We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #93 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for four wonderful nights in Febuary for Valentines. We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel which only cost £11.25 which we thought was brilliant. Upon arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by a lovely lady. The lift was broken so we had to carry our luggage to our room which was no problem to us as we were offered assistance by a staff member but we refused as we would be ok, but then when we couldn find our room, we meet the staff member and he showed us to our rooms. The room itself was very spacious and very big. Only complaint i can make about the room is the room above us on the second floor we could hear creaks and tumping which we kind of found it hard to sleep in which this happened on our last night but other than that it was superb. The bed itself was so comfortable it just felt like heaven. I was not too found of the sausages for my breakfast as i am such a fussy eater. The food there was really tasty and filling. Only thing is that they could have more of a selection of meals.
Getting into town was not a hassle as just around the corner from the hotel is a bus stop(5 min walk or less) the number 26 bus drops you right into the city centre for the price of £1.30 pp. I would recommend getting an all day pass for £3.20 which entitles you to hop on on and different buses for the day. I would consider anyone to visit Edinburgh Castle as the views are amazing and it is very interesting for people who love history. We also visited camera obsecura which blew mind my it is out of this world, the illusions are unreal and it is worth a visit. Restaurants in town i found nothing nice so we ended up finding a lovely Italian Restaurant called Italian Belle Definetly vist there for nice food.The hotel is ideal as its just a ten min taxi fare to the airport. The morning before we left we asked for a taxi for 6.45am which they gladly did for us. I would recommend that you book this hotel as it isa friendly environment to be around. We will be glady coming back without hesitation no doubt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Noelie85

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your comments regarding our large superior rooms and how well the team looked after you.

We do change our menus on a regular basis with the seasons and offer an early bird, restaurant a la carte and bar menu every evening so we try to cater for all tastes, If you have any suggestions for our next menu, I would be delighted to hear from you.

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, it is very much appreciated as we use all our comments to continually improve our service. We do hope to welcome you both back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    493
    185
    58
    38
See reviews for
262
474
44
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed for 2 nights this week and the lift was not working during my stay which doesn't help when my room is at the top floor. The food in the hotel restaurant was fine but I thought it was a bit cheeky for the hotel to charge an extra £2 for black peppercorn sauce with the steak entree.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolutbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Absolutbkk

Thanks for posting your online review and my apologies that the lift was out of order during your visit. Unfortunately we were waiting for a part to be made to fix the lift but I am happy to say that it is now fully operational.

Thank you as well about your comments regarding the peppercorn sauce; we shall address this in our spring menu change.

I do hope we shall see you again soon.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My Partner and I stayed in a suite room in this hotel for two nights and we had a great stay. The staff were very friendly & helpful, great customer service.
Our room was very spacious & clean & we received complimentary wine & crisps on arrival.
There is a great pool which we also used but unfortunately during our stay the sauna was closed.
We would certainly return to this hotel in the future if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Ash1234_12

Thanks for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us last summer, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

My apologies that the sauna was out of order and please be assured that we do endeavour to fix any mantenance issue within a timely manner. From memory I think the thermostat required changing and we had this up and running as soon as the part was available from our supplier.

We have also changed our upgrade package slightly and in place of the crisps we now have some delicious Scottish berry chocolates. We have also added in a deluxe package which includes champagne, chocolates, bathrobes, slippers and upgraded toiletries all for the price of £29.

Thanks again for your comments and I do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the hotel and our fully functioning sauna sometime soon!

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Good sized, well apointed rooms for the price (especialy in Edinburgh) we had a room on the second floor with views over the firth of forth and to the west of Edinburgh. room was clean and of a good size - the reception staff were very helpfull and professional asking if we were dining at the hotel and if so would we like to book a table, which as we were meeting friends for diner we did. There is a small longe area just at the reastaurant where the menu can be examined over a drink before you go in all very relaxed.

The food was very good (can highly recomend the lobster, crayfish & avacado cocktail as a starter). and the buffet breakfast was again very good. The only thing stopping us rating the hotel as excellent was the out of order lift meaning quite a treck to the room with luggage and not good for elderly or infirm guests although given how helpfull the staff were I'm sure help would be available

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovy1970s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear groovy 1970's

My sincere thanks for your feedback following your stay with us and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit. Chef was very pleased to hear that you felt his food was of a high standard as he works very hard with his team to ensure we provide a great dining offering.

I'm sorry that you were inconvenienced by the lift, we did have extra people on hand during the breakdown to assist with luggage. Unfortunately the parts we required to complete the repair were out of stock and had to be hand-made which prevented us from fixing the lift immediately. My apologies once again and I hope this did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your stay.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Lovely Hotel 20mins outside Central Edinburgh. Nice clean room, soft beds, good pillows etc and nice staff. Used the leisure facilities couldn't complain.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Jarrel M

Thanks for your lovely comments following your recent visit to our hotel; we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again for taking the time.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We got a good deal for this hotel for a weekend in November, however as we travelled up by train and didn't have a car, getting around was a pain. Buses to town took up to 45mins, making popping back to the hotel after a days sightseeing, and back out for dinner was a pain.

Location aside, the rooms were spacious, well equipped and had comfy beds. The view of the car park/embankment was disappointing. Free wi-fi was a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathhhyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear cathhhyyyyyyy

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, I was delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay.

I'm sorry you found the journey into the city a little cumbersome, there were some roadworks that may have delayed your journey at the time of your visit, ordinarliy the city centre can be reached much quicker.

I do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, thanks again for your comments.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Really good quality hotel. We stayed for new years eve on an offer and it was really good value. Rooms were very clean and service very good. Only two small complaints - 1) it's about a 20 minute bus ride from town and 2) the breakfast was quite disorganised, either tables left uncleared and quite often everything running out at the same time. Those two things didnt impair our stay at all though and I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear tom_bacon

Thanks for your comments, I am glad that you found our hotel good value for money, this is really what we are all about in every aspect of our business.

My apologies that breakfast seemed less than perfect, we have addressed this as a team.

Thanks again for taking the time and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
20 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,133 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#60 of 148 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing