We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Five Star Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner and parents for the weekend a joint birthday celebration. We had 2 rooms on the 9th floor with wonderful views over North Bridge and the more distant coast. The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. They went the extra mile to give us a lovely stay. The location is brilliant for central Edinburgh and all the attractions. The breakfast is the best I have had in many years. Wonderful comfortable beds and White Company toiletries in the bathroom. We also had the afternoon tea which I really enjoyed. Despite being on North Bridge the rooms were quiet so peaceful too. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a stay for a special occasion.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a lovely view and are also surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieradiostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you had such a enjoyable stay is an added bonus; we hope to welcome you back to the Scotsman Hotel in the future.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    581
    305
    154
    104
See reviews for
293
1,242
96
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect, practically in the middle of the royal mile and 100 yards from the centeal Waverly train station and the non stop aiprt express airlink bus stop. Service is friendly an and concierge superb. Rooms are spacious but a bit dated and old fashioned and have funny quirks. Restaurant/bar is OK, but adminsters very funny policy if you are part of a group of 7 or more. Wifi complimentary thpugh the swisscom log in procedure is cumbersome.

Helpful?
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, customer service and administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us at The Scotsman.

As you point out we are very privileged to occupy such a fantastic location in Edinburgh city centre being so close to the transport services is an extra bonus.

I thank you for your time and I hope you will return to visit us.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lothians
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had the perfect lunch,friendly and discrete service,delicious food,extremely good value, central location- highly recommend this venue.perfect blend of Edinburgh history served with a modern twist..Just off the Royal Mile and a few minutes walk from Waverley station

Room Tip: We did not stay so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the hotel. Without hesitation we have enjoyed the staff and genuine hospitality even when there were a few blips in the plan. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Every wish was granted and surpassed our expectations. You'll find that the quietest rooms are not on the North Bridge side. Ask for a paneled room that has lots of Scottish character. It is our home away from home in a fantastic City centre location.

Room Tip: Rooms away from North Bridge are quietest. Request a room facing the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at The Scotsman Hotel. It’s lovely to hear that you can class the Scotsman as your home away from home.

I am glad our staff went above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth stay!

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have stayed at the Scotsman multiple times over the last 10 years. It is still a great hotel, good service, excellent location, clean, etc. But the last few visits something has been missing, it has lost the 5* appeal it once had. No longer does paying the extra money compared to other hotels seem worthwhile. A genuine shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyWooWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments. It’s disappointing to hear that you feel something is missing, and that the hotel has lost its 5* appeal. I would be very keen to hear your thoughts and would like to ask that if you have the time can you please contact myself with further information.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights In April. The location is excellent, right next to the train station so perfect after a long journey. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building former home of " The Scotsman" newspaper. Lots of references to this throughout the hotel. The charm of staying here is the atmosphere and the quirky rooms. Our room had a study area in the turret with great views of Calton Hill, up North Bridge and down to Princes Street. Although the bathroom was modern the waterworks were a bit noisy but that is to be expected in an old building so it didn't distract from a lovely stay.The staff were extremely helpful and polite, couldn't do enough to help us. Breakfasts were lovely. I can recommend the Eggs Benedict. The swimming pool area was in the spa that was up down the lift, along a passage and up another lift; once there it was well worth the effort. Large, empty and very well kept. It is a little dark down there but that added to the general relaxed ambience. Overall a lovely stay in a beautiful city that I would be happy to recommend.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a room with a view of the city life below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliSheffield_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

As you point out we are very privileged to occupy such a fantastic city centre location, being close to the historical centre, fabulous shopping and very easy access to the train station and also the fabulous views we also have!

We look forward to welcoming you back and I would like to thank you once again for your kind words.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked a two night stay over the May bank holiday Greeting and check in very helpful. However -room was very disppointing. Small and cramped and extremely warm, so warm that we had to sleep both nights with the windows wide open and that was with the radiators completed turned off. Bathroom very dark with one of the bulbs out and wasn't changed. Didn't take breakfast or use spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niromax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to relay you experience with regards to your stay with us at The Scotsman.
I am sorry you felt your room was disappointing, As the Scotsman, we were originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. This means that all of our rooms are individually sized and styled, not one of our room is the same as another. I hope that if you do choose to stay with us again you contact us directly and we will be able to ensure you are allocated a difference category of room.
I am unaware of which room you were allocated so I cannot comment with clarity with regards to the heating; I can assure you however though that our maintenance team frequently check the individual heating systems in each room to ensure these are operating as should be. I am sorry this was not set to a level comfortable to you.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us, and if so we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing