We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was overbooked...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel has an excellent location. I heard good reviews and was recomended by some friends who recomended to stay here. I booked 2 stays in June here.

A few days before I left for Scotland, the hotel emailed me telling me they were overbooked! I had already left for London for the first part of my trip.

Below is an extract from the reception manager:
It is clear that we have found ourselves overbooked which has been caused by a lapse in the correspondence check. I am bitterly disappointed with the reservations team who join me in apologising.

Informing me so late is totally irresponsible and putting me in another hotel with a lousier location is totally unacceptable. I cancelled my second stay.

Be careful when booking this hotel. They might be overbooked and inform you at the last minute.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmundyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the inconvenience you have encountered and I understand that we have resolved this situation through emails with yourself.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 2,481 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

if you want a few days in Edinburgh and you go by train this is an ideal hotel for being central,close to railway station.Rooms a litte dated but ok.Get a room overlooking the castle ,worth the extra charge.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the castle ,worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lewis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was "rescued" by the Mercure after the Blue Rainbow Aparthotel required me to leave and threatened me with the police - because I complained about three issues and after getting no response after 14 hours of inaction I posted my concerns on Trip Advisor (it can be seen from previous reviews that I am definitely not a serial complainer). In stark contrast, the Mercure is exactly what it says it is - a three star hotel with a great location. And unlike the Blue Rainbow, the staff were there to make you feel welcome, to feel that you were what mattered to them and they would go out of their way to help. The view from the room was stunning, and the room was not noisy, despite the fact that it was looking out over Princess Street. The decor would do with some updating, but the bed was comfortable and I thoroughly enjoyed eating breakfast looking out over Princes Street. I particularly appreciated the fact that they clearly gave the tables with a view to people on their own. I really appreciated a hotel "which does what it says on the tin". l

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

hotel located on Princes Street a few minutes from Waverley station - rooms OK but a little tired - no air conditioning or Wi-Fi in the rooms, no leisure
for a one night stopover fine
Restaurant / bar gives a good view, and food OK

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phileasfoggtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do have WIFI available throughout the hotel and I am sorry you were not aware of this. I will ensure the team make all guest aware upon check in.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Right at the heart of the Old Town Edinburgh. This hotel is near Waverley Train Station. Checking in was fast, the staff at Princess restaurant were very accomodating. Breakfast had variety and love the mushrooms! :) It's very near the hop on hop off bus tours. Its a shopping district. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yankeevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is one of those hotels that has location as it's USP. The 3-star Mercure is perfectly situated 5 minutes walk away from Waverley station.

The frontage is a doorway giving way to the most hideous carpet, a winding staircase and a lift.

We arrived at 11am however were given access to our room immediately, which was very welcome. I asked the receptionist for a refurbished room at the front of the building and he duly obliged. Very nice service and helpful guidance re bus stops nearby, and walking distances.

The room was absolutely fine, with a wonderful view from the bag window, and the windows kept out most of the noise from the street. It had tea and coffee making facilities, with a Nespresso machine, and robes and slippers. The bed was big and comfortable and the pillows a little hard. The bathroom was a little dated but it was ok.

My husband said his breakfast was excellent, he particularly enjoyed the haggis. My breakfast was fine apart from the scrambled eggs which were overdone and also watery.

We paid £149 for one nights' stay including breakfast which seemed reasonable, however I would have thought differently if I had been given one of the older rooms with no view, I would expect.

The bar and restaurant area is very dated. Worse than that, the big windows leak when it rains. As the windows are wood, this is simply a maintenance task, silly to let it slip by as the damage will only increase.

My cocktail was awfully watered down so I sent it back, but the waiter did offer to make me another and was keen to show that he could make a mohito.

I'd stay again if I could be guaranteed one of the refurbished rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room with a view over Princes Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Life-on-mars342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Oh dear. This is not a good hotel.

The location is very central with great views of Edinburgh Castle. If you've paid extra for them. For the rest of the guests, we look out the back of the hotel and have a stunning view of Edinburgh's finest pipes, vents and fire escapes.

Turning to face away from those exquisite pieces of equipment, the weary traveller surveys his room, and realises that it is what Eugene Tooms (the guy from the X-Files who could crawl through air vents) would call 'very cramped'.

Things get worse when trying to sleep. It is very hot, so one searches for a way to adjust the air conditioning. There is none. There's a radiator, but it's already off. This demonstrates the hotel's stellar attitude to providing their customers with choice - they can choose to get no sleep because the room's like a sauna, or they can choose to open the window and get no sleep because of the noise of the aforementioned equipment out the back.

They advertise free WiFi, however attempting to access it reveals that unless you are willing to pay extra, your speed will be restricted to 256kbps. There was a time when this was probably considered acceptable, however that can also be said about slavery, and sending small kids up chimneys. It's certainly not acceptable now.

Things do not improve the next morning at breakfast. The selection of foods is poor, verging on dire. This is a hotel in Scotland which does not serve potato scones or black pudding. As mistakes go, that's up there with telling your wife you think her sister is hotter. They do serve potatoes, which look reasonably appetising as you lump them on to your plate. Then after the first bite, the ground rumbles. A fissure opens up in the ground and a 50-foot Gordon Ramsay rises up, bellowing with an earth shattering roar "IT'S RAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWW!". Seriously, if these potatoes were any less cooked they'd come with soil.

And the service! Oh, we can't forget the breakfast service. The staff have clearly been trained by watching old episodes of Fawlty Towers, specifically the episode where the guy keeps getting his plate taken away before he can eat his dinner. One can only imagine their thought process as they pass a table: MAN WAS AT TABLE.-- MAN HAS LEFT FRESHLY POURED CUP OF TEA ON TABLE.-- PERSON DRESSED LIKE MAN AND WITH SAME HAIRCUT AS MAN IS AT SELF SERVICE BREAKFAST BAR COLLECTING FOOD.-- MAN HAS CLEARLY FINISHED BREAKFAST. -- REMOVE CUP OF TEA FROM TABLE.

I can only recommend staying here if you really, truly hate yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on gm.mercureedinburgh@jupiterhotels.co.uk

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
661 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#107 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#118 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £59 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing