We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Family of three stayed for two nights in August 2014. The location is outstanding close to the Scott Monument and Princes Street Gardens at Princes Street. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacy and clean. The breakfast was very good. I would surely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norwegia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I had a fine stay here. It's right across from the Sir Walter Scott Memorial downtown Edinburgh so in a very good location.
My room was fine / clean. The only concern I had - it took me a few minutes to figure out my lock to my balcony. I was tempted to just leave it open (I was 8 storeys up after all) but then realized - anyone from one of the rooms on the same floor could access my room. So - I hastily figured out my lock and made sure to lock it again. Minor deal - but I didn't like that others in neighbouring rooms could walk to my room (with my door locked). It bothered me in terms of privacy - I felt that I had to put things away (pajamas, medication and make sure that drapes were closed even for me to nap.
Otherwise I had no concerns with this hotel. It probably - on reflection (I was there a month ago already and my memory is fading) probably would have said it was a little tired (carpets for instance) but otherwise it was totally fine. I'd stay here again. I loved the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katharina291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The basics (for me): temperature; noise; bed; shower; breakfast; service.
Temperature: major fail - stayed in August (for the fringe) and corridor air was hot, heavy and stale. Worse still, inside the room was exactly the same if not worse. Not helped by "Towel radiator" batting out volcanic heat with no means of control. Don't bother packing any nightwear or even think about the duvet. Room desperately needs an air-con and/or oxygen cylinder.
Noise: very quiet. Had a room at the back of the hotel on the 6th floor and was very quiet except for (#irony) the fans from air conditioners in the surrounding buildings - essential to have the windows open though.
Bed: firm but comfortable.
Shower: nothing more than adequate. Small bathroom but clean enough.
Breakfast: pretty good, buffet service. nice bacon.
Service: Check in desk girl very pleasant, but had to wait a while: lots of (lengthy) tourist queries handled there. Breakfast service adaquate.

Given the crazy fringe prices being charged for this room, very very poor value. Only plus side was that it was a great location on Princes Street: walkable to the Fringe centre on the Royal Mile without being part of the mayhem. Tram stop for airport a couple of minutes walk.

Room Tip: (For summer stays) I would guess a lower floor might not have the heat rising through the hotel that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and I will look in to the issues you have raised.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I have travelled to lots of places all over the world. It’s tired and dirty, this is not an exaggeration, and as a Scot who was born not far from the hotel, I was ashamed of the premises, lots of guests at breakfast had the same opinion. For £160.00 for one night in what is no more than a box room is disgraceful. They had the cheek to write to me and say that the rate was compatible with other hotels in Edinburgh and maybe the rate is what you would expect from an Edinburgh hotel at that time of the year bit for a box room it is way over priced.
I would never recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the castle, its the only good thing about the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeckYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I believe we have communicated on this directly.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mehmet G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a great location and friendly helpful staff. Now the negatives, smoking area was main doorway from Princes Street... stinks, room needed decorations and replacement furniture. TV was a joke, limited to 4/5 channels and ancient remote technology. Had to ask for mattress cover to be fitted (which was done quickly and apology received). Expensive at £200 per night for double room with breakfast, given above. Unlikely to recommend to family/friends and unlikely to stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eborwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and I will investigate your comments.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this Hotel.The location from the Railway Station was a pleasant walk up Princess Street. The Staff were exceptional. When we got to our room we were surprised there was no air conditioning, however, once we opened the windows the room did cool down quite a bit. The next morning we stored our luggage in the luggage room of the hotel and had a great day in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bickybtrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#105 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,084 reviews
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £71 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing