We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very over priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for my birthday weekend in January and I was very disappointed! the standard room cost just under £200 for 2 nights. The hotel is tired and a little run down, our room was very small with a view of a fire escape and generator that made a constant noise all night.
The bathroom was clean but had a section of the bath peeling away and on old worn shower.
We did try to swap rooms but they would only change if we paid to upgrade and I felt I had already paid enough.
The breakfast was nice with a good selection.
Overall this hotel did put a bit of a downer on an other wise great birthday weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be addressing your concerns as a matter of priority.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed for one night whilst in Edinburgh on business. The location is great, just in the middle of Princes street with plenty of restaurants nearby.

The rooms are comfortable, not large but suitable for a few nights to stay in, everything was clean and had all needed for a nights stay. Room had iron and trouser press.

The staff were all friendly whether from reception or waiting staff at breakfast.

Despite being right on Princes Street there was no problem with noise.

All in all (as best you can judge when staying for one night) for the rate paid a good hotel in a good location with pleasant staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murphs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed with a friend in the Mercure over the nights of Hogmanay 2013. It was in a great location in relation to most attractions, and especially in relation to the Hogmanay festivities on the 30th and 31st. The room was good, not great. A little small. The decor was quite used, and the bathroom really did need some work. Breakfast seemed a little expensive, but was actually quite good value for money. We never found ourselves hungry until late afternoon after eating the breakfast at the hotel. The service at the front desk sometimes wasn't quite up to scratch. A little snippy and unaccommodating. The cleaners on our floor however made up for that and were lovely. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter, but they don't have any sort of special view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great hotel in a brilliant location. We had booked into a classic double room but found it small and not the best of views out the back, we upgraded and found ourselves in a superior room wow. Large room with spectacular views of the castle, made our weekend extra special. Would highly recommend this hotel and would advise booking a superior room. Friendly helpful staff on reception.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just stayed here at the weekend and didn't know what to expect. Service was nice at breakfast both mornings and checking in and out was very easily done. The interior of the hotel was very nice when we first arrived then when we got to the room it felt a bit out of date and the bathrooms need a makeover. The room was honestly far too hot even with the window open it didn't circulate any air into it, I don't know why that was because the radiator was never on but the hot towel rail in the bathroom was so maybe it was because of that. One last thing that really was off putting in the whole room was the kettle.. Room 576 the kettle was stinking and the bottom of it had like gunge as if it needed replaced, not appetising When you fancy a cuppa just a little hint it maybe pay attention to the smaller things in your hotel rooms. Apart from that the hotel was lovely the staff were lovely and the breakfast was delicious. would stay here again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I have noted your comments about the kettle and we have replaced this. Please accept my sincere apologies in connection with this. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed for one night in a top floor room with balcony just before Christmas. For the quality of the room, the rate was a bargain. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the room well-equipped with Nespresso machine and free wifi, and the view was outstanding. Our only slight reservation concerned breakfast, which, delivered on room service, is too heavy on pastries and could offer more fresh fruit. The room service supplement had to be paid to the staff member who delivered it, which took us by surprise. However, it's a small quibble and would in no way stop us returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Edinburgh.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards,
James Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,085 reviews
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
608 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £71 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing