We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #84 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I think that on the whole, The Scotsman provides most things that a five star hotel should, and at quite a reasonable price. We had a week here and for the most part enjoyed our stay. The spa facilities were good, if not exceptional, and the gym was fitted out superbly. Both of us had a massage and all was very relaxing and professional. The pool/jacuzzi/sauna area wasn't as peaceful as it could have been due to a continuous supply of screaming children, and so didn't use it perhaps as much as we would have liked to. We didn't use the brasserie as we like to eat out, but it doesn't look very inviting anyway...very cold atmosphere to it. Desk service was excellent. We asked for some more coathangers and a vase for some flowers that we had been given, were assured that it would be attended to, but alas never received either. The superior room was very nice and clean, although not very 'superior' in size. The wardrobe could do with being big enough for two peoples clothes, especially if staying for a week. £18.00 for one days wi-fi, when most cheap cafes offer it for free without going bankrupt. Location is excellent. Had room service once, were told it would be 30 minutes and as we were going to be 'otherwise engaged', chose the option to have it delivered in special privacy hatch......it arrived an hour later and via a porter knocking on our door and interrupting us...bit of a pain that one! Food was good though. Lounge is unusable as a lounge.....more like an arts exhibition. Complimentary fruit same all week and even some of the pears started to go black...your five star guys so spend the £3.00 to keep them fresh.
On the whole I would say that the hotel is perhaps more like a 4 star. Most things are ok, but guys, unless you want The Balmoral to take all of your future custom, then you need to up your game quite a bit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comprehensive review and I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay at the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and generally, enjoyed your stay.
Our room service option allows our guests the discretion of using the “privacy hatch” for their room; once the food has been delivered then the porter would either knock on your door or ring the bell to ensure you are aware of the food being served but note that you felt this was a disturbance. As you have said our food is of a high standard and to ensure you enjoy it at its best we would not leave the food in the hatch without informing the guests.
You will be happy to know that since receiving a number of comments such as yours, we now offer complimentary WIFI to our hotel guests.
This is suitable for normal everyday use such as emails and general surfing. There is a connection available to guests within their rooms that they can plug into and this provides a high speed connection. We also offer a Business connection where by you are able to download large sized documents such as movies etc. Both the high speed and business connection came at a cost of £18.00 to the guest; they are however all marked on room bills as “internet usage” and not distinguished between. I believe that this would be where the confusion as come with your bill, I apologise that this was not explained clearer to you at check out.
I would like to apologise that you never received the flower vase and coat-hangers and have brought this to the attention of the Front of House Manager.
The fruit in the lounge is checked by our front of house team on a regular basis and I’m sorry that you found fruit that was not to your liking.
I agree with you regarding the unsuitability of the room that was utilised as a lounge during your stay and this is due to be relocated to a more suitable area within the hotel. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon so that you can enjoy this room and its facilities.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman and hope that it will once again be an exceptional stay for you.
Kind Regards
Thomas Graham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,962 - 1,968 of 2,405 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

Although listening to drunk kids singing Scotish songs outside our window was funny at first,...by 3am it lost it's humor and so did I!!
If I was to go back, I would definitely demand not being on the side of the nightclub on the back street!!! We were right at the top of a stairwell and the noise echoed right up to our room. For the $250 we spent I would expect more. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, but this was a deal-breaker!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calgontakemeaway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
As the Scotsman is a City Centre hotel we are, unfortunately subject to the noise pollution of a busy Capital City. Throughout the rooms and public areas of the hotel we have made every effort; such as double glazing to try and ensure our guests are not disturbed during their stay.
Here at the Scotsman we are very proud of our rooms and we are pleased you found your room to be “absolutely gorgeous.”
I would like to offer my apologies for the disturbance and ask that you personally contact me ahead of your next stay with us and I will ensure you are allocated a high floor room away from the street.
Kind Regards
Thomas Graham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at the Scotsman hotel for only 1 night as we were going on a trip with the royal scotsman train. For a reason unknown we were upgraded to a penthouse suite which is just being lucky I guess but I cannot remember any other hotel where the entire staff, porter, reception room maids etc. were all as helpfull, polite and friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel also for the ideal location should you wish to visit Edinburgh. If you want to be sure to make the right choice go to the Scotsman hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haagknul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.



As you will be aware, normally avenues such as trip advisor are utilised for the negative aspects, which makes your kind words appreciated that little bit more.



I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman at some time in the future.



Kind Regards



Thomas Graham

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Great hotel, perfect location in the city center.
Staff has been very usefull.
Only disapointment is the quality of the restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva_Fats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed in a deluxe room at the Scotsman for 3 nights. Overall this hotel was excellent and the location is superb being a minute’s walk from the Royal Mile and Princes Street. The rooms were a good size with comfortable beds. A few nice touches are a serving hatch where room service was left, a bottle of water left by the turndown service, free daily newspaper and leaflet advising of the day’s weather and special offers in the Spa and a golf umbrella to borrow (or buy) if required. Fruit was in the room when we arrived however the strawberries and bananas looked as if they may have been there a while. The continental breakfast included in our rate was very good with the breakfast staff deserving a special mention for their friendly and efficient service. An a la carte breakfast menu was available also and portions were very generous

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlyMac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.



As you will be aware, normally avenues such as trip advisor are utilised for the negative aspects, which makes your kind words appreciated that little bit more.



I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman at some time in the future.



Kind Regards



Thomas Graham

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I've stayed in this hotel every August for the past four years and it used to be far and away the best of the Edinburgh hotels, albeit always very expensive. However, it now has a lack of focus and meanness of spirit that take away its former five star sense of quality leaving it very expensive and poor value for money. I would suggest considering the newly refurbished Sheraton if on business or the Missoni or Balmoral for leisure.

The Scotsman is extremely well located on Northbridge which is a stone's throw from the Royal Mile, which runs up to Edinburgh Castle, whilst the New Town and Princes Street are the other end of the Bridge. If you are attending the Edinburgh Festival or otherwise in Edinburgh as a tourist this is a great location. For business it's less useful as none of the City's major businesses is nearby. Northbridge itself however is slightly grotty, very busy with pedestrians and traffic and filled with souvenir shops, pizza restaurants and teenage fashion stores. Despite double glazing road traffic is audible in at least some of the bedrooms as is a nearby nightclub. The building itself is neatly converted from the Victorian offices of The Scotsman newspaper and most of the bedrooms are good sized, with large picture windows and nice views over either the castle or Firth of Forth. There are however some rooms that are dark, with poor views and high windows (504 for example). If you get one of these, immediately complain and ask for another. I've had suites and ordinary rooms and to be honest the ordinary rooms deliver everything you could want. The rooms are decorated in a modern take on traditional tartan or tweed, with original artworks, DVD/CD players, tea and coffee making and monopoly boards as a bit of fun. When first done the rooms were very smart but are now beginning to look tired. I notice also that the bathroom toiletries have been downgraded since my last visit and there is in general a feeling of penny pinching that erodes any air of refinement or luxury.

There is a health club with swimming pool, although the pool is windowless and rather like swimming in a tin can. There is a resident's lounge but this is decorated like a scuplure gallery and not a room designed for comfort, nor do I believe there is any service in this room so for drinks or food you need to go to the restaurant.

The restaurant/bar is a very poor offering. Set in a double height room with the bar in the centre it never gets any sunlight and has a cold and unlovely feeling. The lighting at night is no improvement. The food is very poor for a five star hotel, for example tinned fruit is on offer at breakfast, and my porridge was inedible. Dinner is no better and the wines are mostly very expensive. Service is a bit chaotic and there never seems to be anyone in charge of the room. I would avoid eating here if possible.

The front desk staff used to be entirely locals but are now a mixture of nationalities. I can understand the need for language skills in an international hotel but the consequence is that the feeling of arriving somewhere uniquely Scottish has gone. Furthermore, only one or two members of staff have any local knowledge. The staff are perfectly friendly and competent but there is no longer a sense of coming into somewhere special. Again, there does not seem to be anyone obviously in charge.

I was left feeling that the accountants are now in charge of this hotel and that a series of changes have been made to increase margins, which management thought the guests would not notice. As a result this hotel has gone from being lovely to ordinary whereas its prices are stratospheric. I'm happy to pay up but only if the product is right and in this case it isn't.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownbear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

After a poor stay and a complaint in 2008, we tried the Balmoral in 2009 and it was great. For 2010, we thought we'd give the Scotsman another try but it has been disappointing again. Very slow and poor service in the restaurant and two requests to change a bed to a twin were disregarded, leaving us frazzled late at night. Staff very helpful, especially locating a lost mobile phone, but otherwise it looks like it's back to The Balmoral next year.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vingthuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,918 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,032 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £98 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing