We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“a very nice Hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have stayed here twice now. the first time the room was at the back of the hotel and there were no views. in fact not nice views. 2nd visit fantastic views had a room on the front of the hotel overlooking Princess street gardens and the castle.Couldnt ask for better. the inclusive breakfast on both occasions had a wonfderfull view overlooking the gardens etc. the staff always try to seat you with a good view. breakfast was not too bad it could be a little hotter it was just luke warm. it does depend on other guests to put the lids back on the containers to keep the food hot. would be nice to have Haggis at breakfast like other scottich hotels we have stayed in. the toaster needed to be turned up a bit toast was white? Service was excellent throughout the hotel. you will not be dissapointed with service or help. rooms well kept and wonderfully clean and serviced. very close to waverley station you can walk it in less than 5 minutes. and it is central to every where you want to visit. iit.s only 1.8 miles to walk to the top of arthurs seat. and minutes to the royal mile. Wifi throught the hotel would be a good improvement
go on book it you deserve it

Room Tip: for best views ask for one on the front of the hotel. any floor will be ok. not been bothered with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgang_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your continued support and review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    834
    588
    210
    138
See reviews for
341
998
135
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, near the airport bus stop and train station. They serve a good breakfast but starts a bit late. I was in a single-bed room in the last floor (7th), small and a bit old, but well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udcitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that you found our location to be excellent. We do hope that you use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

To be fair, the One rating is being kind to this Mercure. If I could give none, I would!

From the moment we checked in (I was parking the car while the staff helpfully watched my wife struggle for 4 bags) to the moment we checked out; not once did the saff ask if we were enjoying our stay. Indeed, they even managed to tell my wife that Aberdeen was "Dull and grey and they didn't like it" - good start, slagging off the costomer's home town!

The room was VERY small, the bed was undersized (I'm 6'2" and my feet dangled off the end) and probably the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in, there was no fridge, no air con, the window only opened a few inches thanks to the vista from the window - a red fire escape stair, the decor is at least 20 years out of date and at no point did this hotel feel like a premuim brand. Internet on the TV and some of the channels were extra, £5 per hour for internet for example...

While the location is good, bear in mind that Princess street is closed to traffic and parking is difficult around that area, not the hotel's fault; but not very helpful when the website only says "Street parking nearby" - if you know Edinburgh, you'll know that's around George street with a 2 hour max stay!!

For the extra £40 or so, get a deal at the Missoni or Ricks and live it up!

We'll not be back.

Room Tip: This is easy - go somewhere else! Missoni for example on a special cost us £120 a night - roughly £4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McPuninho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We would sincerely like apologise that you did not feel the rooms matched your expectaions. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the staffing issue you have highlighted and taken action. Due to the hotel being a historic building we do have many different room types and room sizes. Should you decide to visit us agin i would recommend that you book one of our castle facing rooms or an executive room should you require more space.

The NCP carpark at Waverley train station has many spaces and offers discounts to guests staying at our hotel and is only a few moments walk to the hotel

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, practically opposite Scott's Momument and the Scottish national gallery.

The decor inside the hotel is a little dated however the rooms themselves were really nice! The bed was comfy and we had a flat screen TV. The bathroom was fine, there was a little bit of mildew on the tiles, but it didn't prevent the shower/bath/toilet etc from working and overall it was quite presentable.

The breakfast in the morning was gorgeous! Loads of selection on a hot and cold buffet, and there were also things like eggs Benedict you could order from the kitchen. Really couldn't fault the breakfast.

We stayed in this hotel through a gift experience someone brought us for Christmas so I can't really comment on the price of the room as I don't know how much it was.

We would reccomend this hotel to visitors to Edinburgh and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomechompski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your continued support and review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable.We do have a fantastic location and we are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast .

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was lovely hotel to stay in. The room was very nice and we had a great view of the castle. Although we asked for twin beds, we were given a queen size bed. The check in process and room service were excellent. Unfortunately at 7am, the breakfast started too late to be easily convenient for some of the tours where we had to be at the Royal Mile by 7.45am. We were rather grudgingly let in at 6.45am. The hot food was ready by 7am and we made the tour in time but it was a rush. Even a half hour earlier breakfast start time would make a big difference.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelisk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad that you enjoyed the lovely view from your room. I am sorry that we could not accommodate you earlier for your breakfast. I would like to thank you for highlighting this issue, I will certainly address it with the team.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#66 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing