We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£179
Priceline
£199
Vio.com
£161
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,898)
Filter reviews
3,898 results
Traveller rating
2,059
901
489
249
200
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,059
901
489
249
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scotsman newspaper north bridge royal mile train station market street the penthouse beautiful hotel mini bar bottle of prosecco beautiful room old town breakfast room central location edinburgh castle sportsman ivor concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 3,898 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2023

We came from Greece for vacation and we were really excited about the location of the hotel, how clean it was and how friendly the staff was with us, especially Stephen. He was very helpful and gave us some great local advice in order to make our trip better. We hope all hotels had such lovely and caring employees🙂

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DUTY MANAGER, Guest Services / Front Office at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had a perfect stay and that Stephen made such a positive impression on you. Our team takes great pride in maintaining a clean and welcoming environment for all our guests, and we are delighted that this aspect of your stay met your expectations.

We appreciate your kind words and hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Queenie D'Costa
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2023

What a magical venue for any occasion. Stunning interior, grand but with cosy corners. I enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea with a friend. The food was truly delicious. Every mouthful perfectly balanced and complimentary. A very relaxed atmosphere. Eventually we topped it off with an perfectly prepared cocktail made with the best of ingredients. Service was impeccable thanks to Calum and Lachlan and a host of other attentive staff.Relaxed, comfortable and definitely a place I'd go again.

Room tip: It is part of an hotel, beautiful restaurant. In the heart of Edinburgh. Great transport links. Excellent for shopping and Christmas events.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DUTY MANAGER, Guest Services / Front Office at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review about your experience at our restaurant during Christmas Afternoon Tea. We are thrilled to hear that you had a magical time and enjoyed our stunning and cosy interior, as well as the delicious afternoon tea that was perfectly balanced and complimentary. We take pride in creating a relaxed atmosphere for our guests, and we’re delighted to hear that you felt comfortable and had a great time during your visit.

We’re also happy that you enjoyed our perfectly prepared cocktails made with the best ingredients and that our service, particularly from Calum, Lachlan, and the rest of our attentive staff, was impeccable. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we will surely pass them along to our team.

It’s wonderful to hear that you would choose to visit us again, and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Queenie D'Costa
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Scotsman, super location and two different levels to catch cabs, access transport or the main entrance at the top of the Scotsman steps. Staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We booked a director room with a city view, had a great view from the 6th floor - room is spacious with a fab bathroom (loved the ceiling speakers!) . Small amount of street noise and from the station but minimal (I always take earplugs away - so zero for me). Beds are super comfy.

Breakfast is served in a separate room, the choice is great and you can also order separate items. Plenty of choice re drinks etc. The young lady who manages the breakfast room does an amazing job (sorry I didn’t get her name) ensuring everything runs smoothly.

Would recommend 🥂

Room tip: Road works on the bridge , allow time for cabs and drop offs.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VBurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DUTY MANAGER, Guest Services / Front Office at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Scotsman. We're thrilled that you had a great stay and enjoyed our prime location. Our team takes pride in providing exceptional service, and we're happy that you found our staff friendly and accommodating.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your director room, including the stunning city view from the 6th floor, the spacious room, and the fabulous bathroom with ceiling speakers.
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and found the choices to be plentiful. We will certainly pass on your compliments to Anna Maria who manages the breakfast room for her outstanding service.

Thank you for recommending The Scotsman, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future.

Warm regards,
Queenie D'Costa
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay in this beautiful hotel
Room was very well appointed with a great view of Princes Street
Chocolates and a card for our anniversary was a lovely touch
Great location for both new and old town areas
Breakfast well presented and plentiful
Will definitely be back

Room tip: Great location for the train station
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank samuelskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DUTY MANAGER, Guest Services / Front Office at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2023

Dear Samuel,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you've had a wonderful stay with us.


We are looking forward to welcome you back here at the Scotsman Hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jan Coskun
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2023

Five star all the way. This hotel did not disappoint. the rooms were massive and immaculate and the attention to detail super. The beds were super comfy, I had the best night sleep. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much. The hotel was impressive and the facilities just perfect. The location was ideal and was a great base to explore edinburgh. It was a bit pricey but it was worth it. I felt totally spoiled. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank loustar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DUTY MANAGER, Guest Services / Front Office at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear Guest,

I would like to express my gratitude for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. It brings us immense pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable time with us, and we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future.

Warm regards,
Queenie D'Costa
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews