We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We booked 5 rooms for 10 friends to stay to celebrate my 40th birthday. We booked ahead and got a fantastic rate. The hotel is beautiful, very impressive but also homely and welcoming. Rooms all different but great size and facilities. Amazing views over Edinburgh from our room. Breakfast was delicious in impressive surroundings and the spa is stunning. I'd like to thank all the staff for their wonderful friendly helpful manner - nothing was too
much trouble.
And the lovely send-off from Ivor with his brilliant station advice was the icing on the cake!! Will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DoctorBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,593 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with large rooms if you want to party till late.
Not suitable for families as there is a bar on the ground floor playing music till 3.00am. Very loud.
Rooms getting dated.
Staff very nice and helpful
Try somewhere else for a family visit.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My mother and I had 3 nights at this hotel during half term.
We had a lovely room 504 overlooking Princess Street and the gardens.
The room was large, but extremely warm especially at night. We ate in the Brasserie and the menu was fine but the choices didn't vary.
Breakfast was a buffet with choices that could be ordered directly from the Kitchen.
The staff were very pleasant and approachable. Just check your bill as I had gratitude added when I had tipped the staff accordingly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Dinner bed and breakfast booked as a package for our anniversary and my husbands belated birthday present turned out to be the best stay here yet. Stayed last year and couldn't fault this 5 star hotel and that's why we decided to return again; it is a hotel with history and lots of character and stories to tell....... on arrival we were upgraded to the penthouse!! What a lovely surprise and really nice gesture that made our celebrations just perfect.....
Elegant, classy, spotless, beautiful and views of edinburgh from all rooms and your own private balcony that were out of this world....didn't want leave! The penthouse is massive and has it's own sauna, library, 2 bathrooms and living room.
Concierge Ivor went out of his way to show us around and all other staff remain to be down to earth, friendly and always professional in their manner.
A must is to eat in the north bridge brasserie.....food looks amazing and tastes just as good as it looks.
Only home yesterday from this wonderful hotel and can honestly say it is faultless..... Cannot imagine not returning again to experience the gorgeous food and hospitality it has to offer.

Room Tip: I'm sure the penthouse is the best! Have stayed in the editors suite and it was a beautiful roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The building was The Scotsman Newspaper building and so the history adds to the intrigue of the hotel.
However, there were issues.
The entry throw rug was tattered on the corner nearest the elevator.
The wifi was very difficult to get on. Our poor bellman had to help us.
Speaking of bellman, they were very sweet, but one of the guys in particular really needed new shoes or at the least a shoe shine. It kind of brought down the rating for us of the hotel.
There was a note in our room that said our water bottle would be filled twice a day. It was only filled one time in our 2 or 3 ? night stay.
This can't be helped, but the window was small and high and there wasn't any sort of view.
The bedding was tired.
The phones in the room didn't work and had to be fixed while we were there.
The location of the hotel was superb and the breakfast was lovely, as was the hotel, but the last 5% in details was not good at all.

1  Thank Myra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel & very central location. We really enjoyed our trip & would recommend this hotel to anybody. Close by the buses for the airport & tour buses. Central to lovely restaurants/bars at night and of course the shops :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyyGlenside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Amazing rooms but ask for one high up as the noise at night from all the stag and hen do's can be loud (I am sure all hotels suffer from this). The staff were brilliant. Lovely atmosphere.
Only downside and reason for not giving 5 stars is the breakfast was dissappointing. Tasteless eggs benedict one morning, soggy and oily fry up the next. Usual selection of cereals, fruit and juices was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,044 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £100 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing