We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but don't bring your car!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
S Wales, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great, but don't bring your car!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Impossible access by car. Cannot stop or drop-off outside or within reasonable walking distance, no bellboy or valet facility, nearest parking is at Waverley station and a looooong walk away. On complaining at check-in, staff were very unhelpful and rude.
Otherwise, hotel experience is excellent. Great location, superb views from restaurant, good food and service in bar & restaurant. Lots of noise at night and early morning from slamming bedroom doors, but bedrooms - at least, the upgraded rooms overlooking Princes Gardens - are good. Pity about the check-in experience and lack of access!

Room Tip: Get superior room with view over Prices St and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belgiantaffSWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the car parking and access to the hotel, which we are addressing.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    844
    593
    218
    141
See reviews for
348
1,012
135
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights late April. Nice room and facilities which was let down by the less than welcoming staff and hammering from early morning.
Other than that it was well located for Waverley station and for my research at the National Archives.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank leeleo727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent two nights here from 23/4/14 to 25/4/14. Had a good stay, rooms clean and fresh and with good quality toiletries not the usual horrible smelling things. Would recommend this hotel and its right on Princes Street.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back of the hotel. No view but who is going to spend there stay in the hotel. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilianmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

On booking this hotel by telephone, I enquired about parking and was told that there was no general parking at the hotel, but that there were a small number of priority parking bays and I assumed that I would be able to drop my bags there – I was also told that there was a subsidised arrangement with a “nearby” public car park.

My actual experience was entirely different. Princess Street at the front of the hotel is closed to cars, but the satnav effectively delivered me to the rear of the hotel, only to find there was no marked access to the hotel. We proceeded to park in St Andrews Square at our own expense and walked to the hotel, to be told that there was nowhere at all where we could drop our bags and that the “nearby” parking arrangement was in New Street Car Park. Once we had driven to New Street, we realised just how far this was and we struggled for half an hour through the station and up two lifts to drag our bags (quite large bags as we were at the start of an 8 days touring holiday) to the hotel – this was a burden for me and doubly so for my wife who suffers from a heart condition.

At the end of our stay, I had the car park ticket endorsed at reception and took a taxi to the car park – there was no reduction in the parking fees which were applied exactly as stated on the machine - £19.50 per day!

I do feel that all of these problems should be fully communicated to customers at the point of booking. Frankly, unless you are able to make better arrangements, I feel that the hotel is all but unusable for the elderly or disabled visitors who arrive in their own vehicle (and indeed, the lift to the front steps was out of order throughout our visit).

That said, if you arrive by coach or you are fit enough to walk from the nearby mainline station, then everything is different. My overall impression of the hotel was very good – the room was generously sized and comfortable – the view was exactly as described – the breakfast was very good and the staff very courteous and professional.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c0linf0ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Never given a review on tripaviser before but in this case i have to inform you how disappointed we were with this 2star hotel tho its says 3star hotel. Room are small, and claustraphobic. Bathroom was dirthy. Dust on fan in bathroom, dryed blood on the bin lid!!! No matress protecter. No hot water in morning. Only luke warm. The carpet in the hall is from 1970 look and needs a bloody good clean. This hotel needs a good revamp! Good points. Staff very friendly and nice. Willing to help u with anything. If any1 from the hotel reeds this please invest money in this hotel as in could be really good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojonireand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My partner and I arrived here in April 2014 for a four night stay. Try to get a room at the front of the hotel. The views are absolutely stunning, all of Old town and Edinburgh Castle are yours to admire. This hotel is centrally located within walking distance of Old town, the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, shops, train and bus stations.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollycurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a privilege room. The best thing was the amazing view of Princes Square Gardens and Edinburgh Castle! The room itself was good with a clean bathroom and all of the features that you would expect. We were a little disappointed that the privilege package didn't have everything that was advertised. However, the location and the view made up for it.

Room Tip: It's worth it to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMcG-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,998 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
545 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,821 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing