We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Not too bad overall.”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #88 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location. Not too bad overall.”
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The hotel has a great location for the city center. You can exit the rear doors and walk right into the train station. Its a small boutique type hotel. It can be hard to find your way around as it is a bit dark and narrow with multiple dark doors so you mistake someone's room for the exit to the lift. Waiting for the lift can also be annoying if you are in a hurry. The room was a fair size and the shower in the room is nice but the tub is a bit small so you don't have a lot of space to have the shower. Their towels must be very new as they leave fluff all over you. The staff were very friendly but you waited a long time to get their attention as there is only one of each, so check in and check out take ages. I thought the bed was comfortable but the room is too dark. Overall, its an average hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    600
    317
    158
    109
See reviews for
309
1,277
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Lovely people, lovely view, lovely service, good sized room

Really can't praise this place enough. The only time I've stayed in a hotel in this country (other 5 stars included) where I've not left with even the slightest sense of disappointment.

Thoroughly good value for money and would definitely go back.

Didn't get to check out spa facilities though so couldn't comment on those.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emekanjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

I have just returned from a short trip in Edinburgh with my husband, and we stayed at the Scotsman. The hotel was lovely, room spacious and nicely furnished. Service by all staff was excellent, and the restaurants they recommended super. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice.

The hotel was central to all of the city, so made exploring on foot easy. Note the car park is part of the train station but you can park outside and unload etc so no real issue.

Spa area nice too, and treatments well priced (not over the top expensive like some 5star hotels) - although they get booked up quickly!

Best restaurant in Edinburgh was the 'Plumed Horse' - mid week supper a must.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Bedroom was dark and hot couldnt see out of the window
swimming pool was so dark and gym was freezing
no where to have a coffee or read the papers
shabby dark place and even the breakfast was served in a basement with a very low ceiling
pleased to leave
porter was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This superb hotel, a member of the Leading Small Hotels of the World was formally the home of the Scotsman Newspaper and even the printing presses were located here on the lower floors and the building would shake to the foundations when they were printing tomorrows edition of the paper. All that history was converted into a superb hotel in which we had a rather nice weekend. We had flown from Dublin, our home capital to London/Heathrow T1 with BMI ( British Midlands ) and then connected to Heathrow T5 and fetched our BA ( British Airways ) flight to Edinburgh. Beautiful all the way. After arriving at Edinburgh Airport and we had our luggage we took the Airlink to the City Centre ( Waverley Train Station - Princess Street ). The Airlink ticket we had already bought online - see Edinburgh Airport webpage - under to/from the Airport. From here we walked only 5 minutes and we entered the historic The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, located on the famous Northbridge, the gateway to the Royal Mile to one side and to the other lies Princess Street with many shopping opportunities. The National Gallery of Scotland, the Scotsman Monument and the Edinburgh Castle plus Harvey Nichols and Jenners can be accessed by foot in walking or easy strolling distance with the distraction of many restaurants and pubs as well.
Back to the hotel, Folks! The Scotsman Hotel has two entrances incl. the main-entrance over the North bridge on the fourth floor or the side-entrance right beside on the Waverley Train Station Level - from here just push the button and tell them you have a reservation and they let you in here and you take the lift up to the fourth floor for the lobby . The check-in was fast and friendly plus with all the efficiency you can expect of a world-class hotel and in mere minutes we were on our Study Room No. 712 on the seventh floor with views that encompassed the Waverley Station, Northbridge and the equally famous Balmoral Hotel ( The Balmoral Bar comes highly recommended! ). Our Study room ( 28 sqm ) included the following details incl. South Affric tartans upholsteries, believed to be designed by Lord Furness in the 1920s or 1930s and incl. the bed head board, bed stand and all the black-out curtains. We had very nice furniture - some in gothic style - in dark brown incl. mirror, writing desk, coffee table, 2 chairs, large wardrobe with 11 hangers provided - the large wardrobe holds also the integrated LCD flat-screen TV by LG and offered incl. BBC World News, CNBC, Sky Sports 1,2,3, Dubai TV, TVE Spain, BBC 1,2,3,4 and Five plus many others. We enjoyed also on our room a fully stocked Mini-Bar, Pay-TV ( Hollywood, Adult, Classics, Internet via TV - 8 UK£ ), Ironing board and iron, safe, luggage rack, trouser press, one edition of the Edinburgh Monopoly game, historical books, magazines plus welcome gifts incl. chocolate and fruits. Also we found the following delights during our weekend stay at the end of August 2009 here, incl. welcome messages from the manager, good lightning, three telephones, comfortable double bed - european sized -, white linen, 4 pillows and one brown coloured thrower to match the room. Now we are moving on to our Bathroom which incl. gray slate and white polished marble tiles, partly white painted walls, large modern sink with large mirror above it, toilet, comfortable bathtub with integrated hand-held shower and Monsoon shower from the ceiling plus a half-bath glass enclosure. The bath amenities came from a company called Highland Aromatics and incl. shampoo, hair conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, soap, shower cap, nail file and one make-up sponge. There was no Make-up or shaving mirror, however! We also found towels in varies sizes, bathrobes, slippers, heated towel rail, one shoe horn, shoe shine service offers, 24h room-service ( which we used on our Saturday evening incl. for her we had one rump of Perthshire lamb with potatoes and beans, for him we had seared sea bream fillet with garnish plus for both of us we had one Scottish Cheese plate and one beautiful coffee cream plus hot chocolate in a nice comfortable room setting. The whole Dinner was judged by both of us as a success for all the senses and moreish. The Bill came in at 49 UK£ / 57 Euros or 70 US-Dollars. Good value, when relating to quality, taste and presentation, which was Restaurant-like ). The room-service can also be delivered through the privacy hatch, if you do not want to be disturbed from the waiter. We also had Cocktails in the famous North bridge Brasserie and Bar incl. one Italian Apple Sling, one cherry and vanilla margarita plus apple juices, coke and one Passoa Passion fruit liquor. Here the bill was 26 UK£ or 30 Euros or 40 US-Dollars. All cocktails by the way came from the Modernist section of the Menu and under the tutelage of the busy mixologist. Our breakfast on the Sunday morning were served in the Club room of the hotel located on the third floor, a real nice private space for breakfast. Our breakfast incl. cheese, chorizo, fruit salad, yoghurt, toast, President of France Butter, pastries, Frank Cooper Jam selection, A La Carte griddle pancakes with bacon, crème fraiche and maple syrup, A La Carte Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon, coffee, apple and orange juice. The Breakfast was very well visited and the hotel in our view was booked out during our late September 2009 weekend stay. Some negative impacts incl. our missed wake-up call ( awoke by ourselves on time! ) and a way too early 11am check-out! 12noon check-out is known here to be a late check-out, Folks! The information we received was: we should discuss any late check out we wanted with the hotel manager! - This was told to us at the Scotsman Hotel reception! However Rich and Barry and some others were great in all encounters with them. All in all the hotel offers the following amenities as well incl. Gym, award winning spa on the first floor, drawing room - which is a quiet room off the lobby -, concierge services, meeting rooms, child friendly facilities ( we have encountered happy families here with small babies! ). We should not forget the superb North bridge Brasserie and Bar here in the hotel, which is somewhat of a local institution and was always full when we visited. The weather was very good and sunny plus we had chosen the right hotel in the right city for the right city break away from Dublin. This was our third visit to Edinburgh and again we hope for more extra helpings of this lovely capital city of Scotland. By the way the Princess Street looks at the moment like a huge construction site, because of the new tram line which is being built, but this can only be an enhancement for a better future for this superb city. All too fast it was time for us to take our plane back to Dublin via London in the same manner we came. We now sincerely hope that our review can help as many people as possible and look forward to visit again and again. So do not forget to FLY!STAY!EXPLORE!MORE! and travel the world including favourite cities and new ones at all times with your better half!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I'll try and keep this brief; The Scotsman is in a very central location but therefore very noisy - it's on the ambulance route to the infimary, for example. Also, you can hear the announcements from the adjacent train station. The hotel does not have a car park and unloading the car on a main road was tricky and not very convenient - there is not even a driveway in front of the front entrance. The layout of the hotel is, depending on your viewpoint, quiky or just plain annoying. The staff are so-so. The restaurant food, particularly the vegetarian options, are poor (when I told the waiter I didn't like the whole onion encased in soggy pastry that I was served, he explained that it wasn't very popular but I should 'do my best'. The spa/pool area is in the basement, very dark (urban/industrial design) and cold and lacking in relaxing ambience. The drawing room of the hotel was a mismatch of furniture, cold and soul-less. We wouldn't stay there again and didn't enjoy it. I believe we paid around £500 for a two night stay in one of the 'medium' rooms and I don't think we got value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuesSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

World class hotel with an excellent location. The attention to detail was second to none and I will definitely be back. This hotel is a credit to the staff who work there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_C_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
652 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing