We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #87 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Long Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2008

I did quite a bit of research before booking this hotel for a long weekend to celebrate my wifes 60th Birthday. It was difficult to find a clear choice because all had both positive and negative reviews. The scotsman either had very good or very bad reviews so I took a gamble as we wanted a central hotel near the station.
I was not disappointed, although not quite upto five star standard. The majority of staff were helpful and friendly, room was spacious and my wife loved the bathroom and cowshed products. I booked direct with the hotel to get the best breakfast included deal. The not so positive was having to queue for breakfast at the weekend, and they had no brown bread on the sunday, although the freshly cooked food was worth the wait.

  • Liked — Spacious room with nice bathroom. Freshly cooked Breakfast
  • Disliked — Lots of doors and corridors to get to bedroom
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukc802875219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    585
    307
    156
    105
See reviews for
297
1,251
97
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

I was not a guest of the hotel, so cannot comment on the rooms. However I attended my mate's wedding, and witnessed the horrible treatment of one of the guests by the hotel staff and the function manager.

One of the guests who I was chatting to was refused service at the bar because the barman said his "speech was slurred". I had been chatting with this gent for some time, and although he had a speech impediment, he clearly hadn't been drinking. He wasn't aggressive, unsteady on his feet or causing any trouble.

His wife was pretty angry when she found out, because it transpired that this gent had had part of his tongue removed from cancer a few years back, explaining the slurred speech.

I suppose you can forgive the initial misunderstanding, but I was appalled when the gent's wife explained this to the function manager, only for him to say he "didn't believe" their story and that they could both leave if they weren't happy!!!

I was absolutely disgusted with this behaviour, and it left the poor man in question completely humiliated. To top it off, the man and his wife were staying at the hotel, so they just went back to their room at 9pm!!

I would expect more from the average human being on the street, let alone staff at a 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — nice function suite
  • Disliked — treatment of people with disabilities
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank em677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

having stayed at the scotsman only days after it's initial opening and on numerous trips to Edniburgh since, I am sorry to report that this fine hotel is losing its edge. gone are the traditional tweeds for the staff and replaced by black shirts and suits or vests and red ties...
kinda like a cheesy sopranos look if you ask me. desk staff have also lost their way regarding accomodating hospitality. snippy young aussie checked me in with no regard for how many times in the past I have chosen to spend hundreds and hundreds of business dollars/pounds with them. the place is starting to look run down with fraying rugs, chipped paint on corners of doorways, etc. come on, guys, get back to work and earn the 5-stars again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank newlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

A very nice hotel in a great central location. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was small but clean, and we had a view of the city. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BreakfastforDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In your back garden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

I think it's a couple of years since I last stayed here, but I thought it worth posting another review after an enjoyable stay when it seemed that standards were as high as on my previous visit; I think this is not always easy when hotels are exposed to heavy usage. It must take a lot of effort to keep on top of all the wear and tear after the intial excitement of opening.

Well, the Scotsman still looks good. The room was clean and in excellent order, and the unusual touches that intrigued me on previous stays did so once more.

This is not a standard chain hotel and if you are looking for that consistency / blandness then you had better look elsewhere.

Of Edinburgh's better hotels that I've stayed in (Caledonian, Sheraton), this would probably be the one I'd choose if I came back for a weekend away with my girlfriend.

What you get is: a more interesting room, reasonably priced room service, lots of choice in the minibar, a nice bathroom and really good toiletries (albeit fixed to the wall so you cannot continue enjoying them at home).

I might look at others if I had come for work, but only as I need to be in the West End and it is a little further to walk.

Beyond that the only disadvantage I noticed is the age and curious construction of the place, which tends to make it rather dark. This is by no means a problem in the bedroom in the evening but I'm not such a fan of the bright artificial lighting when you go for breakfast.

Fair price to pay for a room: £120-180 for a standard double without breakfast

  • Liked — Character and style, very handy for Waverley (check in before your train's even pulled away)
  • Disliked — Artificially-lit breakfast room in bowels of building
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ringraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

We stayed in one of the "editor" rooms which had a separate secluded double ended bath (in the turret at the front of the building) as well as a bathroom with multi spray shower cubicle both of which had a selection of big bottles of lovely toiletries.
The room was quiet, spotless and very well equiped with plenty of cupboard space,comfy couch, selection of up to date reading material and games, wall mounted tv and speakers in the bathroom.
We were delighted to find champagne on ice and a card awaiting us in our room as we were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary - a lovely touch which helped make the occasion feel even more special.
Tables at breakfast were well spaced out and there was a great selection of food on offer which was of a very good quality - superb, really fresh, fruit.
All of the staff were professional while being very friendly and approachable.
Absolutely no problems or complaints -only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Liked — Speakers in the bathroom !
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mytripUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow,
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and neither the hotel or the staff could be faulted, it was top class all the way. Room was beautiful, staff were friendly and the location was perfect. Cannot wait go back again !

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank AJSOCarlow_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing