We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Five Star”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #85 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Uk
19
Reviewed 28 September 2005

Our second stay at The Scotsman was a HUGE disappointment. In our opinion the deluxe room was just not clean enough (marks on the walls, bathroom floor, chrome etc., although the bed linen was spotless, and appreciated). The coffee machine was dirty, the shower flooded the bathroom floor, and the "cowshed" products were, in our opinion, deeply offensive to women. Perhaps our sense of humour towards "pampered cow" treatments differs from other people's. The wardrobe was tiny, barely big enough for two coats.

Our twin room (necessary because of a serious health problem, and made absolutely clear when booking) did not materialise. We tried to be patient (the staff were so pleasant when we arrived at night), and leave it until the morning to sort out. Apparently, that was our mistake. We should have refused the room, even though we had been told there were no alternatives. My partner spent a horrible night on an uncomfortable camp bed, and instead of someone contacting US to rectify the mistake, WE had to complain and then do battle for a resolution of the problem!

Eventually, a compromise on room price was agreed, but we both felt that we were considered to be "pests", and strangely inferior ones at that! My partner did end up being rude; I regret this, and if the manageress should ever read this, I apologise. We felt that she (the mangeress) miscalculated the situation at first (those pescy guests trying it on), but then tried hard to reach an acceptable compromise.

We run several businesses, and can only be away from work for odd nights. We ALWAYS stay 5* (to make up for brevity), and in our experience, it is not uniforms that denote a 5* hotel, but rather a subtle level of genuine courtesy (not false subservience), goodwill, and comfort. Take away the pretension, and the truly beautiful building, this reminded me of feelings after a night spent in a Bavarian youth hostel many years ago ... scary, and relieved to leave!

There are so many wonderful hotels in Edinburgh, and we have stayed in quite a few ... my partner is a Scot, and we come regularly to see relatives ... and this is our first unsatisfactory experience.

One MAJOR plus is the food. We ate in the Brasserie where the food was excellent, and the service the best you could ever wish for. (Actually, the way we treat our customers). Thank you Brasserie for giving us one very pleasant memory.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,220 of 2,405 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2005

I stayed for 1 night in early September 2005. I've mixed feelings about the Scotsman. My deluxe room (about 220 Euros) was very spacious and there was a turret in one corner with a sitting area, large bay windows and wonderful views of Calton Hill, Princess Street and the Balmoral Hotel. The room was on the 5th floor, but in reality it was only 1 floor above street level (North Bridge) and I was kept awake most of the night by people shouting on the street especially when the pubs closed and a bottle bank being emptied in the early hours of the morning. I'd be interested to know if anyone has stayed on a higher floor (I think there are 8 floors in total) and found it quieter. I would also agree with the other reviewers who found it warm in the room.

On the positive side, I found some of the staff to be friendly and helpful, unlike the experience of some of the reviewers. When I arrived at 10 am, well aware that the check-in time was 3pm, I was told that they would prepare my room within the hour and was offered a pot of tea while I waited in the hotel's drawing room. I also enjoyed the health club, with its 16 m indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, tropicarium/steam room.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aretedescosmiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed 31 August 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
PASCAGOULA MISSISSIPPI
29
Reviewed 14 August 2005

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
110
Reviewed 27 July 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank turtle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kensington California
115
Reviewed 23 June 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,917 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,029 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £99 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing