We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great service, average restaurant”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #84 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Great hotel, perfect location in the city center.
Staff has been very usefull.
Only disapointment is the quality of the restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva_Fats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,965 - 1,971 of 2,405 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed in a deluxe room at the Scotsman for 3 nights. Overall this hotel was excellent and the location is superb being a minute’s walk from the Royal Mile and Princes Street. The rooms were a good size with comfortable beds. A few nice touches are a serving hatch where room service was left, a bottle of water left by the turndown service, free daily newspaper and leaflet advising of the day’s weather and special offers in the Spa and a golf umbrella to borrow (or buy) if required. Fruit was in the room when we arrived however the strawberries and bananas looked as if they may have been there a while. The continental breakfast included in our rate was very good with the breakfast staff deserving a special mention for their friendly and efficient service. An a la carte breakfast menu was available also and portions were very generous

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlyMac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.



As you will be aware, normally avenues such as trip advisor are utilised for the negative aspects, which makes your kind words appreciated that little bit more.



I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman at some time in the future.



Kind Regards



Thomas Graham

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I've stayed in this hotel every August for the past four years and it used to be far and away the best of the Edinburgh hotels, albeit always very expensive. However, it now has a lack of focus and meanness of spirit that take away its former five star sense of quality leaving it very expensive and poor value for money. I would suggest considering the newly refurbished Sheraton if on business or the Missoni or Balmoral for leisure.

The Scotsman is extremely well located on Northbridge which is a stone's throw from the Royal Mile, which runs up to Edinburgh Castle, whilst the New Town and Princes Street are the other end of the Bridge. If you are attending the Edinburgh Festival or otherwise in Edinburgh as a tourist this is a great location. For business it's less useful as none of the City's major businesses is nearby. Northbridge itself however is slightly grotty, very busy with pedestrians and traffic and filled with souvenir shops, pizza restaurants and teenage fashion stores. Despite double glazing road traffic is audible in at least some of the bedrooms as is a nearby nightclub. The building itself is neatly converted from the Victorian offices of The Scotsman newspaper and most of the bedrooms are good sized, with large picture windows and nice views over either the castle or Firth of Forth. There are however some rooms that are dark, with poor views and high windows (504 for example). If you get one of these, immediately complain and ask for another. I've had suites and ordinary rooms and to be honest the ordinary rooms deliver everything you could want. The rooms are decorated in a modern take on traditional tartan or tweed, with original artworks, DVD/CD players, tea and coffee making and monopoly boards as a bit of fun. When first done the rooms were very smart but are now beginning to look tired. I notice also that the bathroom toiletries have been downgraded since my last visit and there is in general a feeling of penny pinching that erodes any air of refinement or luxury.

There is a health club with swimming pool, although the pool is windowless and rather like swimming in a tin can. There is a resident's lounge but this is decorated like a scuplure gallery and not a room designed for comfort, nor do I believe there is any service in this room so for drinks or food you need to go to the restaurant.

The restaurant/bar is a very poor offering. Set in a double height room with the bar in the centre it never gets any sunlight and has a cold and unlovely feeling. The lighting at night is no improvement. The food is very poor for a five star hotel, for example tinned fruit is on offer at breakfast, and my porridge was inedible. Dinner is no better and the wines are mostly very expensive. Service is a bit chaotic and there never seems to be anyone in charge of the room. I would avoid eating here if possible.

The front desk staff used to be entirely locals but are now a mixture of nationalities. I can understand the need for language skills in an international hotel but the consequence is that the feeling of arriving somewhere uniquely Scottish has gone. Furthermore, only one or two members of staff have any local knowledge. The staff are perfectly friendly and competent but there is no longer a sense of coming into somewhere special. Again, there does not seem to be anyone obviously in charge.

I was left feeling that the accountants are now in charge of this hotel and that a series of changes have been made to increase margins, which management thought the guests would not notice. As a result this hotel has gone from being lovely to ordinary whereas its prices are stratospheric. I'm happy to pay up but only if the product is right and in this case it isn't.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownbear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

After a poor stay and a complaint in 2008, we tried the Balmoral in 2009 and it was great. For 2010, we thought we'd give the Scotsman another try but it has been disappointing again. Very slow and poor service in the restaurant and two requests to change a bed to a twin were disregarded, leaving us frazzled late at night. Staff very helpful, especially locating a lost mobile phone, but otherwise it looks like it's back to The Balmoral next year.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vingthuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

If you want special treatment courteous service and just want to be spoilt in the middle of this special city this is the place for you, we had a deluxe room overlooking princes street which was quiet and luxurious , the spa is lovely if you have time in this lovely city.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerseygn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.



As you will be aware, normally avenues such as trip advisor are utilised for the negative aspects, which makes your kind words appreciated that little bit more.



I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman at some time in the future.



Kind Regards



Thomas Graham

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Shame really - I have stayed her a few times, but admittedly not for a few years. Booked a Publishers Room (no. 706) - the sitting area felt like a waiting room with two table and two small worn sofa's and very little natural light. Bed was fine. Shower (as part of bath) had tiny shower head - had to use shower attachment in conjunction with it to get wet all over! When checking in, reception went through the whole process then showed me the lift without giving me a room key! The hotel feels like it needs refreshing and some staff training. Porters were good though!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxuryLoverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I took my wife to Edinburgh as a surprise for her birthday and chose The Scotsman hotel. It's a beautiful building, though when we arrived they had some scaffolding that obscured the entrance way. Upon arrival it's a little unclear where the reception was, however after a swift check-in one of the knowledgable staff showed us to our room and explained in some detail the features of the room. Overall it was nice (I'd booked a standard room) though in need of some updating - curtains, carpet, cupboard had seen better days. The bed was exceptionally soft and very comfortable. We chose to have dinner in the hotel's brasserie which also has a separate entrance for non-guests; it turned out to be one of the best meals I've had in a restaurant - perfect! The Scotsman's location cannot be faulted - everything to see in this gorgeous city is within walking distance. Overall, there was nothing to spoil our stay, the people were friendly and the service good - I just wish the layout was altered to allow more visibility and accessibiilty to the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,917 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £98 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing