We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our stay was comfortable and everything that was expected. The only criticism being that the room was very warm, but opening the window and having the hubbub from Prices Street sorted that.

Would certainly stay here again when venturing through to the exotic east.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    850
    599
    221
    143
See reviews for
350
1,025
136
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caithness
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My significant other was booked into this hotel by her employer and I accompanied them (we paid the difference). We would have usually stayedin an edge of town hotel and traveled in by public transport so staying in a city centre hotel would not be our usual choice.
I was pleasantly surprised by the standards in this establihment. We were given a room at the front of the hotel so had views over the castle and Scott monument and yes, there was traffic noise, but it was not excessive and after 10 pm was minimal. I wouldn't like to comment on how it might be on a warm summers evening when you might want the window open though. (there was a fan supplied to cool you but no a/c.
Parking was £15 for 24 hours at the Omni centre 10 minutes walk away.
The food was OK and the bar about usual for city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and we are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay. We do hope that you would consider visiting us again.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our stay in Edinburgh was enhanced by the Princes Street Hotel. Being our first time there, it is right where you want to be. We had a great view of Edinburgh Castle and Old Town from the window in our room and close enough to the train station to walk to the hotel. The room was just as advertised and photographed - just a little small - but again as we expected. This is a good value and a great location. We also had dinner 'twice' in the Dining Room. This was unusual for us because we usually like to eat away from where we stay. The dinners were excellent with good service. The location is a short taxi ride or a good walk to the Royal Mile which provides a great flavor of the history of Edinburgh. Again - an excellent choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booker_idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel is ideally located for walking to The Royal Mile and the Castle and for the shops in Princes Steet. Buses run from outside or 5 mins walk away for the airport link and the city tour buses. The only downside of is that it was noisy if you wanted to have the window open but this did not spoil it for us. Hotel staff welcoming and rooms clean and warm.Our room was 661 and from the window we had a view of the castle, the Scott Monument and the park. The breakfasts and evening meals we had were lovely and there are many restaurants nearby in and around Princes Street and the Royal Mile if you don't want to eat in the hotel. I would use this hotel again and would recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again Thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed over weekend 19th- 21st Oct. At check in we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a castle view for £15 per night when my husband declined she swiftly changed the fee to £5 per night which we decided to take however we were not impressed by the rip off tactics!! Our room was fine and it was clean. Bed was comfortable, furniture a little dated. Breakfast was from 8.30 till 10.30 so we went down at 9.30. Dining room was half full, we were still asked to sit in the wating area for 5 mins. Still dont know why? Breakfast was a fiasco!!! I was told it would be 10 mins before they could replemish the food. I stood in a queue like a child in a dinner hall. Ten mins pasted and I asked again and was told sorry it would be a further 5 to 10 mins. I have never experienced anything like this in any hotel I have ever stayed in. I walked off in disgussed and had some toast and marmalade instead. Sunday morning was a bit better I actually got my breakfast but was down at 8.45. They really need to get their act together, for a city centre hotel
sorry just not good enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dindalick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review. We would sincerely like to apologise regarding the room upgrade. Upgrades should be charged at £30 per room, I would like to assure you that I have addressed this issue with the front office team to ensure no future repetition. My sincere apologies regarding the breakfast service, I can assure you that I will look into this as this is most definitely not our normal standards of service.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Upon check-in staff were helpful and pleasant.

Our forth floor room overlooked Princes Street and the Old Town with an excellent view of Edinburgh Castle. The room was nicely presented and clean and was equipped with the bare necessities we required given we were out sightseeing for the most part of our day.

The breakfast provided was very good and plentiful. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night of our arrival which was good but a little on the expensive side given the various other options located nearby.

Overall, we recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good base to explore Edinburgh because of the fantastic location, close to all the major attractions and transport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJD1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and the hotels location excellent. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We do hope that you will consider visiting us again.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I've stayed here several times in the past couple of year for work. The hotel is in a perfect location if you arrive by train (2 minutes walk from Waverly) and is a short walk from the Royal Mile.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and if you get a high floor at the front, have a great view. The beds are very comfortable and the room often has a sofa so have a nice feel of being more than just a bedroom. The TV generally has a good selection of movies and the room service is pretty good, so you can quite happily just relax in the room for an evening after a long day of meetings. The service is always good and prompt, with the only exception being the front desk can very often be 5 people deep when you're running for a train.

The bathrooms are a little small but do the job.

I've not tried the bar and restaurant before, as the location is such that tons of decent restaurants are just a short walk away. The location really is very good for everything you would want in Edinburgh.

I stay here regularly and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest.

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see that they excelled again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,009 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
558 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing