We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #84 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Service”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here recently on vacation (yes, we're a couple of Americans). The location is great, a block from the Royal Mile and with a lift puts you across the street from Waverley Station, making it a nice base for day trips. We arrived after an overnight flight and they were able to get us into our room early, which was much appreciated.

The rooms are spacious with ample storage and the usual amenities: iron, hair dryer, mini bar, etc. the bathrooms have rain showers. The light switches are interesting--plain metal toggles. There is a Do Not Disturb light instead of a door tag; I inadvertently left it on one day but the housekeeping staff serviced the room that evening when the did the turn-down. We had two small quibbles. This being Edinburgh, there is no air conditioning so we had to keep the window open most of the time to keep the room from getting stuffy. A ceiling fan would help a lot. And the Scotsman shares a delusion with many UK hotels that two twin beds clamped together constitute a king sized bed. That of course leaves a valley in the middle. The beds are short, as well; if you are over six feet tall expect to sleep with your feet hanging off he end.

The concierge service is excellent. We asked for a last minute reservation at a small restaurant. Although he was unable to get us in there, the concierge recommended a lesser known spot that probably suited our tastes better than our original choice.

Overall a very good experience and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    612
    320
    160
    111
See reviews for
319
1,296
101
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited The Scotsman for a night in mid-June after receiving a voucher as a gift.

The location cannot be faulted, located between The Royal Mile and Princess Street. Central and close to transport links. We opted to leave use the park & ride outside the city centre but I believe the hotel offers discounted parking at a nearby car park.

We were welcomed by a piper - there was a wedding on! Check-in was quick and we were shown to our room by the receptionist (#403). Our room was on the 4th floor (bridge/main entrance level). The room was large with a lounge area, bathroom and bedroom. The walls were wood panelled and the furnishings were all dark. Even on a glorious Scottish summers day the room was dark and rather depressing. I guess it's one of those things with older historic buildings. A sharp contract with the new, bright and modern we are familiar with. There were some nice touches including an Edinburgh version of a Monopoly board. Our worries about the traffic noise were unfounded and we both slept well.

The spa was very pleasant. We used the pool, sauna, stream room and jacuzzi. My only comment regards the lighting. It was too dark to read the notices etc! Atmospheric bordering on dangerous!

As part of our package we had dinner in The North Bridge Brassiere. The meal was really lovely - very enjoyable. The service was patchy - one of the waiters appeared to look thought people. At the end of the meal I was asked to sign the full value of the meal onto our room despite it being part of our package. It didn't appear on our bill when we checked-out but I don't agree with this approach.

Overall, I would have been disappointed if we had paid for this 5* experience ourselves. The whole place is rather dull and dusty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SleeplessInDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, customer service and administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us at The Scotsman.
As you point out our location cannot be faulted, we agree we are very lucky to occupy such a fantastic city centre location being so close to the historical centre, shopping and very easy access to the train station.
The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites. I am sorry to hear that you find this depressing.
We always ask our guests to sign a check at the end of the evening as some extra drinks may have been consumed which is not part of the package. The meal is always removed as part of checks by our accounts team, so this will not show on the final bill on check out.
I hope that you will change your mind an choose to return to stay with us.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Located in a very impressive building, in a great central location. All staff were friendly, and attentive and we were made to feel very welcome at all times. Breakfast was good. The only (small) issue is the rooms seemed a little worn, but the decor is still very impressive and I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibswif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to record your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Scotsman hotel.
With regards to the rooms being worn, these are in the process of having a refurbishment room at a time, hopefully when you do return you will be able to be in a newly refurbished room.
I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to The Scotsman in the near future.

Kind regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived by car and could not find the entrance to the hotel. I rang the hotel and was being put through to the concierge but perhaps he was not there as reception answered again and said to "pop in and I'll give you a map where to park". As I didn't know where the entrance was and that we were parked illegally outside, it was frustrating. I finally went through the restaurant to find reception. After instructions we headed off to the parking station 2 blocks away. We had to park the car and walk from the carpark with out luggage to the lift at the train station to take us up to street level and then cross the road to the hotel and take the lift up to the reception area . Not great for a 5 star hotel. When we mentioned this we were asked "Was your luggage heavy?". This was irrelevant and was not satisfactory. We were upgraded to a beautiful old oak panelled room with a separate sitting area and a full bathroom. The concierge Barry was the saving grace. What a wonderful personality, very helpful with our room, booking dinner at a local restaurant for us. Hotel is centrally located and a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle.

Room Tip: Ring through first and park out front (illegally) and ask the concierge to come out and take your ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us.

I am sorry for the troubles you encountered with regards to parking facilities. . I’m sorry that this was a disappointment to you; as one of the traditional Victorian buildings in the city we are unable to accommodate our own car park and for this reason have never advertised this service.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness, I will personally pass your lovely comments onto Barry.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very disappointed. Had afternoon tea booked for 12 (2 gluten free) for an important family gathering, only to be told the night before that YOU WILL NOT CATER FOR GLUTEN FREE ANYMORE. No apology or alternative offer. Needless to say we have made other arrangements in a more customer friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leeannew4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear LeaAnne,
We are very concerned that you have written such a damaging review and very much urge that you contact the hotel at your convenience to talk this over – the number to contact is 0131 556 5565 and please ask for myself.
The information that you have detailed is faculty incorrect as we offer a selection on of dietary requirement menus, one including Gluten Free.
We are proud to be working in association with Genius Food group – a key provider of Gluten Free products in the market Place and we have many Gluten Free team members at the hotel which we cater for on a daily basis.
On the day in question we have investigated your booking and we did not have any Gluten Free request from your enquiry, and due to the popularity of our Gluten Free Afternoon Tea we do encourage all guests to inform the hotel prior to arrival.
As we have stated we very much would like to discuss this further with you – we offer Gluten Free Menus both at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner service.
Thank you for your review,
Kind regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed early June with our 19 month old toddler. The room was lovely and traditional. However, it was quite noisy, the room service menu was limited and the burger was vile! It came too pink (I am pregnant) and didn't look fresh or homemade. The staff seemed a little pretentious too, especially in the breakfast room so we ate out at all times.

It's probably lovely without children but you aren't made overly welcome with.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DogZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Scotsman.
I am sorry that you didn’t not enjoy our rooms service menu and it concerns me to hear that you felt this was served ‘Pink’ this can be cooked to the liking of each individual guest. I can assure you that if the staff were made aware of your pregnancy they would have advised the kitchen to cook this for a longer period of time.
Please be assured we are a family friendly hotel, and our staff always try to make all children feel welcome.

I hope that we can welcome you back.
Kind regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Scotsman is well situated for the station and the royal mile. The staff are exceptionally helpful. The room is well appointed with everything you could wish for. There is a button to put a do not disturb sign red light outside your room. Also a hatch so if you order room service a tray is put in the hatch so you can access it from inside your room. The room is clean, comfortable and well thought out. Although our room was a tad small, the room was well planned to fit all mod cons in.
All in all a pleasant stay, we ate breakfast outside the hotel so cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
I am glad you enjoyed our extra little touches for privacy in our rooms. All our rooms are completely different including size and furniture, The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites.
Ii hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,126 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing