We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Scotsman Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Inn on the Mile(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,652)
Filter reviews
2,652 results
Traveller rating
1,313
682
360
171
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,313
682
360
171
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotsman newspapernorth bridge brasserieprivacy hatchroyal miletrain stationmarket streethealth clubdeluxe roombeautiful hotelsteam roommini baran upgradebirthday treatbeautiful roomcentral locationcalton hillprincess street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,410 - 2,415 of 2,652 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at the Scotsman - from the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was sumptuous (the pillows were wonderful), the bathroom spacious and marble. Lots of little touches - Edinburgh rock, interesting selection of books, bath robes, slippers...
We got the room at a very reasonable rate and would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

A really pleasant, welcoming stay at this hotel. Due to some complicated arrangements, we needed to leave our bag the day before and they were happy to accommodate us. When we did arrive, our bag was already in our room. Whilst this is something you would expect from a 5 star hotel, it isn't something one can guarantee.
Anyway, gorgeous room, extraordinarily comfortable bed and all the little extras you could hope for, such as quality tea and coffee with a filter coffee machine, and fresh milk rather than awful UHT that is prevalent elsewhere. Very well appointed bathroom with a huge array of Cowshed products. The staff were all very friendly, and not at all snooty.
Breakfast was fantastic, as other people have mentioned, the continental breakfast buffet was beautiful. Additional things that made a difference for me were that all dishes on the full breakfast menu were included - none of them had supplements, which again, I found a welcome change.
So, not cheap, but at £149 for 2 including breakfast, it was a lovely treat and I'd rather pay this amount for a wonderful experience than save £20 or £30 and stay in a dump - something that is very easily done in Edinburgh - and I speak from bitter experience.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2007

Whether my experience is representative of the Scotsman I can't say, but I'm never staying there again.

One night in Edinburgh to catch up with old friends, one of which is a parliamentary journalist. I decided to stay in his old offices - the Scotsman building, which used to house the newspaper of the same name, and was recently converted into a 5-star hotel.

Initial impressions were good - friendly, quick (yet unhurried) check-in. I went to dinner with my friend in the hotel restaurant, which is a magnificent space with splendid food, attentive staff, and an excellent bar (willing to create cocktails not on the menu).

The problems began when I tried to use the room. The temperature controls were haywire and I was unable to get the room below sweltering, even with the radiating water heaters off. The aircon appeared to have failed, or wasn't blowing any cold in. Presumably they don't care about aircon in December in Scotland.

So I took a cold shower to cool off before trying to sleep, but the water pressure was at rock bottom, so it was not refreshing at all.

By now I was very tired, and lay down to sleep.

Which was disturbed at 4am by the fire alarm evacuating everyone onto the street. Apparently caused by the nightclub adjacent, with whom the Scotsman building shares a structure.

There's a lot of traffic noise reaching the rooms, too.

I've never found a hotel in Edinburgh that's to my liking, and the Scotsman is at the bottom of the pile.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inopinatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2007

Had a fantastic stay at the Scotsman Hotel, Edinburgh. We actually arrived here by fluke as the Thistle, Edinburgh had over-booked us. From the moment we arrived at the Scotsman the friendly and efficient staff made our stay special, offering to book theatre tickets and taking our bags up to the room which was ready on arrival at 2.00pm.

After departing the lift, we were taken through a maze of corridors and doorways, arriving at our room on the 2nd floor. The bell boy familiarized us with how to operate the mood lighting, also explained internet access was extra and DVD's could be requested from reception. We had a beautiful deluxe room, very spacious indeed with all the 5 star luxuries, bathrobes, slippers, handcream, hair and bath products. Our view looked over Waverley Station to the Balmoral Hotel and Princess Street Gardens, beautiful at night. We didn't hear a sound from Waverley Station directly across the road thanks to the interior double glazing.

We also had complementary use of the Escape Health & Fitness
Club, with a 16 metre stainless steel pool, a multitude of exercise equipment, a coffee shop and treatments at an extra cost. Staff there were also very friendly and helpful. It's abit of a fiddle trying to find it on level 1, but a friendly member of staff directed us.

After a brilliant night out at the Playhouse we returned to our room, where staff had lowered the lighting and turned down our bedsheets. I thought this was amazing and delightful, adding to the perfect experience. We've stayed 5 star before, but without the extras.

At breakfast in the Brasserie the next morning we had an amazing choice. Full Scottish or continental which included a variety of cereals, cold meats, cheeses, wafer thin salmon, fruit salad, rolls, croissants juice and yoghurt. Breakfast staff were very attentive.

We paid £108.67 for one night, but for Thistle Hotel rates on the internet. What an amazing experience at the Scotsman Hotel, we'd recommend it to anyone. It renewed our faith in hotel breaks, after one or two bleak experiences else where. Well done The Scotsman and Edinburgh for it's charm, vibrancy and culture.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank straight-talk-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

WOW. What an amazing place to stay. A very clean, professional and outstanding hotel with brilliant staff and an excellent location. We have just stayed at this hotel for 1 night, it certainly wasnt long enough but we will be back, good rooms, excellent SPA facilities (dont forget your £1 coin), rooms are spacious well maintained, triple glazed, Good bathrooms with amazing roof hanging showers, an excellent range of COWSHED products for use in the bathrooms, Tea/Coffee making facilities nothing cheap all good makes, Planty of room for storing clothes, A study area, Too much too mention sorry.
If your off to Edinburgh please put this on your list of hotels to stay at, it really is worth it.
We paid £129 for the night, not including breakfast but it really is worth it as the rooms go for a lot more. £65pppn its nothing for this amazing hotel.

As you can see a lot of people have put excellent reviews in about The Scotsman Hotel, apart from a few moaners who want everything just outside their room everyone else is raving about it.

This hotel is a must.

Happy sleeping.

Preston Brookes.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hotel_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews