We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good point was the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only good point was the location”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My partner and I booked a two night stay (with breakfast included) at this hotel after winning a voucher and this being on the list of participating hotels. When booking the hotel we were told there was no reference number or email needed, however we received a phone call the day before check-in asking for the voucher reference again!

Upon arrival the carpet is old and the hotel entrance is dated and dingy. The reception on the first floor is the same and although the staff at first appeared helpful there was a clear sense of being smirked out - was this because we had a voucher? Unsure...

The room we were given was just horrendous. It was a SMALL double room, overlooking the back of the M&S downstairs and the window was about 30cm away from the fire escape staircase. The noise of the air conditioning units outside was unbearable. The bathroom was dated, with two old locks on the door and dirty flooring. One towel (more later found in the wardrobe), one hand towel and no shower cap.

We went downstairs and asked to be moved to a different room, preferably on another side to the air conditioning units! They did move us however it did feel as if they were not too happy moving us to the "view" side. Upon entering the new room it was much bigger, the view was of Princes Street and the Castle and it appeared cleaner. Unfortunately the bathroom was much the same but this time the flush handle was hanging out of the toilet. We called reception and they sent someone up. When we came back in later that evening the handle was fixed, the flush took 3 or 4 attempts still and the packaging from the part was just left in the sink and was dirty.

After retiring for the night, the paper-thin walls became apparent as our neighbours in the next room decided to argue all night until about 1am. They then started up again at 5am at which point we asked reception to intervene.

We had breakfast the next day - the buffet meant you could eat what you wanted however choices were limited and the dining room was busy and dated.

We left this hotel a day early, we had a poor experience with the room, the staff and the hotel in general which was a shame as the location was ideal. Upon checking out they didn't ask us about our stay or why we were leaving early, which was a shame as I would have liked to provide some feedback about our experience there. It felt as though we were not as worthy of a nice room because we had a gift experience voucher rather than paying customers which is a shame as it ruined our experience and made us wished we had chosen elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room to avoid ending up looking at a fire escape
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich_C_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review. We would sincerely like to apologise that our hotel and rooms did not match your expectations. I am pleased that when requested you were upgraded to a front facing room. The reception area that you highlighted had actually been refurbished a short time ago with new carperts being put down at the entrance and stairwell. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the staffing issue that you have highlighted and action taken. Once again our sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    844
    593
    218
    141
See reviews for
348
1,012
135
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights stay. The hotel is in a perfect location with good views of the castle. The hotel room was clean and a little larger than expected. The breakfast is served buffet style offering a good choice of food. We used the restaurant for High tea twice because it offered fantastic value for money. Our main reason for being in Edinburgh was the theatre which is only a 10 minute walk from here. I enjoyed watching the squirrels in the gardens,( will have to take my camera next time) This hotel like many others would benefit with a little TLC but that would put up the price, as for now it offers good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDWARD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valued review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. Thank you for your nice comments regarding breakfast and High Tea. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour package.

First, let me say, this hotel is in a great location.

It's a much older hotel, needs a little TLC and refurbishing. But was clean and the staff was very helpful. The room was okay, again, clean, but needed updating. There is no air conditioning in the hotel, but our room had a fan. We needed it.

But, the hotel is in a great location.

Breakfast was average English breakfast. The restaurant looked over Princes Street, which was nice.

They had one standing computer station for free internet access. I found this to be common in every hotel at which we stayed in the United Kingdom. Not everyone travels with their computer or tablet, or has access through their phone.

Did I mention, the hotel is in a great location?

About the location: Just down the street was the Royal Scottish Academy and the National Gallery of Scotland, which has a very nice collection. Worth seeing.

Also, the hotel is within walking distance of all kinds of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sthrnfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you particularly enjoyed our location. We do hope that you will use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Walk to Edinburgh castle, museums, many pubs and restaurants as well as lots of shopping. Waverly train station 2 blocks away. Many city buses right outside the door and they are easy to use. Literally right next door is a large supermarket with lots of ready made food. Restaurant is good but not exceptional. Staff wonderful. Breakfast good.
Negatives; several times I and other guests had to yell out, "hello, hello", to get an employee to come to the reception desk. The wifi works on 2 floors, but if you go to the 1st floor reception area, there is not even a bench on which to sit to use your iPad. On checkout, I was given a bill for my room which had already been pre paid. there are 4 stairs to negotiate with your luggage at the entrance an no one to help. The lobby is one flight up.
If you book a room with a view, be sure you are not a light sleeper. The delivery trucks start really early making noise in the morning and sometimes the seagulls too. Sleeping at night was not a problem, and I rise early anyway so it was worth it for the view.
Bed comfortable. I would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tizibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and the hotels location excellent. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. The free WIFI is also available in our restaurant and bar area which has plenty of seats for guests to sit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We came with an Ulster Bus tour and from the start were treated like a nuisance rather than clients! Firts the receptionist didn't really want to look for a list of people on the tour as she wanted to wait for our driver to arrive (why? that still remains a mystery). When told he had no intentions of coming there she unwilling looked at some papers and allowed us to check in. Our room was old, dingy and dusty with a strong smell of furniture polish. The bedlinen was clean but the towels looked dodgy so we used our own. The bathroom was unclean, with a urine smell and plenty of balck mold, oh, and a long black hair stuck to the door... The carpet was evidently cleaned with a poor hoover which made it obvious that some work had been done but bits of dirt remained untouched. You could see that the tea making drawer was only ever wiped very quickly as corners were full of dust. What's more, one of the cups had a bright lipstich stain on it and the kettle was really full of limescale. All in all, the room looked as if it was inhabited and cleaned by an elderly person who couldn't bend or easily access places and whose eysight was failing them - the state completely forgivable in a relative's house, but not in a hotel charging for staying in it. When we enquired at the reception about the location of the breakfast area we were told that our breakfast wasn't included and had to be paid for separately. It took us five minuts to clarify that issue after which we could eventually proceed. The breakfast area was full of light and with a nice view, but chaotic, and frankly dirty (from table cloths to cutlery). Breakfast was eatable, but that's all. If it hadn't been already paid for we wouldn't have ventured past the sign "Please wait to be seated". The food was not freash and tea and coffee were frankly disgusting. I support other reviewer's comments about shabby lobby and reception, dangerous carpet, smells and staff who couldn't care less and only ever spoke and smiled to each other. There might well be nice rooms in this hotel but what we were presented with was a disgrace. I would say stay away from it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are extremely sorry that our hotel did not match your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the cleanliness and staff issues that you have highlighted and taken action. I can assure you that this is not our normal standards of service. The lobby and reception area have recently been refurbished with all carpets replaced. Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,998 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
544 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,821 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing