We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very disappointed. Had afternoon tea booked for 12 (2 gluten free) for an important family gathering, only to be told the night before that YOU WILL NOT CATER FOR GLUTEN FREE ANYMORE. No apology or alternative offer. Needless to say we have made other arrangements in a more customer friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Leeannew4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear LeaAnne,
We are very concerned that you have written such a damaging review and very much urge that you contact the hotel at your convenience to talk this over – the number to contact is 0131 556 5565 and please ask for myself.
The information that you have detailed is faculty incorrect as we offer a selection on of dietary requirement menus, one including Gluten Free.
We are proud to be working in association with Genius Food group – a key provider of Gluten Free products in the market Place and we have many Gluten Free team members at the hotel which we cater for on a daily basis.
On the day in question we have investigated your booking and we did not have any Gluten Free request from your enquiry, and due to the popularity of our Gluten Free Afternoon Tea we do encourage all guests to inform the hotel prior to arrival.
As we have stated we very much would like to discuss this further with you – we offer Gluten Free Menus both at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner service.
Thank you for your review,
Kind regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed early June with our 19 month old toddler. The room was lovely and traditional. However, it was quite noisy, the room service menu was limited and the burger was vile! It came too pink (I am pregnant) and didn't look fresh or homemade. The staff seemed a little pretentious too, especially in the breakfast room so we ate out at all times.

It's probably lovely without children but you aren't made overly welcome with.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank DogZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Scotsman.
I am sorry that you didn’t not enjoy our rooms service menu and it concerns me to hear that you felt this was served ‘Pink’ this can be cooked to the liking of each individual guest. I can assure you that if the staff were made aware of your pregnancy they would have advised the kitchen to cook this for a longer period of time.
Please be assured we are a family friendly hotel, and our staff always try to make all children feel welcome.

I hope that we can welcome you back.
Kind regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Scotsman is well situated for the station and the royal mile. The staff are exceptionally helpful. The room is well appointed with everything you could wish for. There is a button to put a do not disturb sign red light outside your room. Also a hatch so if you order room service a tray is put in the hatch so you can access it from inside your room. The room is clean, comfortable and well thought out. Although our room was a tad small, the room was well planned to fit all mod cons in.
All in all a pleasant stay, we ate breakfast outside the hotel so cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
I am glad you enjoyed our extra little touches for privacy in our rooms. All our rooms are completely different including size and furniture, The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites.
Ii hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Edinburgh is one city where you are surrounded by old buildings and then even older buildings. When they refer to the "new" town as built in the 1700s, its my kind of place! This hotel does not disappoint. Great room size, perfect location and friendly staff are just compliments to this wonderful hotel. Excellent place to stay if you are doing the tourist activities or just for a weekend out in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We had ground floor and had a great view of "New" Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Oh my God!!!!!!!!!!!
I've been in Scottish Hospitality for 35 years, I am in Edinburgh for a family and friends holiday from the USA, and never have I found and EMPTY hotel Bar and Restaurant that REFUSES accommodate a table of 7 for a quick lunch and snacks. We have used this hotel many times and I'm SHOCKED!!! What kind of business model do this manager style his business on!!! I will never take or recommend to anyone one again.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us.
We do serve lunch from the hours of noon till 2pm, however we also serve afternoon tea from noon till 430pm, I would be very surprised and disappointed if this was not offered as a alternative.

Please contact myself or our operations manager Richard Gray to discuss this further.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed one night at The Scotsman and wished it had been more. This is a hotel in the old-fashioned style, with old-fashioned staff, and it is delightful. A charming and polite young man (Fraser) brought our suitcases up to the front-facing room with a wonderful view, and proceeded to answer all our questions about the hotel, the city and their histories. He was a local, knowledgeable and coherent (we were somewhat surprised, not to say disappointed, that so many of the staff in Edinburgh hotels and shops are foreigners), and he recommended a great (and very Scottish) place for dinner (“a room in the west end and Teuchters bar”) which we much enjoyed.

The room was tastefully furnished and well equipped. The building itself is complicated, labyrinthine, and charming. We took advantage of the spa facilities, which include a huge warm pool. The breakfast was delicious, served in the picturesque and dignified dining room. If I have to find a quibble, the TV in the room wasn't working, and although I phoned down to complain, and was told someone would deal with it, they never did. But one can forgive isolated incidents like that, in the face of otherwise such pleasant service.

On returning to Edinburgh a week later we stayed at the Radisson Blu, and regretted our unwise decision bitterly, but it was all booked ages before. At least we now know where to stay when we come back.

Room Tip: Ours was lovely, high up with a splendid view on to the grand Balmoral Hotel. Quiet and tasteful wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is ideally located, five minutes walk to the main shopping area (Princes Street) & less than ten minutes walk to the castle. The hotel is a fantastic building, well maintained & traditionally decorated. The hotel staff were very helpful thought our stay, the restaurant & bars provided great service. The spa attached to the hotel offers aveda products & various spa services, the pool, jacuzzi, sauna & steam room services were a lovely added bonus and a wonderful place to relax after a busy shopping spree. There were a number of beds available in the pool area with glossy magazines to read while you can relax & unwind. A lovely way to spend a weekend in the heart if Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingle-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,005 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £85 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing