled to. At £80 full price, the massages would have been expensive! The massage quality appeared to be variable in quality from good to weak and poor so no quality control here.

The spa itself and the health club were extensive with a good choice of exercise machines and classes but this is where another issue arose. All six of us in the party wanted to do an advertised early morning yoga class at 7am (we are keen yogis) but were told that there was a chance that this might not be on and to phone up the next morning before 7am to check. A good quality hotel would have made it a point to check for us and made contact one way or the other to tell us the night before if this was going ahead rather than having us make the effort in the early morning to find out. We had been told that this was a busy class too and that there might not have been space. In reality the class did not materialise. Poor service yet again.

Breakfast was really very good and substantial and we could have a choice of buffet with full Scottish sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, cereal etc. we could also order off the menu and have eggs benedict, haggis, kippers etc. Very pleasant and tasty indeed. The big disappointment here though was the maitre d' who was extremely grizzly and unwelcoming. We arrived as a group in the morning and after waiting for a while to be shown to a table for six decided that as no one seemed to be in attendance we would push three free tables set for two together to make a larger group table. When the maitre d' finally arrived he looked haughty and unhappy and we mentioned to him that we had pushed the tables together and hoped that it was alright (as he looked miserable and irritated!). The reply of 'it will have to be now' followed by mutterings of 'it makes it very difficult in clearing the tables...'. Made us respond by saying we would push the tables back when we had finished which we duly did on completion. Why could the hotel not have a more pleasant front room member of staff with a 'can-do' attitude? We did notice that other guests were having to wait quite a while to be seated and the maitre d' never smiled once during breakfast and seemed aggressive towards his own staff shouting for the chef etc.

The rooms in the hotel seemed tired and could do with a makeover. Our room had no ventilation and we set our thermostat to the coolest setting as the weather was warm but this made no difference as the room was still stuffy and hot all night. When we tried to open the window in the night we realised that being an old building there were two sets and we were unable to open the outer window as it would have involved us literally climbing on the table and sitting on a wall to open the outer one! Poor ventilation meant a poor quality of sleep.

The bathroom seemed a bit more modern with nice White Company toiletries. The hot water took some time to come through but this is due to the age of the hotel and the plumbing I would wonder.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the central part of tourist Edinburgh and close to Waverley Station. I would possibly have given only a one star rating for the lack of service, inefficiency of the hotel and lack of attention to detail, but I give it a two star rating as the breakfast deserves an extra star.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.
I would like to apologise about the service that you received during your stay with us; we take a great pride in training our staff to the highest levels and it concerns me to hear that you were not treated to the 5 star services we normally offer.
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience with us and would ask that to better serve in the future that you contact me directly where I can respond to the points you have made and apologise directly to you.

If this would be suitable you can contact me by calling the hotel directly where they will be happy to direct your call to me.

Once again thank you and I look forward to speaking to you.

Kindest regards

Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graested, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Simply perfect. When we arrived we were welcomed by Nick and guided to our room - ask for room 702 - with the best view in Edinburgh. The service was personal and excellent. Free internet, complementary water, friendly staff, clean room, excellent restaurant. Five well deserved stars!

Room Tip: Room 702 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services and administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness especially our concierge.

I hope we will be given the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards

Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely old building and very pleasant staff, but didn't really have a five star feel. Spa is a little basic, rather a gloomy pool with a small Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Gym looked very good if you really want that on holiday. The restaurant (North Bridge Brasserie) was disappointing and expensive for dinner but served a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Quirky layout so difficult to specify a room unless you know the place well. Rear ovelooks the stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that this did not meet with your expectations and I hope that we will be given the chance to change your opinion in the future.

If you do decide to stay with us again please contact the hotel directly where they will be happy to take care of your booking and stay with us.

Kindest regards

Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My brother and his wife recently stayed at the Scotsman for their anniversary.
I arranged for a bottle of Prosecco to be put in the room on their arrival. There was a slight mix up with this but was very quickly and efficiently rectified.
On knowing it was their anniversary, the member of staff I had contacted upgraded their room.
Although I have not stayed there yet, I am very impressed by the level of service and attentiveness shown by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGIUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your family’s stay with us. I am sorry there seems to have been a small mix up with the prosseco but I am glad to hear this was quickly and efficiently rectified.
I am glad we could make their anniversary special and I hope that if you get the chance to stay with us you contact the hotel directly where we can take care of your booking for you directly.

Kindest regards

Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely big room, super comfy bed, great bathroom. Service impeccable in the hotel and spa - well worth having a swim and sauna in the basement! This hotel has a great location and the concierge was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was good but the maitre d' needs some serious customer service training - grumpy and dismissive at lunch and breakfast. Bad idea to offer only a set menu for lunch in the brasserie as not everyone wants that and so we had to go out for a snack. The maitre d' was clearly annoyed and unable to recommend anywhere other than a Pizzahut! Lots of lovely pubs on the Royal Mile to choose from.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

I was sorry to read that the service you received did not meet with you personal expectations, as you can see from the majority of reviews on websites such as trip advisor we are proudly known for our 5 star standard of service and I would like to apologise if you feel you did not receive this. Your feedback will be passed onto our restaurant manager.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future and thank you once again for taking the time.

Kindest regards

Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing