We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #88 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 22 August 2009

After our "nightmare" 1 day stay at this run down appallingly run excuse for a hotel, I feel compelled to advise potential residents to seriously reconsider their plans and make alternative arrangements. To list our catalogue of complaints about this establishment would frankly take me about an hour so I will highlight the most serious of them. First of all on arrival we were advised they had double booked and would need to wait 4 hours sitting in a van with howling winds and rain outside. No offer of refreshments or food was even considered by the obnoxious and aggressive manager, who for some reason would not give us his name. After being cramped in the van trying to sleep we were then shown to our rooms or to be more accurate damp and smelly small boxes. On entering these so called rooms we all found that the rooms were freezing. Unbelieveably the central heating did not work. We immediatley contacted a member of staff who assured us she would contact the manager who had a habit if dissapearing. We left our belongings and ventured out for something to eat as we were advised food is only served at stated mealtimes. Actually eating out turned out the best option as we could also get some heat as well as some food. We thought about moving as we had booked in for 5 day but for conveinience decided to stay. For our evening meal we were handed a limited menu. I personally ordered steak "well done" and to my horror found to be almost freezing in the middle. My 2 collegues picked different dishes which were not even up to the standard of a greasy spoon cafe. As not to risk food poisoning I left the meat and ate only the vegetables which were also not fresh and cooked from frozen. Again we complained and again the manager had went missing. We returned to our still freezing rooms and tried to get some sleep in baltic conditions. We finally caught the manager the next morning by suprise as he was obviously avoiding us and several other irrate guests. We made our complaints to this manager "with no name" and we were met by a barrage of verbal abuse and we were told if we didn't like it then we could in his own words [--] OFF. After a torrent of abuse we gathered our belongings and decided to leave. To add insult to injury he actually charged us for staying one night. I refused to pay for the raw meat and after more abuse accepted this. I could go on but I think enough has been said about this pathetic excuse for a hotel. This horrible hotel with even worse staff made Fawlty Towers look like the Hilton. By all means decide for yourself but do yourself and your family a favour and AVOID THIS DIRTY DAMP COLD SHED which should not be allowed under health grounds to operate as a hotel. It should be condemned and shut down. I have contacted the environmental health about the condition of the building, who are making enquiries. I await their response.
Three very angry and dissapointed Glasweigians.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beeneverywhere111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    599
    317
    158
    109
See reviews for
309
1,276
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We got to the Scotsman Hotel little bit before checking in time, and ware checked in immediately by very friendly and curtious receptionist. Conciarge carried our bag and showed us the room, answered all of our questions, and went through the extent of going to get a map and circle all local points of interest. From the very first day to the last (we stayed 8 nights), every single member of Hotel Staff was dotting on all of our needs, wishes or requests. Rooms ware clean, sheets ware changed during our stay, there was always a fresh bowl of complimentary fruits, and fresh bottle of water. We stayed on the 8th floor, and yes, we could hear the life happening on the streets of Edinburgh, but that only added to the charm of the Hotel. We used the Gym, it is very well equiped, and trainer on the duty was very helpful. Bar and Brassiere had very friendly and knowlegable staff as well, and the food was very well prepared and presented. We had wonderful stay, get to know wonderful people that work in that Hotel, and we are looking forward to come back soon. Best regards to Gemma, Ian, Berry, Joel, Ivor and many many others who made our stay in Edinburgh fantastic (or as they say in Edinburgh..brilliant). The staff is what makes it 5 Star Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montylassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The Scotsman is easily one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. Service (except for unecessarily high fees for use of internet service) and location could not be beat but beware, this hotel does not have air conditioning. A fan was provided, however, you had to keep the windows open to get the cool air to circulate and it was still pretty warm, then you have a lot of traffic noise coming from a fairly busy street. Despite everything else being A-One, I, personally, would stay at a hotel with ac in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. They really made us feel welcome. The fitness suite is incredible - a huge selection of gym machines, a big pool etc. We had breakfast in the hotel and the quality was very high. The continetal buffet had a big selection and the cooked breakfast was freshly made.

The room was a bit small for a 5 star deluxe room. Also I was a bit disappointed that the toiletaries wer not changed in the morning.

On the whole, a good place to stay in a great location. We got a deal on the price, I don't think it would be worth the £280 list price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perth_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I stayed here for my birthday with my boyfriend and we had a great stay. The location is brilliant as you are only minutes from princes street and the royal mile. The staff are very helpful and when they found out it was my birthday delivered a bottle of champagne to the room. We cant wait to go back and would recommend it anyone looking for a central location in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falkirkgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We had a couple days in Edinburgh to re-live my old student days and visit some old haunts. I'd always loved the Scotsman building so was intrigued by how it would look as a hotel - it was stunning.
The hotel staff were first rate, very attentive, friendly and professional. The room that we were given had an outstanding view of the Balmoral Hotel and the Bridges. The room was very comfortable with everything that you could possibly need and the location can not be beaten. We were not there long enough to try out the restaurant or bar, but the breakfasts from room service were very good. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PS_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed here for a 3-night break. On arrival, found staff were very helpful. Our deluxe room was of a rather strange shape, although it had all the things I expected it to have. The bathroom was nice, although my biggest complaint was that the toiletries were never replenished during our stay. By the third day we had completely run out of shower gel and shampoo. This has never happened in any hotel, let alone one of this standard.
Had to have windows open as it was so warm which meant we could hear announcements from station across the road, but it was nice to have a window in a hotel that actually opened for a change! The TV seemed to be permanently on mute as every time I put it on again I had to turn up the volume.
Breakfast was good, with a reasonable choice of continental foods and a made-to-order cooked selection. I chose something different each day and they were all very good. We didn't ever have to wait too long but I'm not sure how long the wait would be if the breakfast room was really busy.
As a treat I had a facial in the "Cowshed" spa. However it would appear that the hotel no longer uses these products as there were none in the hotel bathroom either. My treatment was adequate, but not vastly different (apart from using very expensive products) to that which I receive from my therapist at home - at a third of the price!
The hotel is in a very good location for both Princes Street and The Royal Mile with lots of eating places in the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,767 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 149 in Edinburgh
648 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing