We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay in Edinburgh”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #84 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We cannot say enough good things about the staff at the Scotsman. Every person we encountered was friendly, helpful and welcoming, especially Abandnour. He always greeted us with a smile and cheerfulness.. The hotel itself is a bit quirky but quite charming and comfortable. We faced the castle and overlooked the train station. Even with the windows open it was not terribly noisy. The early morning sounds of the city and the seas gulls were really delightful.
We had a suite at the top of the hotel so the bedroom which was on the second floor had slanted ceilings including in the bathroom so the mirror was slanted and you had to look up to use it. this was a bit awkward to use. It is conveniently located within walking distance of everything.
We enjoyed our too brief stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jdferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
I would like to thank you for your kind compliments with regards to all of our staff and in particular Abdenour I have already personally passed these on to him as well as our Operations Manager.
I hope that you will choose to return to the Scotsman and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Laura Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,452 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

having never stayed at the hotel i cannot comment on it. But i am a local who comes in for a drink with the other half whenever we can get a babysitter. We started coming in about a year ago and love it so much always new things to try and great chat with the staff. we love challenging the guys to make us cocktails with just a idea to go on they always bring us something wonderful. please keep it up as it's the best place to start or end a night out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a girly weekend and absolutely loved it! Party had two rooms, an editors suite and a deluxe room, both of which were beautiful, very clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. They even went to the trouble of decorating the suite as it was my mums 60th birthday weekend. I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to returning in the future

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazMac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Everything was 'ok' - as we were not doing the holiday abroad, we decided to have a luxury week in Edinburgh. Our daughter was working on the Fringe and we were in a great location to do what we wanted when we wanted. For starters, the room was set up for one person, not two. The embarrassed consierge sorted things but this carried on throughout the week (one glass for water, one glass in the bathroom, one pack of biscuits). We went for a meal in the restaurant and were put on the balcony as requested but there was an extractor fan going full blast which apparently couldn't be switched off. It wouldn't have been so bad if it hadn't been covered in dust. A beautiful building but there was something missing. Breakfast was all self serve unless you wanted something slightly different, such as poached eggs - they weren't that good and when they came, you then had to get your own toast while the eggs cooled down nicely!!
The staff were nice but I don't feel it deserves it's 5 star status.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. The views are different from every room and there are many variations i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netty061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I did rent the upgraded suite top floor . I loved the hotel and the service. The breakfast was the same everyday and very limited for an upscale hotel. I was told several times that you could order something on the menu but it had to be the same as the menu . Example I asked for an English muffin which was part of an elaborate ham and egg dish but they could do it . My girl friend didn't want the entire omelet just eggs and tomatoes and they could do it. Second problem is I asked for a local number and they gave me a number which was went to an answering machine for Avis cars. They billed me 25 dollars for a phone call that didn't reach anyone and lasted 2 minutes. They would not take it off my room charge when I brought it up . Close to 1k per day hotel and they are overcharging for phone calls?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DAMNYANKEETEXAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This Hotel fell far below our expectations. This was a special trip for my wife and me and we booked an Editors suite for a week over the Festival; views from our room was spectacular but the room was poorly presented and definitely not five star. The carpets were stained, bathroom was okay but needed some minor redecoration and the furniture was dated and poorly maintained- really sad in my view. The place is a maze and it takes a few trips to navigate around but that's the beauty of the building.

I have to say staff were fantastic but it would have been nice to have had a few more Scottish voices, surely there must be a few Edinburgh locals looking for work!

The restaurant was average. Lunch on the first day was excellent, quality of the food was first class. Sadly we ate elsewhere after that first day!

We booked dinner and asked for the balcony we sat next to a noisy and dirty fan when we asked if that could be turned off - no - so we had a very noisy meal.

The food was good but not exceptional and expensive.

Breakfast was dreadful - do not book breakfast with your stay it is poor, expensive and really not worth it - you have to help yourself. Seriously, five star, and you have to pick from congealed bacon, sausage etc. the scrambled egg was particularly appalling, then you queue for toast although the machine broke down the day we were there and two workers and came and worked on the toaster in the middle of service oblivious to any hygiene considerations.

Seriously get a grip Scotsman and sort out the breakfast offering and review your five star award it really is not five star!

We are heading back to Edinburgh in November and have booked elsewhere. Sadly.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Seriously though the Editor suites have great views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mickyboy12463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel was disappointing. Rooms nothing like picture on internet. Breakfast self-service was good but if you wanted fried eggs you had to wait about ten minutes at least. Certainly stayed in better four star hotels in Edinburgh would not go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,953 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,721 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £98 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing