We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful rooms and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #87 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful rooms and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Amazing rooms but ask for one high up as the noise at night from all the stag and hen do's can be loud (I am sure all hotels suffer from this). The staff were brilliant. Lovely atmosphere.
Only downside and reason for not giving 5 stars is the breakfast was dissappointing. Tasteless eggs benedict one morning, soggy and oily fry up the next. Usual selection of cereals, fruit and juices was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    581
    305
    154
    104
See reviews for
293
1,242
96
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel occupies the old newspaper headquarters in the centre of Edinburgh.The usual split level architecture of that city.Within walking distance of all the main sites.
The conversion gives some odd rooms , our suite was small windowed but full of character and lots of space.There is a Brasserie type restaurant with a good wine list and superb breakfasts including Haggis .
The front of house staff are superb with a good set of local contacts they can use for you.The concierge team can advise on things like tickets and restaurant seats even when "fully booked".
Nice spa suite although the vagaries of the building hide it away.Go with the odd lift plan , it is part of the charm.
TOP TIP Book Edinburgh castle on line before arrival and avoid the queues by printing e ticket and going straight to inner gate.

Room Tip: Top floors for views but lower floors have some great interesting rooms and suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moleBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Always loved the Scotsman for cocktails and amazing food. Didn't think over 8 years it could get better. But with the arrival of Ruben Casals, the extraordinary cocktail waiter, it certainly has. His knowledge and attention to detail knocked us out! We left feeling a real warmth of wanting to return and longing to see Ruben again and feel comfortable in his expertise and recommendations from his cocktail portfolio. Long may he reign at The Scotsman. A return visit is beckoning very soon. Ruben, stay put!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delboyandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

It's across the street from Waverley Station in one direction, a few steps from the Royal Mile in the other direction. I had Room 306, which is better described as a suite. Very large with a desk area overlooking the bridge and a handicap-accessible bathroom that has a great shower/tub. The room was always serviced promptly (how do they know if I'm gone for an hour or 8?). They have switches to control nightlights right at the bed and you can always notify housekeeping not to disturb you by touching a switch (great for overcoming jetlag if you're crossing eight time zones, as I did).

The restaurant in the hotel is good.

Use the elevator to ascend from Market Street to reception! Or, haul your bags (ugh) up five flights of slippery marble steps.

Kathy Noltze
Arizona

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0ltze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We are very lucky to occupy such a fabulous city centre location just a short walk away from all sightseeing hot spots.

I hope that you will visit us again at the Scotsman and we truly look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

All about location and vibe. Large rooms with many luxurious perks. Stayed there for about a 65% discount, so the value was definitely there for me. If paying full price, I'd have expected much better maid service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintStephen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay with us at The Scotsman hotel. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman.
Kindest regards
Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Part of the satff at the Scotsman tries its best, but unfortunately housekeeping is terrible, mainteance of the room is poor, wake-up call was skipped (beware if you have a flight or a tour booked !) and management couldn't care less about complaints.

I strongly suggest to stay anywhere else...breakfast was good at least !

Room Tip: To get a good room, book in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, customer service and administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

As I am unaware of what date you stayed with us meaning I am unable to contact you directly regarding this, can i ask that you contact myself directly at the hotel where I will be able to respond fully to your comments.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for one night during a whistle stop tour of the north. This hotel is so impressive.. decor so elegant and tasteful.
The restaurant was amazing, with such a vast food & wine choice and the service perfect. The central location was fabulous to get around and about the city on foot. The room was so comfortable.. would return to stay here 100%.

Room Tip: Our room was fabulous. The bathroom was huge! The bedroom was huge! Overlooking site of train statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, customer service and administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Response
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

As you have mentioned we are very lucky to occupy such a fabulous city centre location being close to the historical centre, fabulous shopping and very easy access to the train station.

Its lovely to hear that you will return to stay with us, If you do have the opportunity please contact the hotel directly where we can offer you our best available rates.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing