We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what a view”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

What a great location stayed on the 6th floor and enjoyed a room facing the castle, wonderful view. Rooms clean with everything you need, bathroom on the small size. Free Wifi only available in bar and restaurant, didn't eat there but it seems busy and prices not to expensive. Would stay again very comfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    850
    599
    221
    143
See reviews for
350
1,025
136
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Ideal location. We were on a mixed business/ meeting family trip so didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel. The room was clean but very small. We are all very tall and moving between beds etc was difficult. Lack of a car park may be a negative for future trips, but as we travelled by train this time it was ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillybean16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valued review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests. Should you decide to visit us again, I can recommend an Executive room which has much more space. We do hope that you would consider visiting us again.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Quite disappointed with our stay here last wednesday. The receptionist was hardly welcoming and it felt like she had somewhere else she'd rather be. The room was ok but had the carpet been hoovered by a blind person, a better job would have been done. We were woken up at 9am by the tv alarm warning us about the fire alarm at 10am...and when the same receptionist was told about it, the response was "I'll let maintenance know..."
Have paid wayyy less for a far better standard and as a result will not be using this hotel, or any other in the chain, ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllyT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We would sincerely like to apologise that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the staffing issue you have highlighted and taken action. We would also like to apologise for the housekeeping issue, I can assure you that this is not our normal standards.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent, the only downside is the lack of car park. Rooms were nice and clean but could be a little bigger. We had a twin room but there was very little space between the beds. The view was great and it was within easy walking distance for many attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynseymurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our location excellent. We do have many different room types and sizes. Should you decide to visit us again I would recommend you book a executive room, should you require much more space. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our stay was comfortable and everything that was expected. The only criticism being that the room was very warm, but opening the window and having the hubbub from Prices Street sorted that.

Would certainly stay here again when venturing through to the exotic east.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caithness
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My significant other was booked into this hotel by her employer and I accompanied them (we paid the difference). We would have usually stayedin an edge of town hotel and traveled in by public transport so staying in a city centre hotel would not be our usual choice.
I was pleasantly surprised by the standards in this establihment. We were given a room at the front of the hotel so had views over the castle and Scott monument and yes, there was traffic noise, but it was not excessive and after 10 pm was minimal. I wouldn't like to comment on how it might be on a warm summers evening when you might want the window open though. (there was a fan supplied to cool you but no a/c.
Parking was £15 for 24 hours at the Omni centre 10 minutes walk away.
The food was OK and the bar about usual for city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and we are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay. We do hope that you would consider visiting us again.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our stay in Edinburgh was enhanced by the Princes Street Hotel. Being our first time there, it is right where you want to be. We had a great view of Edinburgh Castle and Old Town from the window in our room and close enough to the train station to walk to the hotel. The room was just as advertised and photographed - just a little small - but again as we expected. This is a good value and a great location. We also had dinner 'twice' in the Dining Room. This was unusual for us because we usually like to eat away from where we stay. The dinners were excellent with good service. The location is a short taxi ride or a good walk to the Royal Mile which provides a great flavor of the history of Edinburgh. Again - an excellent choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booker_idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,009 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
558 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing