We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel near to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #97 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed for 3 nights over new year. This is a very clean comfortable hotel , reception was very helpful, being of the older generation I did find the beds hard, but that's not unusual for me,reception sorted this out straight away with extra duvets on top of mattress, sleept like a dream after that . Breakfast was also of good quality, our room on the first floor was very quiet I think they must be sound-proofed!
If you are looking for a day away from the city centre stay on the no.26 bus to the end,
this takes you to a lovely sandy beach called seton sands which is great for walking and fresh air and still only costs £1.30p

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear sue h

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time with us.

I am delighted that the team looked after you well following your comments regarding the bed; we do have a selection of beds in the hotel as we replace them on a rolling basis; therefore some of our rooms do have softer beds than others which means we can provide a range of options to suit individual needs.

We do hope that you will come back and see us sometime soon and if you do, feel free to contact me directly and I shall ensure you have a room with one of our softer beds in it.

Thanks again for yoru lovely feedback.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Good:

1. Easy to locate
2. Plenty of free parking
3. Nice lounge with good ambiance
4. Friendly staff
5. Good food (both lunch & dinner)- but read below

Not so good:

1. When we arrived, there was a guy standing next to the reception who looked like a porter but he never smiled or greeted us & neither offered any help with (plenty of ) our luggage. He, however, was smiling when we ordered room service and tipped him!
2. Bit expensive- around £100/ night- have stayed in better hotels for lesser cost
3. The bed was small in length but very wide. Hence, individuals who are at least 6 foot will struggle & this causes disturbance in sleep.
4. We found a strand of hair in two separate lunch dishes! When we informed them, they were apologetic but then turned round & said that their chefs were bald and one had grey hair, so they didn't know where it came from!- implying it came from our head! And to compensate, they said one free coffee!! I would not have put this in the review, if not for their excuse.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nishmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Nishmish

Thanks for your comments and my apologies that your stay with us was less than perfect.

I am very sorry that the service from a couple of our team members was not up to our usuual high standard, especially regarding the way in which the food issue was dealt with.

I would be delighted to discuss this with you further so feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Me and my boyfriend visited this hotel between Christmas and New Year. Our room was on the ground floor and was lovely and warm which was good as the weather wasnt. Lovely large bed that was very comfortable. Tea and coffee provided but only enough for one cup each, each day whcih I thought was a bit stingy although Im sure more would have beven provided had we requested it. The bathroom was clean but not absolutely spick and span with mould in places. The room is cleaned daily and the towels are changed daily. The breakfast was served on a buffet basis, and at times when it was busy you found yourselves waiting for various items to be restocked and when they eventually arrived from the kitchen, there seemed to be a mad dash from guests to try and grab something before it all disappeared. This was particualy bad on one occasion on the second morning of our stay, when they seemed to be very understaffed. Also if you wanted beans, you had to request them separately, which we found strange as this is surely a breakfast staple. Also the continental breakfast just consisted of ham and cheese and some rather hard looking baps, there was no danishes, pastries or croissants which is surely standard fare. Also if you wanted toast, this was very hit and miss. A pile would arrive from the kitchen and if you were lucky and got there at the right time, before the locusts decended, you managed to get some. Apart from this niggle about the breakfasts, which is probably just down to bad management and not being able to judge how many guests are going to arrive at any given time, we would definitely recommend this hotel. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel so you can leave the car, which is free car parking, and take the bus right into the city centre and they run every ten minutes so no problem there. Overall a good hotel and great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genaribena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Tuesday, 03 January 2012

I have stayed in several Hotels for business and family matters throughout 2011. This is my first ever review as I have always thought criticism and praise should be left to others with more time. However this hotel has motivated me to leave positive feed back. The staffs are fabulous we have three small children sometimes in other hotels we have felt a nuisance. Not here the staff have gone out of the way to prepare hot chocolate milk at breakfast for my children. They engaged in conversation with all of family, showed patience, and were knowledgeable about local attractions. Giving us the great tip to book viewing the purpose of our visit “The Edinburgh Zoo Chinese Pandas” in advance. Which meant we were successful in pleasing our kids otherwise we would not have got to see them. The family room was brilliant, clean, spacious and well equipped. The pool and facilities is cosy, nice and well maintained.

Thanks team you really give your best, everyone of you

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotographyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a good place, on the western outskirts of Edinburgh, to base yourself for a visit to the city. Access into the city is easy with the number 26 bus leaving from within 100 metres of the hotel, taking about 20 minutes journey time at a costing of £1.30 single. This is much easier than parking in the city as the charges are high [£6.50 for three hours], and the traffic is very heavy.
The hotel is pleasantly situated with an open park across the road. The reception is open and airy and the staff welcoming and polite. The lounge area is next door to the restaurant and has comfortable settees in which to have a drink before a meal. The bar area has plenty of space and tables and the drinks are reasonably priced. The young barman on duty at the time of our visit was efficient and polite and looked after us well before and after our meals.
The restaurant looks out over the area towards the airport. We ate twice in the hotel and, although reasonably expensive, enjoyed the choice and the quality of the meals. The steaks we had were particularly good. Breakfasts were served in the same area, buffet style and were a good start to the day. Wait until you spot a fresh supply of eggs arriving if you like them soft!
The rooms on the ground floor are large and comfortable but we preferred the higher rooms in the hotel which were quieter although without the large windows on the ground floor. Then
Overall a good quality three star hotel, far enough from the bustle of the city, but close enough to get into the centre without any problem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pansantander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Always fun with UK Best Western hotel as you never know what kind of personality you might get. The Capital Hotel in Edinburgh exceeded all expectations on every level. We booked a pre-paid twin room for an amazing GBP 49.98, inclusive of breakfast and taxes. On arrival, we met Billy at reception and were immediately looked after until our room was ready (we arrived quite early, so this was above and beyond!). We were assigned Room 182, a family room with one double bed and one single bed. Also a small table, chairs, work surface, etc. Very, very comfortable! Large bathroom with tub/shower combo. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant, a fabulous value at 3 courses for GBP 12.95 so long as you are seated before 19:00. Breakfast was a gorgeous buffet with delicious haggis! Wi-fi in room and parking also free. Bus into city centre is under 3 minutes walk and you can connect from the Airlink bus to a city bus and arrive at the hotel in good time, no need for a taxi.

My travelling companion thought the bed was too firm, but I thought it was just right. Also, the hotel is in a residential area so be sure to get any refreshments, snacks, etc, elsewhere.

I will plan to stay again at this hotel on any future trips to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is an outstanding hotel for the price. Very comfortable rooms, great meals and the staff literally go out of their way to help. It's about 20-30 mins from central edinburgh but there is a frequent bus service just across the road. There were a few 'issues'. The hair dryer didn't work - staff brought a new one. The room was too hot - windows were opened (they were key locked) and a fan provided. Our room was a bit dark but I'm sure if we asked another light would have been provided. This is a very nice hotel with highly professional staff. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,643 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#111 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,293 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,187 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing