We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wanted to stay here. Great but some disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #124 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Ever since being a small child visiting family in Edinburgh I longed to stay here. Many many years on now ticked off my bucket list. Hotel lovely. Views exceptional. I was disappointed though sorry to sound like scrooge but as it was Christmas party time it was very noisy and I couldn't have a dream meal with a view with Christmas parties closing the restaurant! Breakfast great though and so reasonable if booked in advance. A pity but still lovely. Would have voted higher if at a quieter time with restaurant available too

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jantNorthEastUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am sorry you found the party night noise to be an issue. We do try to ensure this does not disturb our guests and I am sorry on this occasion we did not achieve this.
I hope to welcome you back in the future .

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dave_n_faye
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and was very pleasantly surprised after reading some of the comments on Trip Advisor. We upgraded to a king-size room which was at the front of the hotel overlooking Princes Street, the Christmas market and the Castle. What a great position for a hotel. Just across the road from Waverley Station and 5 minutes away from the Old Town. The breakfasts were good and I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.
I hope your choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I have got I be completely fair to this hotel by explaining that, although it is not a good place to stay (except for the location- see below), we did get it 40% off ( a deal beforehand- not because of the problems). So that eased the blow.

Had I paid full price for the room, I would have been seriously annoyed (they reckon full whack is up to £290 per night- it isn't worth that EVER).

Firstly the very limited good points- it's slap bang in the middle of Princes Street, so an excellent location for shopping. Because of this, the nearest car parking (long stay and affordable) is quite a trek away- but with the centrality of the hotel this is to be expected. We managed to get a good deal on car parking through national rail (£7.50 for two nights) so this wasn't a problem. Secondly the staff seem fine- friendly, happy to help etc.

Now for the negatives- the walls are actually made of paper..... Or MDF at most! I have never stayed in a hotel where you can so clearly hear what is going on each side of you and above! It was awful. Even cheap and cheerful travel lodges don't have this problem. Unfortunately there was an. Xmas party on both nights that we stayed. Without sounding like Scrooge - the music didn't end until after 1am and because of the wall situation it literally felt like we were in the party with them. This led to an uncomfortable night both evenings.

Breakfast was not good. They were seriously understaffed. We waited over 20 minutes for some cold toast - it wasn't the fault of the staff, it was just very poor.

Overall the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. The decor is tired, it just is not what you would expect for a hotel in such a prime location. Luckily we were there to shop and have fun so spent very little time in the hotel, but if you are going to spend a fortune staying there, just be aware of what to expect!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Leama1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations and I have taken your points onboard.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed at Mercure Hotel on Princes Street to visit the Edinburgh Christmas Market. What a fantastic location!! The hotel was modern, clean and food was very good but major plus point is location. Would certainly stay here again. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed one night just before Christmas. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The room was right opposite the castle and had great views. Well worth the stay. The room was clean and fresh and warm when returning from the cold.

Room Tip: Closest parking is at wavely train station. You get a discount for staying at the mercure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read that my team made you feel welcome and I will share your comments with the team.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and i stayed for 1 night in december.We had a really nice room overlooking princess st and had the big wheel opposite our bedroom window.The room we stayed in was spotless and very nicely furnished,a very comfortable bed as well.The location of this hotel is fantastic right in the centre of edinburgh.The breakfast was lovely so much to choose from the nicest breakfast i have ever had in a hotel.All the staff were very friendly and wellcoming.Would reccomend this hotel to family and friends and excellent value for money.Well done mecure for providing an excellent service.

Room Tip: The rooms facing princess street have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saclarke24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel so welcome.
I will share your comments with the team who will be pleased to hear about your stay.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
627 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing