We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh no, how standards have fallen!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A usual haunt for afternoon tea when visiting Edinburgh as it is slap bang in centre of Princes Street and ideal for a sit down before heading home - what a shock on this visit, since changing hands the venue is becoming very worn and shabby - ladies toilets were being cleaned and you were requested to use the accessible toilets - couldn't - smell was disgusting, handles were falling off doors - ugh. Furnishings and carpets so tired and worn, seem to recall they have been there for a long time without change. Although it was late January they still had their Christmas decorations up and we thought this was a bit weird we soon found out why.

On arrival we were advised that they were finishing afternoon tea early as they had an event on early evening - and then it started - all those having drinks or afternoon tea, were 'herded' into area next to the bar, and the staff then set up all the rest of the area for a Christmas Meal, felt as if we were intruding on a 'works event' .

Afternoon Tea arrived - what a huge disappointment, sandwiches ordered -were salmon with cream cheese, we ended up with salmon and grated cheddar cheese !!!!!! cakes were massive let down, they looked as through they were the day before left overs. Complained about both, cakes changed but nil done with the sandwiches. Staff were friendly, however at times they did struggle with communication.

Please, please, Mercure, get your act together, or l will have to start looking (after over 20 years of coming to you) for another afternoon tea venue.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your visit. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on gm.mercureedinburgh@jupiterhotels.co.uk to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,486 - 1,492 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

The situation could not be more convenient with splendid views across Princes Street and the Gardens to the castle. It was in easy reach of shops and restaurants. We upgraded to a balcony room. Very spacious room with a big comfortable bed. Only complaints were the shower and the coffee machine. The bathroom fittings were modern and good, but the shower had just a big fixed head which was about 2ins lower than my 6ft 1in. The flow rate was poor. The management should visit the ACCOR groups Novotel in Glasgow to see what they can do with a shower. The expensive coffee machine was a total waste of time, lukewarm coffee in small quantities. My wife thought the upgrade was well worth it, I disagreed!

The hotel is actually quite old and has obviously changed hands several times. It is not bad but could feel fresher. We used the restaurant, limited choice, adequate food, but again fabulous views. We thought the staff were truly exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. They had forgotten our newspaper. The lovely lady on reception went out and bought one and delivered it to our room. Of course we had our usual problems in understanding the ACCOR card!!

The situation and the staff make it well worth a visit. .

Room Tip: Princes Street views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure Edinburgh. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about shower and coffee machine, which we are addressing.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed 3 nights in Edinburgh but could not have a room for the 3 nights in Mercure. I booked the first and the last night there where i stayed the middle night in ibis. The hotelis alright but very old. The two rooms that I have been to were very different and you may notice that in the pictures. The first one was old and small and the view was very unpleasant. It has no safety box. The second was a bit more modern and the view was great. There is a safety box in this room. The bathrooms are the same though with a basin that has no mixer.
The Internet is not very speed. There is a PC and printer for guests use on the 1st floor. The equipment was very dusty and old like no one used it for years.
The breakfast was great. You order the hot food from the menu so you will have it fresh and hot.
The location is great and accessible to all the Edinburgh attraction and the public transportation. But be aware that there is no access to the hotel by private cars. The princess street is for buses and trams only and of course taxies as well. No private car park but you can park in the railway station one and get 20% off. We parked around a small garden close to Harvey Nicholas. It is £3 per hour, 3 hours max from 08:30 am to 06:30 pm Mon-Sat. You park for free on Sundays.

If you found my review helpful please vote for it as helpful!
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to avoid disappointment. Ask for a modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofiah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Janes Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel has seen better days: scuffed furniture, draughty windows, un-modernised bathrooms, the shower just a dribble. Friendly staff - mostly - and a great location but very poor value for money and not a hint of style or elegance. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't stay again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank michaelluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. and you will not be staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nice hotel in an excellent location. The rooms are well laid out and could do with a little bit of TLC. However for price it did represent good value for money.

The old TV set in the room was quite an old system and really could do with updating, it was difficult it get reception on some channels.

The breakfast the next morning was great and a window seat with a lovely view was welcomed.

However I have to say that first impressions do count. I had checked in late evening and when I entered the lobby downstairs from reception there was a very strong smell of smoke, as if someone had been sat in there smoking. I had popped out and returned later in the evening to find a member of staff smoking outside of the hotel with the door propped open with a chair, it was clearly that which was making the lobby and reception smell so bad. I am surprised that management tolerate it.

That said, for the price, location, a good breakfast and a clean room I would probably return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback. I have noted your comments in relation to the staff member and will investigate this further.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Well, hotel itself is in a great location, whoever we arrived at 8 in the morning and at the time of booking we left a comment that we are really looking forward for an early check in. I can understand that hotel might be busy and they won't be able to have rooms ready so early. When we arrived room was not ready but we were happy to leave our bags and go for a breakfast. Grant told us straight away that the room will be ready at 2 oclock, which put me off straight away. We came back at about 11 hoping that something got changed and we met Christina which was very helpful, the room was still not ready but she took our phone number to call us when the room become ready, and she never did.
The start of our city break was not great but after that was grand. Breakfast itself was nice and quite cheap, whenever you book it at reception night before its 7 pounds per person, staff in breakfast room was extremely friendly and smiley. Well done guys! They made our day, it is always good to see happy people in their work place.
Room itself was quite big and bed was really comfortable (was hard to get off), room with the castle view was a good decision, absolutely amazing.
Would come back but book a flight later than 7 in a morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I will discuss your comments with the Front Office team.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank 59John
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
633 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £63 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing