We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel is ideally located for walking to The Royal Mile and the Castle and for the shops in Princes Steet. Buses run from outside or 5 mins walk away for the airport link and the city tour buses. The only downside of is that it was noisy if you wanted to have the window open but this did not spoil it for us. Hotel staff welcoming and rooms clean and warm.Our room was 661 and from the window we had a view of the castle, the Scott Monument and the park. The breakfasts and evening meals we had were lovely and there are many restaurants nearby in and around Princes Street and the Royal Mile if you don't want to eat in the hotel. I would use this hotel again and would recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again Thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    811
    558
    207
    132
See reviews for
332
961
129
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed over weekend 19th- 21st Oct. At check in we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a castle view for £15 per night when my husband declined she swiftly changed the fee to £5 per night which we decided to take however we were not impressed by the rip off tactics!! Our room was fine and it was clean. Bed was comfortable, furniture a little dated. Breakfast was from 8.30 till 10.30 so we went down at 9.30. Dining room was half full, we were still asked to sit in the wating area for 5 mins. Still dont know why? Breakfast was a fiasco!!! I was told it would be 10 mins before they could replemish the food. I stood in a queue like a child in a dinner hall. Ten mins pasted and I asked again and was told sorry it would be a further 5 to 10 mins. I have never experienced anything like this in any hotel I have ever stayed in. I walked off in disgussed and had some toast and marmalade instead. Sunday morning was a bit better I actually got my breakfast but was down at 8.45. They really need to get their act together, for a city centre hotel
sorry just not good enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dindalick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review. We would sincerely like to apologise regarding the room upgrade. Upgrades should be charged at £30 per room, I would like to assure you that I have addressed this issue with the front office team to ensure no future repetition. My sincere apologies regarding the breakfast service, I can assure you that I will look into this as this is most definitely not our normal standards of service.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Upon check-in staff were helpful and pleasant.

Our forth floor room overlooked Princes Street and the Old Town with an excellent view of Edinburgh Castle. The room was nicely presented and clean and was equipped with the bare necessities we required given we were out sightseeing for the most part of our day.

The breakfast provided was very good and plentiful. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night of our arrival which was good but a little on the expensive side given the various other options located nearby.

Overall, we recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good base to explore Edinburgh because of the fantastic location, close to all the major attractions and transport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJD1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and the hotels location excellent. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We do hope that you will consider visiting us again.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I've stayed here several times in the past couple of year for work. The hotel is in a perfect location if you arrive by train (2 minutes walk from Waverly) and is a short walk from the Royal Mile.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and if you get a high floor at the front, have a great view. The beds are very comfortable and the room often has a sofa so have a nice feel of being more than just a bedroom. The TV generally has a good selection of movies and the room service is pretty good, so you can quite happily just relax in the room for an evening after a long day of meetings. The service is always good and prompt, with the only exception being the front desk can very often be 5 people deep when you're running for a train.

The bathrooms are a little small but do the job.

I've not tried the bar and restaurant before, as the location is such that tons of decent restaurants are just a short walk away. The location really is very good for everything you would want in Edinburgh.

I stay here regularly and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest.

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see that they excelled again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Waverly Station. If you plan to stay here I very much recommend travelling by train as there did not appear to be any parking. The location is excellent, offering an easy short walk to the Castle and the Roayl Mile. The bedroom was larger than expected, it was clean and luxurious. Bathroom was on the small side and not very luxurious, however it was clean and well equipped. The staff were all friendly and helpful. the breakfast was great as was our evening meal on one night.
Our only problem was the fact that they appear to let large same sex groups stay. Great if you are part of the group, however as a couple is wasn't so nice to be woken twice on the Friday night by groups of rambunctious men shouting to each other down the corridors outside our room. You could also hear people shouting in the street below, despite being on the 5th floor. This could proabably be avoided if you stayed during the week. Checkout is at 12pm, however we were woken at 8.45am on the Sunday morning by someone knocking loudly on all the doors before the cleaners came round. Not quite sure why this was necessary. Also the communal areas are a little tired and need some updating. Otherwise this really is a great hotel and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up from the street as possible and at the end of a corridor where you are less li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and the hotels location excellent. I am sorry that you were disturbed by other guests. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the housekeeping issue that you highlighted and taken action to ensure no future repetition. We do hope that you would consider visiting us again.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

this hotel is within walking distance to many many places, it is close to waverly station( across the street) and the buses run frequently in front of the hotel
our room was on the front 5th floor as requested a castle view, good size room, but only a double bed, good size bath ...... we dealt with the bed size...as it was worth the mystical view every morning and evening...housekeeping staff very good and willing to make your stay pleasant it was chilly while we were there and a simple request for more blankets was quickly answered
yes, our room had lots of street noise, you will awaken at 5-6am with delivery trucks, but in the evening no problem falling asleep
negative......off the street you must walk up 1/2 flight of stairs then take elevator to 1st fl for registration...noticed this was an issue for some and there are no bell hops! you get your luggage to and from your room! also noticed the front desk personnel were not alway at desk on numerous occasions had to call out to them to come front and on one occasion i went behind desk and knocked at window........becarful of 24hr room service, we called for coffee and light breakfast to room and were told that we had a coffee machine in our room (instant coffee) and restaurant was open for breakfast.......we did not want a full breakfast...just good coffee delivered to room, i went down to restaurant and they gave me a pot of coffee to take up stairs. then why do they have a 24hr room service menu in room????
positive....location, upgraded room worth the extra $ except for the double bed..and the restaurant at dinner ate there 2 times was very good.the front desk folks when you could get them were helpful.

Room Tip: just decide how important sleeping late is to you, if that is issue than request back side of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharond317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and the hotels location. I am extremely sorry that you had issues with the front desk staff and the 24hr room service. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the issues that you highlighted and action taken.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

My partner and I booked a two night stay (with breakfast included) at this hotel after winning a voucher and this being on the list of participating hotels. When booking the hotel we were told there was no reference number or email needed, however we received a phone call the day before check-in asking for the voucher reference again!

Upon arrival the carpet is old and the hotel entrance is dated and dingy. The reception on the first floor is the same and although the staff at first appeared helpful there was a clear sense of being smirked out - was this because we had a voucher? Unsure...

The room we were given was just horrendous. It was a SMALL double room, overlooking the back of the M&S downstairs and the window was about 30cm away from the fire escape staircase. The noise of the air conditioning units outside was unbearable. The bathroom was dated, with two old locks on the door and dirty flooring. One towel (more later found in the wardrobe), one hand towel and no shower cap.

We went downstairs and asked to be moved to a different room, preferably on another side to the air conditioning units! They did move us however it did feel as if they were not too happy moving us to the "view" side. Upon entering the new room it was much bigger, the view was of Princes Street and the Castle and it appeared cleaner. Unfortunately the bathroom was much the same but this time the flush handle was hanging out of the toilet. We called reception and they sent someone up. When we came back in later that evening the handle was fixed, the flush took 3 or 4 attempts still and the packaging from the part was just left in the sink and was dirty.

After retiring for the night, the paper-thin walls became apparent as our neighbours in the next room decided to argue all night until about 1am. They then started up again at 5am at which point we asked reception to intervene.

We had breakfast the next day - the buffet meant you could eat what you wanted however choices were limited and the dining room was busy and dated.

We left this hotel a day early, we had a poor experience with the room, the staff and the hotel in general which was a shame as the location was ideal. Upon checking out they didn't ask us about our stay or why we were leaving early, which was a shame as I would have liked to provide some feedback about our experience there. It felt as though we were not as worthy of a nice room because we had a gift experience voucher rather than paying customers which is a shame as it ruined our experience and made us wished we had chosen elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room to avoid ending up looking at a fire escape
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich_C_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review. We would sincerely like to apologise that our hotel and rooms did not match your expectations. I am pleased that when requested you were upgraded to a front facing room. The reception area that you highlighted had actually been refurbished a short time ago with new carperts being put down at the entrance and stairwell. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the staffing issue that you have highlighted and action taken. Once again our sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#101 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing