We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #83 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I'm a bit of a 5-star hotel snob and after reading some reviews was a little nervous about staying here. However, I loved this hotel.

It's lovely and cosy - exactly what you need when you have been walking around Edinburgh on a drizzly Spring day! The location is fantastic.

We found the staff were very very attentive and helpful.

The hotel does feel lived-in, but I felt in a really lovely way. It has a slight 'country house' feel even though it's in the heart of the city. It is very clean and well equipped with lovely toiletries, tea/ coffee, minibar, etc.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but we did use the spa facilities. There are amazing fitness facilities, which we didn't use, but the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were lovely. The only issues I had were that we found it really difficult to find our way to the spa (although it was nice to explore the hotel on the way). Also, the spa itself is quite cold - it might be to do with it being in the basement area or the stainless steel pool. If you can, take slippers and a robe from your room because as a guest, you will only receive a towel. I sat and read on the loungers and it was rather nippy"

All that said, I would most definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy_davidson_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
I am glad you were able to take advantage and relax at our pool area, we are very lucky being a city centre hotel to have such wonderful Spa and leisure facilities, perfect way to end a busy day walking around Edinburgh!

Once again thank you for your kind review and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,334)
There are newer reviews for The Scotsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just got home from the Scotsman and we want to go back already.

I had booked the hotel to treat my wife as it was her 30th Birthday and we where not dissappointed in the slightest.

I had called the hotel the day before because I hoped that I could drop of a birthday cake from Bibi's Bakery. Reception could not do enough and said they would make sure it was in the room on arrival and they would store it overnight.

When we arrived Barry came right out and took are bags to reception helped us get checked in. Now I had booked a standard room dinner bed and breakfast, when Barry took us to the lift however he said that we would be going to the 8th floor (top floor on the west side) then when we got to the room we could see that this was no standard room but the most beautiful suite livingroom down stairs bedroom upstairs. Barry then presented the cake (Knife and plates left out with the cake) to my wife and gave us a tour of our room. We had a good look around such an amazing room and then Barry arrived back to present us with champagne was so unexpected and so nice.

The Spa was very nice so peaceful we could really relax.

Dinner was also amazing never really having done fine dining before if felt like we were eating on Master chef food and service was amazing nothing was to much trouble we where both so full. Still managed some drinks in the bar My wife asked for something not on the cocktail menu however bar man said it wouldn't be a problem and they must have been nice as she had 3.

We decided to have breakfast in our room which was again amazing full scottish was to die for and my wifes waffles disappeared in minutes.

This hotel is by far the best we have stayed and although we live on the outskirts of Edinburgh I know we will be going back as the quaility of the staff and hotel really shines through. Every member of staff we passed would make sure we where ok and was there anything we needed the only other country we have experianced this is America. The Scotsman staff even out shined them could not have been happier choosing The Scotsman for such a special day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us, knowing how important time away with your loved ones is I was very pleased to see that we could make such a special occasion so special for you and your wife. We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these.

I would like to thank you for your kind compliments with regards to all of our staff and in particular Barry I will personally pass these onto Barry as well as our Front of house manager. I was delighted to read that all of your requests were met and we were able to Upgrade you to our fabulous directors suites, which is personally one of my favourites.

Our Executive Head Chef, Paul Hart prides himself on working with local Scottish suppliers to build an imaginative and modern menu that has a twist on many of your traditional Scottish favourites,

I hope that when you do return to visit us you will contact the hotel directly and we can offer you the best available rate.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for short city-break in the hotel.
On the plus side, location, spa and quality of food in restaurant at night and in the morning.
On the negative side,this Tuesday 15/4/14 a very rude maitre de at breakfast, bossy, rude and clearly not interested in anyone but himself. The rooms are clean, but tired and the basics like adequate towels and robes were deficient.
If I was going for a special weekend to Edinburgh I go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RjCorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

I would like to apologise about the service that you received during your stay with us; we take a great pride in training our staff to the highest levels and it concerns me to hear that you were not treated to the 5 star services we normally offer.
I sorry to hear that you wouldn’t return for a special weekend to Edinburgh! I hope that you will change your mind and we can have the opportunity to show you the true Scotsman experience.

Kind regards
Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Edinburgh for our anniversary. We stayed there for one night and the experience was great. The Scotsman is located right outside the Waverley rail station and between the Royal Mile and Princes street, so you can walk to most places like the Castle, Greyfriars graveyard, the Scott monument on Princes street etc.
The pool and hot tub located in the hotel spa were simply amazing as well as the eating areas - so majestic. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and complementary ingredients for various drinks were provided. Very clean and tidy room, very nicely decorated with an amazing view above the station, Princes street and the beautiful Balmoral hotel. Even though it is next to the North Bridge it is very quiet. We were given the option to pre-order our breakfast the previous evening for the next morning and for an extra £5 our breakfast (which was included in the room price) was brought to our room.
It's an ideal hotel for couples whether it's for a special occasion or not. They make you feel really pampered. The location and price is great in my opinion. I would recommend it and the next time I visit Edinburgh I shall stay there again, I think.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy9409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
As you point out we are very privileged to occupy such a fantastic city centre location, being close to the historical centre, fabulous shopping and very easy access to the train station.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.
I am glad that you will return to stay with us and ask that you contact the hotel directly where we can look after your booking directly and offer you the best available rate.

Kindest regards

Laura cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Beautiful room overlooking Princess Street, and would highly recommend the upgrade. Quirky Hotel with some lovely touches, excellent reception and check-in. On business and therefore only meal we had was breakfast. Slight confused message from buffet service to kitchen service. We had to laugh when we asked for toast and got hot bread!
Recommend for repeat visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive review regarding your stay with us at The Scotsman. I am glad you had an enjoyable experience and I hope that we will be able to welcome you once again.

Kindest regards
Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I enjoyed a spa day and lunch with my mother today at the Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh. Firstly, the location is excellent right next to the train station and the back entrance to the spa is even closer! When we arrived the staff seemed to be quite confused however once I explained they seemed to have found our booking. The reception area of the spa is lovely and welcoming and the changing facilities were very clean and were equipped with everything you would want. When arriving we were handed robes and slippers (nice touch) however I was a little disappointed as I was given a robe which was clearly too big for me and had belt holes missing. The spa area itself was excellent, lovely pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. In the spa an incident happened where my mother was alerted to call a member of staff, this staff member seemed very rude and not very helpful regarding the situation. When booking this voucher it was stated we would have a soft drink/smoothie in the spa area included in the price. However, no one approached us with this and it was later when returning home that we remembered about this or we would have approached a member of staff and requested them ourselves. Moving on to lunch, we had a 2 course lunch in the North Bridge Brasserie which was fabulous, we both really enjoyed the food and the attentive service. When it came to paying for the bill, the staff seemed confused and put our meals/drinks on the bill. However, I had already paid for the meal through the voucher. Again, they seemed to be confused through the use of the voucher. Overall, this is a wonderful spa and wonderful lunch but was ever so slightly let down by the confusion of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman spa and North Bridge brasserie. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

I am glad you enjoyed your spa day and lunch with us and I hope you left feeling rested and relaxed!

I am very disappointed to hear that the member of staff you approached In the spa was rude and not very helpful, please be assured our staff are trained to the highest levels and this is not the normal ‘scotsman welcome’

I hope that you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights with my wife and daughter. We stayed in a suite which offered a king size bed and a bed settee for my daughter in addition to table chairs and a dressing table. The ensuite was a terrific size and the shower was always hot and good water pressure. Both my wife and I took advantage of the spa, my wife package included high tea for two but they managed to squeeze in a little girl at no extra cost. We were very pleased over all and would most definitely return

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
I am glad you were both able to take advantage of our spa, we are very lucky to have such a wonderful spa and gym including scotland’s first ever stainless steel swimming pool.

I am glad to hear you will return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,851 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#63 of 150 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £141 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing