We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #119 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    858
    604
    222
    146
See reviews for
354
1,034
137
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff were very welcoming and checked us in quickly. We had reserved a superior room with a castle view, which we received with no problems and was well-worth it! Fantastic views out over the Royal Mile. The location is unbeatable and very convenient for all the transport links as well as the sights. Only a few minutes walk from railway station and buses to the airport and zoo. I was expecting the rooms to be a bit noisy, given the city centre location, but if the windows were properly shut, it was not a problem. Personally I didn't find the room too hot, but it is true there wasn't any air con. The bed was very (too?!) comfortable and there was quite a lot of space in the room. No mini fridge though. The bathroom was a bit dated, but everything was clean. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and the buffet was kept topped-up. However, it is rather pricey at £10 each and costs even more if you don't book it a day ahead. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room on 6th floor with castle view if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshire_Cat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights during the weekend at the beginning of June, we sent an email to the reception to ask for a room on an upper floor in a quiet area and if possible with a castle view as it was my mom's birthday and they replied they made a note of our request. However when we got there the receptionist Carla seemed not to know absolutely anything about the reception work, she was probably a trainee, she was really slow and had to ask her collegue everything. She allocated us a room with a castle view on the 5th floor(as we reminded her about our request of which nobody made any note anyway) but after 5 minutes or so while she was trying to check us in her collegue came and told us that she already allocated that room to somebody else and our room on the 4th floor (474) with an awful back view would only be ready at 4PM, so we just had to walk around for an hour or so and until it would be ready. When we finally got in the room we had an awful view of the back of the hotel and it was really noisy from the fans outside. It was also really hot in that small room and no air conditioning. It looked really shabby and in desperate need of refurbish just like the whole hotel. We used a little fan during the night to keep cool, but it didn't help much, it was still hot and also noisy from the fan and the big fans outside. The pillows were too hard to sleep on, we asked the guy at the reception the next day for a soft pillow and he replied to us that the hotel doesn't have any soft ones as they replaced them all with new ones, all the same.
The room didn't have any safe neither.
We dined in the restaurant the 2nd night we were there as they were accepting tastecard and it was ok, nothing special.
The breakfast was ok as well, but for the extra £10 per person it worths more to go downstairs to the food hall of M&S and eat there, it's better.
The only good thing about this hotel is the location on Princess Street, very close to the train station and all the landmarks of EDinburgh.
This was my first time at a Mercure chain hotel and it made me such a bad impression that I will avoid this chain of hotels in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruxandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.


Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a mixed bag because the location is great and staff friendly but the rooms are incredibly hot, there is no air con and I couldn't leave window open because the sound of the generator is so loud I couldn't sleep. The view from my window was the generator and offices behind. Some rooms have views of the castle but the road is so noisy you can't leave those windows open either.
Rooms are clean though and beds pretty comfy. Free wifi also good.
Wouldn't stay here again though mainly due to noise and heat of room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sezboshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that you were disturbed with noise during your stay. Thank you for your nice comments regarding the staff.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is very well located - on Princes Street - just a couple of minutes walk to Waverly Station. But the location is definitely what you pay for. The room itself is very basic and slightly dated. We had a very unimpressive view of a brick wall. If I had my choice again, I would spend the additional money on a nicer hotel that is a little further distance away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valued review, We are sorry that our rooms did not meet your expectations on this occassion. We do hope that you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Comfortable,clean, reasonably priced and slap bang in the centre of Edinburgh. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit this fantastic and beautiful city. Would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tamphlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for one night and found the location excellent. The views of the castle and Princes Street are stunning. The rooms could probably do with a refurbishment, but they are clean and have everything that you need. The breakfast was excellent and provided great value for money. The best places to park if you are staying for the weekend are George Street or Charlotte Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnnSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,027 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing