We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star No, 3-4 Star Yes”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #91 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
York, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5 Star No, 3-4 Star Yes”
Reviewed 14 December 2009

My husband and I had a 2 night stay at the Scotsman. We had already stayed at one of their sister hotels, The Glasshouse, which is just around the corner, and very much enjoyed the stay, but thought we'd "upgrade" slightly.
We arrived at 12.30pm and was told our room wasn't ready, but if we left a contact number they'd call us when it was, so we went off for some dinner and by 3pm we hadn't had a call so we called back to the hotel to find the room ready!!!

First thing we noticed was how hot the room was, it was unbearable to be honest and the room was very small with only a double bed, you would normally have a king size in a 5 star room , The Glasshouse rooms and bed were huge in comparison.

We turned the thermostat down, the radiators off and had to open the windows when we went to bed, but could only open it about 6 inches. We left the curtains open, but we got no sleep at all because of the main road outside, which a huge amount of ambulances keep using and the drunks leaving the pubs as late as 3am screaming and shouting!!! There is a fan provided but is as as useful as a chocolate fire guard.
The next day we left the windows open all day to keep the temperature down and then shut them at the last minute before going to bed, we then set the fan up at the foot of the bed, in the hope we may get some sleep by cutting out the noise, but the bed was uncomfortable and it was still too hot.
There must be some other form of heating getting into the room.

Apart from the room issue, we found the staff to be very helpful and professional and the rooms were clean. We did not have breakfast as we are not paying the sort of money they want and considering the cost of the rooms, breakfast should actually be included, but considering the great location of the hotel there are plenty of places to get breakfast within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    595
    314
    158
    108
See reviews for
303
1,269
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Had a 5 night stay here in late November 2009.
It has a good central location and the staff are very attentive and informative.
Our room was incredibly hot and stuffy. Even with the radiators turned down it was still oppressively hot. .The cheap and nasty little fan provided in the room is not fit for purpose. Our solution was to open both windows wide,get some air and a good earful of central Edinburgh's night time sounds.- Buses,ambulances,taxis and carousing drunks.
The coffee served at breakfast was vile,even by UK standards. The Breakfast room staff were obviously under instruction to sell the resident the cooked breakfast option. Once is understandable but to be asked the question daily, by 3 different members of staff whilst you are eating the ok buffet breakfast ,quickly becomes boring and then irritating.
When we checked in,i advised the receptionist that i would be the paying the bill with cash. "OK " said he ,adding that he needed my credit card details "for security"- "Ok "-said i
At the end of our stay i settled our bill ,in cash,as agreed. Imagine my surprise and anger when i then discovered that the Hotel had also taken money from my current account. This was rather annoying and became even more annoying when i discovered that the amount requested from my bank was £230 more than what i was contracted to pay. All rather shoddy. I would state that the Reception Manager quickly and efficiently acted to return the money to my account. .Don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoopoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

My partner and I usually stay at the Sheraton or the Balmoral when visiting Edinburgh, but "for a treat" decided to try The Scotsman. The room was very small and grossly overheated - the air conditioning did not work. The speakers in the bathroom did not work. We went to the Spa on the Saturday morning - the pool was in virtual darkness and the water was FREEZING. I often swim in cold water but this was so cold I couldn't manage half of my usual routine. The service in the bar was incredibly slow and, when it came, the coffee was lukewarm. But worst of all was the breakfast. I ordered Porridge - it took 25 minutes to arrive and was lukewarm. It was politely returned and when the replacement arrived after a further 15 minutes it was uncooked oats stirred into warm milk! Hardly the image of Scotland we would want to present to tourists.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costa1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

This hotel has a good location but that's where the advantages end.
The hotel is certainly not a 5 star as advertised, it is overpriced, dated and the service leaves a lot to be desired.
We had a truly awful stay here. The rooms were unbearably hot, small, and uncomfortable. We arrived back at our room on satuday at 3pm and the room still had not been made up, we had to call reception who told us " departures are the priority" Absolutely ridiculous, eventually the maid arrived and told us to leave the room for 30 minutes and she didn't fill up the toiletries or water, we were informed by reception that the water was only stocked up after 6pm... hardly the reponse one expects at a 5 star hotel.
The breakfast room was a disaster, there were delays of one hour on both morning without apology.
There is a spa area in the hotel but they have not replaced the lighting in the swimming pool area which means that it is almost completely dark - this teamed with the fact the water is freezing does not make it particuarly inviting! The hotel is in dire need of a face lift.
There are many points about this hotel I could list here, but these are the main things. I can honestly say that this hotel was by far the worst hotel I have ever visited - 5 star or less. Avoid it, there are some other beautiful hotels to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

I was fortunate enough to book a premium room at the Scotsman hotel during the week of my Wedding. On arrival, I was greeted with professional, friendly staff who were kind enough to upgrade my room and help with various requests.

Throughout the entire stay, our every need was catered to and the level of service in the bar, restaurant and from the concierge was second to none.

The hotel itself is luxurious and of the highest quality and the spa is absolutely fantastic, perfect to soak away pre-wedding jitters. The rooms are moden and comfortable and a range of sizes/ prices to suit everyone.

Location is also perfect for any person not familiar with Edinburgh, close to the historic Royal Mile and with views towards Princes Street Gardens and Edinburgh Castle.

I cant speak highly enough of this hotel - superb!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelC2679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

My husband and I decided to take a short break in Edinburgh and thought we'd try the Scotsman Hotel on North Bridge as previously we had stayed at the Sheraton Grand and wanted to sample something different.
It was absolutely wonderful in every way. the stafff were all friendly and chatty without being intrusive. The room overlooked North Bridge down towards Princes Street and was beautiful in detail and decor and very spacious.
There was a Scotsman newspaper delivered to the room every morning (hung on the outside door handle in a blue velvet bag!) and the array of teas, coffees. hot chocolate were probably the best we've seen in a hotel. We've been to quite a few 5 star establishments but this was definately the best and so deserving of its rating.
For once, the wi-fi was actually free which is very unusual and my husband had a lovely time at the swimming pool and sauna.
The breakfast was amazing with the best continental choice we've seen and hot breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious.
This year alone, we've stayed at Cameron House Loch Lomond and Marr Hall Renfrewshire and neither of these 5 star hotels were a patch on the Scotsman.
We can't wait to return, it was a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleachyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Just fantastic - we arrived on Friday afternoon and from our first contact with the porter to the time we left on Sunday night everything was brilliant. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was lovely and relaxing. I used the gym and went to 2 spinning classes, which were excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole weekend and the staff really made it. We ate in the brasserie on Saturday evening and the food was outstanding too. Absolutely no complaints and I would definitely go back.

One thing to note - I booked originally on "Laterooms.com" and paid £380 room only. I then checked the website direct and got the same standard of room for £342 B&B - worth checking that before booking.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fogmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
601 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing