We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and the location is very convenient to all the attractions in Edinburgh. We were able to walk to most attractions. The hotel did not have air conditioning, which is not uncommon, but they did provide a fan for the room. This hotel definintely met our needs while staying in Edinburgh. If we ever return to Edinburgh, we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Due to street noise, choose a room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review, We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    844
    596
    218
    141
See reviews for
348
1,013
135
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights and whilst the location on Princes St. is very good, the accommodation itself left a lot to be desired in my opinion. I certainly don't think I could recommend it based on the cost versus the quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestieHenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valued review, We are sorry that our rooms did not meet your expectations on this ocassion. We are currently updating rooms rooms at the hotel.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a standard Mercure hotel (not fancy, comfortable enough, clean, not too expensive)that is extremely well located, within walking distance of the historic center, near nice restaurants and other attractions in Edinburgh, while being away from the crowds. The other advantage is that the bus (and LRV) stops from the airport and the railway station are very close, making it very convenient for travellers.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are better. If you can get view to the castle, that is even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osvaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review, We do hope to see you on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Bar/restaurant service is terrible and the food is mediocre. Bar staff barely speak English and have no idea what is on their own menu. Ordering two sandwiches was absolutely painful. The 'service' manager was condescending and completely unhelpful. Unbelievable for a service industry business. Location is great so maybe they think they can get away with it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Skemper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are currently dealing with notes sent via email.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Cambs
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The general thread of commentary is right. I stayed on business for one night. The upside was having breakfast overlooking Princes Street with the Scott memorial and the Castle in front of me. But the whole hotel is tired and outdated. The bathroom in particular, even though my room was fine, but you could tell from the carpets in the public areas it was all in need of a freshen up.
I usually find the people in reception in Accor hotels very good, whatever the many and varied different countries they are from. The Manchester picadilly mercure is also a bit tired but the staff do go the extra mile. Here it was just a bit routiney. Pity because the hotel is smack in the middle of things and could be great.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treacleonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion. We are currently in the process of creating new rooms at the hotel and there are plans for further refurbishment.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Sometimes good plans go awry. This was the case this time. My fault, I should have researched a little more. Basically their reception told me half truths and lied by omission. I was not a happy traveler so my review may be a little biased. That's what happens when they don't provide the service or information that their customers want.
There is no drop off point at he hotel so you have to struggle with your bags from some convenient point either illegally in the back lane 200 yards away or from the Waverley railway station car park about 1000 yards away. Alright for some but if you are on a walking stick or disabled forget it. On checkin the receptionist was rude and unhelpful. We were told our reservation had been cancelled at 2 PM because we had not used a credit card to guarantee the booking. As a silver/gold member of the accor club I do not need to do that. We we're eventually give rooms and proceeded to check them out. A small boxlike room, desperately in need of refurbishment. It had an iron, ironing board and trouser press's in the room but no where to store the suitcases. It also had a safe and hairdrier.. The bathroom was clean but only just so. It needed a real good clean or refurbishment, the grouting was deeply stained from soap scum,the shower was in the bath, you had to be careful stepping in and out, I slipped getting out myself - luckily I didn't hurt myself.
The service in the bar and at breakfast was average, there was nothing outstanding about it, but it was not bad, just average.
Conclusions
There are better options nearby or up near the royal mile. It is handy if you are a young traveller with limited luggage and travelling by train, however the cost of the hotel given it's short comings does not represent value for money.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Cook49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, We are currently dealing with your notes sent via Email.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,999 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#68 of 148 in Edinburgh
545 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,828 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing