We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #121 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel has a great situation if you are travelling by public transport. It is a 5-10 minute walk up the hill from Waverley Station and just around the corner from the AirLink bus service to the airport. The tram construction works are outside the hotel. There are no public car parks really close to the hotel. The entrance to the hotel is grand and the reception area is great. The hotel is right in the centre of the city with great views to the castle. The hotel is central for walking along Princes Street or over to the Royal Mile in the Old Town or back to the New Town.
There are two issues with the hotel - the bedrooms and the customer services from management. Firstly the rooms are tired. This is fine for a 3 star hotel but the rooms are not of a high standard and needing refurbishment. I have included some photos including a long hair in the sink as well as scuffs on the wall and dampness in the toilet. It is a shame as it seems that the rooms have had little or no investment on them over the years. Budget hotels would be similar rooms but not charging the same prices for the rooms. I did explain the position with the room condition to the lady on reception who was very sympathetic and apologised.
The other issue with the hotel was with the senior management. I had an issue over a split in the booking which meant I had to pay premium prices - definitely not worth it or value for month. The duty manager on the evening was completely unhelpful and unsympathetic to the position and that there was nothing he could do to help as the computer said no. He was professional but lacking in any form of empathy with my position. We have used Mercure loads recently across the UK and their staff on reception are generally very helpful and accommodating but not on this occasion at Edinburgh.

There is a great view across Princess Street Gardens and the Castle from the breakfast room. Breakfast is fine.

If you get a budget hotel price for this hotel then I would recommend it. However, the hotel is not worth paying premium prices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view but may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, I would like to ensure you that we have looked into the cleanliness and staffing issue that you have highlighted and taken action. I do hope that you would consider visiting us again when you are in Edinburgh as i can assure you your enjoyment will be a priority to us.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,915 - 1,921 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel is situated in a perfect place, to enjoy both old and new town.
Rooms are ok for a 3 star in UK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dartinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our hotels location to be good. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SPahirah
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have stayed here twice now. the first time the room was at the back of the hotel and there were no views. in fact not nice views. 2nd visit fantastic views had a room on the front of the hotel overlooking Princess street gardens and the castle.Couldnt ask for better. the inclusive breakfast on both occasions had a wonfderfull view overlooking the gardens etc. the staff always try to seat you with a good view. breakfast was not too bad it could be a little hotter it was just luke warm. it does depend on other guests to put the lids back on the containers to keep the food hot. would be nice to have Haggis at breakfast like other scottich hotels we have stayed in. the toaster needed to be turned up a bit toast was white? Service was excellent throughout the hotel. you will not be dissapointed with service or help. rooms well kept and wonderfully clean and serviced. very close to waverley station you can walk it in less than 5 minutes. and it is central to every where you want to visit. iit.s only 1.8 miles to walk to the top of arthurs seat. and minutes to the royal mile. Wifi throught the hotel would be a good improvement
go on book it you deserve it

Room Tip: for best views ask for one on the front of the hotel. any floor will be ok. not been bothered with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgang_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your continued support and review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, near the airport bus stop and train station. They serve a good breakfast but starts a bit late. I was in a single-bed room in the last floor (7th), small and a bit old, but well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udcitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that you found our location to be excellent. We do hope that you use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Harrogate, United Kingdom
3
Reviewed 23 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2012

To be fair, the One rating is being kind to this Mercure. If I could give none, I would!

From the moment we checked in (I was parking the car while the staff helpfully watched my wife struggle for 4 bags) to the moment we checked out; not once did the saff ask if we were enjoying our stay. Indeed, they even managed to tell my wife that Aberdeen was "Dull and grey and they didn't like it" - good start, slagging off the costomer's home town!

The room was VERY small, the bed was undersized (I'm 6'2" and my feet dangled off the end) and probably the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in, there was no fridge, no air con, the window only opened a few inches thanks to the vista from the window - a red fire escape stair, the decor is at least 20 years out of date and at no point did this hotel feel like a premuim brand. Internet on the TV and some of the channels were extra, £5 per hour for internet for example...

While the location is good, bear in mind that Princess street is closed to traffic and parking is difficult around that area, not the hotel's fault; but not very helpful when the website only says "Street parking nearby" - if you know Edinburgh, you'll know that's around George street with a 2 hour max stay!!

For the extra £40 or so, get a deal at the Missoni or Ricks and live it up!

We'll not be back.

Room Tip: This is easy - go somewhere else! Missoni for example on a special cost us £120 a night - roughly £4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McPuninho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We would sincerely like apologise that you did not feel the rooms matched your expectaions. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the staffing issue you have highlighted and taken action. Due to the hotel being a historic building we do have many different room types and room sizes. Should you decide to visit us agin i would recommend that you book one of our castle facing rooms or an executive room should you require more space.

The NCP carpark at Waverley train station has many spaces and offers discounts to guests staying at our hotel and is only a few moments walk to the hotel

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,080 reviews
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £72 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing