We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #89 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 19 March 2007

A really pleasant, welcoming stay at this hotel. Due to some complicated arrangements, we needed to leave our bag the day before and they were happy to accommodate us. When we did arrive, our bag was already in our room. Whilst this is something you would expect from a 5 star hotel, it isn't something one can guarantee.
Anyway, gorgeous room, extraordinarily comfortable bed and all the little extras you could hope for, such as quality tea and coffee with a filter coffee machine, and fresh milk rather than awful UHT that is prevalent elsewhere. Very well appointed bathroom with a huge array of Cowshed products. The staff were all very friendly, and not at all snooty.
Breakfast was fantastic, as other people have mentioned, the continental breakfast buffet was beautiful. Additional things that made a difference for me were that all dishes on the full breakfast menu were included - none of them had supplements, which again, I found a welcome change.
So, not cheap, but at £149 for 2 including breakfast, it was a lovely treat and I'd rather pay this amount for a wonderful experience than save £20 or £30 and stay in a dump - something that is very easily done in Edinburgh - and I speak from bitter experience.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing - all good
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    595
    314
    158
    108
See reviews for
303
1,268
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pom in Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2007

Whether my experience is representative of the Scotsman I can't say, but I'm never staying there again.

One night in Edinburgh to catch up with old friends, one of which is a parliamentary journalist. I decided to stay in his old offices - the Scotsman building, which used to house the newspaper of the same name, and was recently converted into a 5-star hotel.

Initial impressions were good - friendly, quick (yet unhurried) check-in. I went to dinner with my friend in the hotel restaurant, which is a magnificent space with splendid food, attentive staff, and an excellent bar (willing to create cocktails not on the menu).

The problems began when I tried to use the room. The temperature controls were haywire and I was unable to get the room below sweltering, even with the radiating water heaters off. The aircon appeared to have failed, or wasn't blowing any cold in. Presumably they don't care about aircon in December in Scotland.

So I took a cold shower to cool off before trying to sleep, but the water pressure was at rock bottom, so it was not refreshing at all.

By now I was very tired, and lay down to sleep.

Which was disturbed at 4am by the fire alarm evacuating everyone onto the street. Apparently caused by the nightclub adjacent, with whom the Scotsman building shares a structure.

There's a lot of traffic noise reaching the rooms, too.

I've never found a hotel in Edinburgh that's to my liking, and the Scotsman is at the bottom of the pile.

  • Liked — Terrific restaurant and bar
  • Disliked — Noisy location, bad climate controls, pathetic water pressure.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inopinatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girvan, Ayrshire, Scotland.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2007

Had a fantastic stay at the Scotsman Hotel, Edinburgh. We actually arrived here by fluke as the Thistle, Edinburgh had over-booked us. From the moment we arrived at the Scotsman the friendly and efficient staff made our stay special, offering to book theatre tickets and taking our bags up to the room which was ready on arrival at 2.00pm.

After departing the lift, we were taken through a maze of corridors and doorways, arriving at our room on the 2nd floor. The bell boy familiarized us with how to operate the mood lighting, also explained internet access was extra and DVD's could be requested from reception. We had a beautiful deluxe room, very spacious indeed with all the 5 star luxuries, bathrobes, slippers, handcream, hair and bath products. Our view looked over Waverley Station to the Balmoral Hotel and Princess Street Gardens, beautiful at night. We didn't hear a sound from Waverley Station directly across the road thanks to the interior double glazing.

We also had complementary use of the Escape Health & Fitness
Club, with a 16 metre stainless steel pool, a multitude of exercise equipment, a coffee shop and treatments at an extra cost. Staff there were also very friendly and helpful. It's abit of a fiddle trying to find it on level 1, but a friendly member of staff directed us.

After a brilliant night out at the Playhouse we returned to our room, where staff had lowered the lighting and turned down our bedsheets. I thought this was amazing and delightful, adding to the perfect experience. We've stayed 5 star before, but without the extras.

At breakfast in the Brasserie the next morning we had an amazing choice. Full Scottish or continental which included a variety of cereals, cold meats, cheeses, wafer thin salmon, fruit salad, rolls, croissants juice and yoghurt. Breakfast staff were very attentive.

We paid £108.67 for one night, but for Thistle Hotel rates on the internet. What an amazing experience at the Scotsman Hotel, we'd recommend it to anyone. It renewed our faith in hotel breaks, after one or two bleak experiences else where. Well done The Scotsman and Edinburgh for it's charm, vibrancy and culture.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank straight-talk-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

WOW. What an amazing place to stay. A very clean, professional and outstanding hotel with brilliant staff and an excellent location. We have just stayed at this hotel for 1 night, it certainly wasnt long enough but we will be back, good rooms, excellent SPA facilities (dont forget your £1 coin), rooms are spacious well maintained, triple glazed, Good bathrooms with amazing roof hanging showers, an excellent range of COWSHED products for use in the bathrooms, Tea/Coffee making facilities nothing cheap all good makes, Planty of room for storing clothes, A study area, Too much too mention sorry.
If your off to Edinburgh please put this on your list of hotels to stay at, it really is worth it.
We paid £129 for the night, not including breakfast but it really is worth it as the rooms go for a lot more. £65pppn its nothing for this amazing hotel.

As you can see a lot of people have put excellent reviews in about The Scotsman Hotel, apart from a few moaners who want everything just outside their room everyone else is raving about it.

This hotel is a must.

Happy sleeping.

Preston Brookes.

  • Liked — Professionalism of staff
  • Disliked — Coudlnt work the coffee maker
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotel_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2007

I had always assumed that the Scotsman would be too expensive for anything other than a special occassion. But the hotel offered a rate of only £109 for a double room on a room only basis for a Friday night in January. This represents great value - the service is of a very high standard and the rooms are thoughfully designed. What I loved most about the place was staying in a building that has a real sense of history. Other reviewers have complained about the odd layout and the circuitous route you have to take to get to the Spa etc. But I would argue that this is the charm of the place. You are staying in a building that has played a really important part in Edinburgh's history.

The bathrooms are really great - even if the toiletries are attached to the wall! They are Cowshed products - so that more than makes up for their odd presentation.

The bar is fantastic - a brilliant place to meet friends.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OFile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay in the Scotsman and were more than happy with our £100/night deluxe room. Whether it is worth the £250 rack rate or the £400 quoted for the weekends when the Scottish rugby team are playing remains to be seen.

In terms of location it is hard to find a better placed hotel in Edinburgh, such is the Scotsman's proximity to both the Royal Mile and Princes Street (a couple of minutes walk to either destination). We also found the staff to be friendly and helpful, we had emailed ahead and were granted our request for an early check in (at 11.30), and during the course of the weekend nothing seemed to be of any trouble to them.

Having spent four years in Edinburgh during university I was aware that the Airport bus is excellent value (£5 return) and is certainly a good option for Scotsman guests as the final stop is Waverly Station (a few minutes walk from the Scotsman's lower entrance) Considering that a taxi usually costs £15-20 each way only those who have a reason to need a taxi should consider it a preferable option.

Our room was spacious and had a few nice touches like surround sound for the plasma screen tv and privacy hatch for room service. We had a lovely hot chocolate in the hotel brasserie after a morning of ice skating in Princes Street Gardens and also enjoyed a delicious lunch there on the Sunday afternoon before we left.

why only four out of five? The lifts are a disaster - especially if you are bound for the otherwise excellent spa facilities. You have to change lifts, wander narrow corriders that don't seem to lead anywhere, before finally crossing a bridge and taking another lift down to the basement. they frequently took forever to arrive and were out of order at other times. The other problem is less of the Scotsman's making in that it has the misfortune of being in the shadow (literally) of it's larger and grander rival The Balmoral. Having now stayed in both hotels It was obvious to me that although the Scotsman has been designed with sereral modern touches in an effort to offer an alternative to the grand dames of the Balmoral and The Caledonian it will always be measured against it's more traditional rivals. In that competition it doesn't quite measure up.....yet

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Lifts
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Craigtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Very nice hotel indeed. Paid £129 for deluxe room and wasn't disappointed. Had large room wiv tv and seperate office section over the back. Bathroom was very nice with best shower hav ever used! Superb location just on border of edinburgh's old town, excellent to explore royal mile and ghost walks in evening. Our cases were carried up to our room and after the bar closed we were shown to a private room where we cld continue drinking for as long as we wanted. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location and nice room
  • Disliked — Dirty plates left in privacy hatch
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the pool and ghost walks
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jackboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,725 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
911 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
599 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing